Credit Consensus Index.

AI consensus fit review

Marcus by Goldman Sachs for Personal Loans for Self-Employed Borrowers Review

Marcus by Goldman Sachs is a weak fit for self-employed borrowers seeking a new unsecured personal loan. Three of seven AI platforms named Marcus during the ranking stage for best Personal Loans for Self-Employed Borrowers. The strongest reason to consider Marcus is its historically fee-free structure—no.

Published by Credit Consensus Index Research TeamReviewed by Mark B. Huntley, J.D.

Published Updated

Marcus by Goldman Sachs for Personal Loans for Self-Employed Borrowers Review

Answer Capsule

Marcus by Goldman Sachs is a weak fit for self-employed borrowers seeking a new unsecured personal loan. Three of seven AI platforms named Marcus during the ranking stage for best Personal Loans for Self-Employed Borrowers. The strongest reason to consider Marcus is its historically fee-free structure—no origination, prepayment, or late fees—which multiple platforms cited as a cost advantage for qualifying borrowers. The main limitation is decisive: Marcus discontinued new personal loan originations in January 2023 and now only services existing loans, making the product unavailable to new applicants regardless of income type. Platform fit ratings ranged from "good" to "weak," with four of seven platforms rating Marcus "weak" and one rating it "uncertain." Self-employed borrowers should not shortlist Marcus unless the lender directly confirms new applications have resumed.

Research Snapshot

MetricValue
Platform mentions in ranking stage3 of 7 platforms
Share of included platform responses7 of 7 platforms provided fit assessments
Average listed rank7.33
Best listed rank7
Relevant product/model/planMarcus Personal Loan
Overall use-case fitWeak (4 weak, 1 uncertain, 1 mixed, 1 good)
Research date2026-09-08

Why Marcus by Goldman Sachs Qualified for This Study

Marcus by Goldman Sachs qualified for this study because three of seven AI platforms—DeepSeek, Kimi, and Perplexity—named it during the ranking discovery stage for best personal loans for self-employed borrowers. Its average listed rank was 7.33, with a best rank of 7. All seven platforms then provided detailed fit assessments for the Marcus Personal Loan product.

The product qualified despite significant availability questions because Marcus remains a recognized name in the personal loan space. Multiple independent review sources continue to publish Marcus personal loan reviews, and the product's historical features—no-fee structure, fixed rates, and prequalification—remain relevant reference points for borrowers comparing lenders. However, qualification for the study does not imply current product availability, and the central finding across platforms concerns whether Marcus still originates new loans at all.

The Product, Model, Plan, or Service Most Relevant to Personal Loans for Self-Employed Borrowers

The relevant product is the Marcus Personal Loan, an unsecured, fixed-rate personal loan formerly offered by Marcus by Goldman Sachs. All seven platforms identified this as the relevant product for the self-employed borrower use case.

The critical issue is product availability. The official Marcus personal-loan page states that Marcus is no longer accepting applications for personal loans [1]. Goldman Sachs permanently halted originating new personal loans under the Marcus brand in January 2023 to shift focus toward online savings accounts and certificates of deposit [2]. Marcus now focuses exclusively on high-yield savings and CDs, and the personal loan product has been terminated [3]. One platform noted that Marcus stopped offering new personal loans in January 2023 and only services existing loans [5].

This availability finding creates a fundamental problem for the use case: a self-employed borrower cannot apply for a Marcus personal loan if the product is not accepting new applications. Historical product details—APR ranges, loan amounts, terms, and documentation policies—describe a product that may no longer be purchasable.

What the AI Platforms Agreed About

Questions This Section Answers

  • Did the AI platforms agree on whether Marcus accepts self-employed borrowers?
  • What product features did the platforms consistently identify?
  • How did platforms characterize Marcus's overall fit for this use case?

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain

The platforms showed strong agreement on product availability, with five of seven platforms concluding Marcus is a weak or non-viable fit for new borrowers. Google, Grok, Kimi, and OpenAI all rated Marcus "weak," while Perplexity rated it "uncertain." Only DeepSeek rated Marcus "good," and Anthropic rated it "mixed." Platforms unanimously agreed on the core product structure. Multiple platforms reported that Marcus historically offered fixed-rate loans with no origination fees, no prepayment penalties, and no late fees [6]. This no-fee structure was the most consistently cited strength across all platforms. Platforms also broadly agreed on the loan amount range. Reported loan amounts clustered at $3,500 to $40,000 across multiple independent sources [16]. Repayment terms were consistently reported as 36 to 72 months [7]. There was also agreement that Marcus's self-employed income documentation policies were not transparently disclosed. Anthropic noted that Marcus public materials do not explicitly state acceptance of self-employed borrowers or detail self-employment income documentation policies [18]. DeepSeek similarly found that Marcus does not specify unique income documentation for self-employed applicants [16]. Perplexity reported that the official self-employed acceptance policy is unclear in available sources [10].

Questions This Section Answers

  • Did platforms disagree about whether Marcus accepts self-employed income?
  • How did platforms handle conflicting information about product availability?
  • What specific claims remain unverified?

Use-Case-Specific Features and Capabilities

The platforms disagreed sharply on two questions: whether Marcus accepts self-employed borrowers at all, and whether the product remains available to new applicants. On self-employed income acceptance, Kimi reported the strongest exclusion claim: Marcus personal loans explicitly exclude self-employed borrowers, requiring W-2 income documentation, with 1099 income or self-employment earnings not accepted [20]. This was characterized as a "hard exclusion rather than a documentation-difficulty issue." However, this source dates to 2024, and Kimi noted the 2026 policy status is assumed unchanged due to absence of contradictory information. Grok reported the opposite historical finding: prior to discontinuation, Marcus accepted self-employed income via tax transcripts and bank statements, consistent with standard practices [21]. This source was cited from the New York Post. Anthropic took a middle position, describing Marcus as a "mixed fit" and noting that the company evaluates applicants based on creditworthiness and repayment ability, but specific self-employment underwriting criteria are not disclosed [22]. Anthropic suggested that self-employed borrowers with excellent credit and standard income documentation are more likely to succeed. On product availability, platforms also diverged. Google, Grok, Kimi, and OpenAI all treated the discontinuation as confirmed and current. DeepSeek, however, rated Marcus "good" and provided 2025-dated pricing and terms without acknowledging the discontinuation, describing Marcus as offering fixed rates from 11.99% to 35.99% APR with loan amounts from $3,500 to $40,000 [23]. Perplexity rated Marcus "uncertain," noting that reported APR ranges conflict across sources and that current offer terms are not fully verifiable [24]. The APR range itself was a point of conflict. Reported ranges included 6.24%–35.97% [30], 11.99%–35.99% [23], 6.99%–24.99% [31], and 9.99%–24.99% or 6.99%–24.74% in various Perplexity-cited reviews [24]. These conflicts likely reflect timing differences, product updates, or borrower-specific pricing, but they mean no single current APR range can be verified.

Questions This Section Answers

  • What features did Marcus offer that matter specifically to self-employed borrowers?
  • Which features are unavailable or unverifiable for new applicants?
  • How did the no-fee structure compare to other lenders?

Pricing, Fees, Contracts, and Ongoing Costs

For self-employed borrowers who could qualify historically, Marcus offered several features relevant to variable or non-W-2 income situations. No-fee structure. Multiple platforms cited no origination fees, no prepayment penalties, and no late fees as Marcus's defining cost advantage [32]. This reduces total borrowing cost compared to lenders charging origination fees of 1%–8%. Fixed-rate predictability. Marcus offered fixed-rate loans with term options of 24, 36, 48, and 60 months according to Anthropic [32], while other sources reported 36 to 72 months [33]. Fixed rates provide payment predictability for self-employed borrowers with variable cash flow [32]. Prequalification with soft credit check. Anthropic reported that Marcus offered soft-credit prequalification that does not impact credit score [32]. DeepSeek similarly noted a prequalification tool allowing rate checks with a soft credit inquiry [43]. However, Perplexity reported that the available evidence does not clearly verify a soft-credit prequalification flow from the official site [36], and Kimi noted that self-employed borrowers would fail the initial income screening before reaching credit evaluation, making this feature functionally unavailable to them [34]. Funding speed. Reported funding timelines varied. Anthropic reported same-day to next-business-day funding [32]. DeepSeek and Kimi reported 1–4 business days [43]. Perplexity noted third-party sources report about 1–4 business days but that this is not independently confirmed [37]. Income documentation. Historical reports indicated Marcus accepted proof of income such as tax returns, bank statements, and tax transcripts [43]. However, the exact self-employed document checklist was never confirmed from the official site, and Kimi's 2024 source claimed W-2 income was required [34]. Loan amount ceiling. The $40,000 maximum loan amount was cited as a limitation by multiple platforms, particularly compared to competitors offering up to $100,000 [43].

Questions This Section Answers

  • What did Marcus charge in fees for qualifying borrowers?
  • What APR ranges were reported, and why do they conflict?
  • What costs apply to new applicants today?

Best Suited For

The pricing picture for Marcus Personal Loan is conflicted and largely historical. No platform verified current new-borrower pricing because the product is not accepting new applications. Fee structure. Platforms consistently reported that Marcus charged no origination fee, no prepayment penalty, and no late fee [46]. DeepSeek explicitly listed "no late fee" as a feature [47], while Anthropic noted late payment fees may exist but amounts were not publicly specified [56]. This is a minor conflict: most platforms reported no late fees, but Anthropic flagged uncertainty about late fee structure. APR ranges. Reported APR ranges varied substantially by source and date:

SourceReported APR RangeDate
Anthropic [46]6.24%–35.97%2026-01-01
DeepSeek [47]11.99%–35.99%2025
Kimi [49]6.99%–24.99%2024–2025
Perplexity-cited reviews [50]6.99%–24.99% or 9.99%–24.99%2026 reviews
These conflicts mean no single current APR range can be verified. Borrowers should treat all reported APRs as historical or source-specific, not as current offers.
Loan amounts and terms. Reported loan amounts ranged from $3,500 to $40,000 [57]. One source reported a lower bound of $500 [46]. Repayment terms were reported as 24–60 months by Anthropic [46] and 36–72 months by other sources [47].
Current costs for new applicants. No current new-borrower costs were verified [59]. Grok noted that historical APR ranged 6.99%–24.99% with no fees, but no current new loan pricing is available [60]. Google confirmed that Marcus no longer provides rates, terms, or loan options for new applicants due to product termination [61].
Contract terms. Historical contract terms included fixed-rate, fixed-term loans with no prepayment penalty and early repayment permitted without additional cost [46]. DeepSeek noted borrowers could cancel within a few days if they changed their mind, per federal law [47]. No verified cancellation or hardship policy details were identified for current offers [50].

Marcus by Goldman Sachs is best suited for a narrow group: existing Marcus personal-loan customers managing or servicing an outstanding loan [59]. These borrowers may still have access to account servicing for legacy loans, though those terms do not establish availability or pricing for a new loan [59].

Historically, before the product's discontinuation, Marcus was best suited for self-employed borrowers with strong credit scores and documented income history who prioritized no prepayment penalties and fixed rates [46]. Borrowers seeking straightforward online applications and fast funding (same-day to 1 business day) were also reasonable candidates [46]. Self-employed individuals comfortable with standard income documentation—tax returns and bank statements—who did not require alternative proof options were the most likely to succeed [46].

However, these historical strengths do not overcome the product's current apparent unavailability to new applicants [59]. For the 2026 use case, Marcus is not a practical option for any new borrower.

Probably Not Best Suited For

Marcus by Goldman Sachs is not suited for the primary target buyer of this study: self-employed borrowers seeking a new unsecured personal loan. Four platforms rated Marcus "weak" for this use case, and one rated it "uncertain."

Specifically, Marcus is not suited for:

  • Self-employed borrowers who need to apply for a new personal loan [63]. The product is not accepting new applications.
  • Borrowers comparing current APRs, flexible income-documentation policies, or fast funding [63]. No current terms are available for comparison.
  • Self-employed borrowers with recent business formation (less than 1–2 years operating history) requiring alternative income documentation [66]. Even historically, Marcus did not publicly disclose accommodation of recent startups.
  • Borrowers needing explicit pre-approval for self-employment status before applying [66]. Marcus's self-employment underwriting criteria were never transparently disclosed.
  • Self-employed individuals with irregular income who require income-averaging or alternative qualifying methods [66].
  • Borrowers needing loan amounts above $40,000 [67].
  • 1099 contractors and gig economy workers with variable income streams, according to Kimi's 2024 source claiming explicit exclusion of self-employed income [76].

When Another Option May Be Better

Questions This Section Answers

  • When should a self-employed borrower choose a different lender over Marcus?
  • What types of lenders offer more flexible self-employed income documentation?

Questions to Verify Before Buying

Another option is better in nearly all scenarios where a borrower needs a new loan, because Marcus is not originating new personal loans. Platforms identified several specific situations where alternatives are preferable: When the borrower needs a currently originating lender that explicitly accepts self-employed income. OpenAI noted that borrowers needing a lender that explicitly accepts self-employed income should look elsewhere [77]. Google recommended active alternative platforms such as Avant, Prosper, or LightStream [78]. Finder's alternatives list for 2026 provides additional options [79]. When the borrower has 1099 or Schedule C income. Kimi recommended Upgrade, LendingClub, or SoFi, which accept self-employed documentation [80]. DeepSeek similarly noted that lenders like SoFi or Upgrade specifically mention self-employed income options [81]. When the borrower has limited traditional income documentation. Kimi recommended fintech lenders with bank-statement underwriting like Upstart or Prosper [80]. Perplexity noted that borrowers who cannot provide tax returns, bank statements, or other income proof typically requested for self-employed underwriting should seek lenders with more flexible policies [82]. When the borrower needs loan amounts above $40,000. Multiple platforms recommended lenders like SoFi (up to $100,000) or LightStream for larger borrowing needs [81]. When the borrower has a credit score below 650. Anthropic noted that self-employed borrowers with lower credit scores may find lenders accepting broader credit ranges more suitable [91]. Credit unions or alternative lenders may offer more favorable terms for fair-to-good credit borrowers [91]. When the borrower operates a new business (under 1 year). Anthropic recommended lenders offering alternative income documentation such as profit-and-loss statements or bank-deposit-only underwriting for recent business startups [91]. When the borrower needs business-specific products. Self-employed individuals seeking lines of credit or business loans should consider business lending products rather than personal loans only [91].

If Marcus confirms that new personal loan applications have resumed, self-employed borrowers should verify the following before applying:

  • Is Marcus accepting new personal-loan applications on the date of application? [77]
  • If availability has resumed, what self-employed income documents are required, and how is variable or business income calculated? [77]
  • What are the currently offered APR range, loan amounts, repayment terms, and all fees? [77]
  • Is prequalification available with a soft credit inquiry? [77]
  • What is the current time from completed application to funding? [77]
  • Are the displayed terms available nationally in the borrower's state? [77]
  • Does Marcus explicitly accept self-employed borrowers, and what income documentation is required—2-year tax returns, 1-year tax returns, profit-and-loss statements, or business bank statements? [91]
  • For recently formed self-employment (under 2 years), does Marcus offer alternative income verification methods, and what is the minimum operating period required? [91]
  • What is Marcus's minimum credit score requirement, and how does a self-employed borrower with good-but-not-excellent credit (680–740) typically fare on APR assignment? [91]
  • Are late payment fees assessed, and if so, in what amounts and conditions? [91]
  • For variable or seasonal self-employment income, can Marcus average income across 2+ years, or does it require consistent year-to-year documentation? [91]
  • Is there a formal written statement from Marcus confirming self-employment income eligibility, or must self-employed applicants proceed with application at risk of denial? [91]

Final AI Consensus Verdict

The AI platform consensus is that Marcus by Goldman Sachs is a weak fit for self-employed borrowers seeking new personal loans. The dominant finding across platforms is that Marcus discontinued new personal loan originations in January 2023 and now only services existing loans [93]. The official Marcus personal-loan page states that Marcus is no longer accepting applications for personal loans [97].

Of the seven platforms that provided fit assessments, four rated Marcus "weak" (Google, Grok, Kimi, OpenAI), one rated it "uncertain" (Perplexity), one rated it "mixed" (Anthropic), and one rated it "good" (DeepSeek). The "good" rating from DeepSeek appears to rely on 2025-dated information that does not account for the product's discontinuation, and should be treated as outdated.

Even setting aside the availability question, Marcus's self-employed income documentation policies were never transparently disclosed. Platforms disagreed on whether Marcus accepted self-employed income at all, with claims ranging from explicit exclusion [98] to standard acceptance via tax transcripts and bank statements [99]. This unresolved conflict means borrowers cannot rely on any single characterization of Marcus's historical self-employed underwriting.

The no-fee structure—no origination, prepayment, or late fees—was Marcus's strongest historical feature and remains relevant as a comparison benchmark. However, a fee-free loan that cannot be obtained provides no value to a borrower seeking new financing.

Bottom line: Self-employed borrowers should not shortlist Marcus by Goldman Sachs for a new personal loan unless Marcus directly confirms that new applications have resumed and provides current underwriting, pricing, and funding details [97]. Borrowers needing a new loan should compare active lenders with documented self-employed income acceptance policies. For a full comparison of lenders that actively serve self-employed borrowers, see the Personal Loans for Self-Employed Borrowers consensus index.

For broader comparison across loan types and lender categories, the personal debt consolidation loans directory provides additional context.

How This Review Was Produced

This review was produced by aggregating fit-research responses from seven AI platforms: OpenAI, Anthropic, DeepSeek, Grok, Perplexity, Kimi, and Google. Each platform evaluated Marcus by Goldman Sachs against the use case of personal loans for self-employed borrowers, using criteria including self-employed income acceptance, documentation requirements, APR and fees, loan amount range, repayment terms, prequalification options, and funding speed.

Three of the seven platforms named Marcus during the ranking discovery stage: DeepSeek, Kimi, and Perplexity. All seven platforms then provided detailed fit assessments. Platform responses drew on company-owned sources (marcus.com) and independent sources including Forbes Advisor, NerdWallet, American Banker, Finder, New York Post, and multiple personal loan review sites.

The authoritative research date for this study is 2026-09-08. Platform-reported research dates varied: Anthropic reported 2026-01-01, DeepSeek reported 2026-04-05, and the remaining five platforms reported 2026-09-08. These date discrepancies are disclosed as a methodology limitation.

Methodology Limitations

Several limitations apply to this review:

Product availability conflict. The most significant limitation is the unresolved conflict over whether Marcus still originates personal loans. Google, Grok, Kimi, and OpenAI treated the January 2023 discontinuation as confirmed and current. DeepSeek's "good" fit rating appears based on 2025-dated information that does not acknowledge the discontinuation. Perplexity rated the product "uncertain" due to conflicting information. Borrowers must verify current availability directly with Marcus.

Platform-reported research dates differ. Anthropic's response is dated 2026-01-01 and DeepSeek's is dated 2026-04-05, while the authoritative run date is 2026-09-08. Information from earlier-dated platform responses may be less current than the study date.

Conflicting self-employed income policies. Platforms reported directly conflicting claims about whether Marcus accepted self-employed income. Kimi's 2024-dated source claimed explicit exclusion of 1099 and self-employment income [100]. Grok's source reported Marcus previously accepted tax transcripts and bank statements for self-employed applicants [101]. These conflicts were not resolved by the available evidence.

Conflicting APR data. Reported APR ranges varied from 6.24% to 35.99% depending on source and date. No single current APR range could be verified.

Official-site retrieval limitations. Official-site verification of self-employed eligibility and prequalification details was not available in all platform responses [102]. Some product details rely on third-party reviews rather than company-owned sources.

Source validation. The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage.

No independent testing. This review did not involve applying for a Marcus personal loan, speaking with Marcus representatives, or independently verifying current product availability. All findings are based on the supplied platform research and cited sources.

AI agreement does not prove quality. Agreement among AI platforms reflects consistency in the underlying research sources, not independent verification of product quality or availability.

Sources

Company-Owned Sources

Independent Sources

Verify this research

Review the study details behind this page or download the public machine-readable verification record.

Study date
Sep 8, 2026
Platforms analyzed
7
Source records
19
Ranking mentions
3 of 7
Platform share
43%
Final consensus rank
#9

Research trail and source mix

Platforms

openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google

Source mix

17 independent · 2 company-owned

Evidence support

10 direct · 9 partial

Important limitation

Use the run research_date as the study date. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

Source snapshot SHA-256 2f4a6dfad179d59c65306cf8ff65228ae03cc31b8308922d3b36498bf99a5aa1