AI consensus research
Best Personal Loans for Self-Employed Borrowers
Published by Credit Consensus Index Research TeamReviewed by Mark B. Huntley, J.D.
Published Updated

Answer Capsule
Upgrade is the consensus leader for self-employed borrowers seeking personal loans, named by all 7 platforms studied with an average listed rank of 3.86. The strongest alternatives depend on buyer profile: SoFi ranks highest on average (1.67) and suits strong-credit borrowers needing large loans up to $100,000, while LightStream offers a no-fee structure for excellent-credit applicants comfortable with a hard inquiry. This study examined 7 AI platforms—OpenAI, Anthropic, DeepSeek, Grok, Perplexity, Kimi, and Google—which collectively named 22 unique lenders, with 10 qualifying by appearing on at least two platforms. The principal limitation is that platform recommendations reflect AI analysis of public sources, not independent verification of lender practices, and several material facts—including whether Marcus by Goldman Sachs still originates loans and whether LightStream accepts self-employed borrowers—remain unresolved across platforms.
Research Snapshot
| Metric | Value |
|---|---|
| Topic | Personal Loans for Self-Employed Borrowers |
| Target buyer | Self-employed borrowers seeking unsecured personal loans with reasonable income-documentation requirements and competitive borrowing terms |
| Platforms included | OpenAI, Anthropic, DeepSeek, Grok, Perplexity, Kimi, Google (7 total) |
| Research date | 2026-09-08 |
| Number of unique entities named | 22 |
| Number of qualifying entities | 10 |
| Eligibility rule | Named by at least two platforms during ranking discovery |
| Geography | United States |
The Consensus Ranking
Questions This Section Answers
- Which lender did the AI platforms most consistently recommend for self-employed borrowers?
- How does the ranking balance platform mentions against average position and best rank?
Which Option Is Best for Which Version of the Buyer Need?
The ranking below orders lenders by platform mentions first, then average listed rank, then best listed rank. Upgrade leads because all 7 platforms named it, even though its average position (3.86) trails SoFi's (1.67). SoFi and LightStream each earned 6 mentions but SoFi ranks higher on average position.
| Rank | Entity | Platform Mentions | Share of Platform Responses | Average Listed Position | Best Position | Best Considered For |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Upgrade | 7 | 100.0% | 3.86 | 2 | Self-employed applicants wanting soft-pull prequalification, moderate loan amounts, and documented two-year tax return acceptance |
| 2 | SoFi | 6 | 85.7% | 1.67 | 1 | Strong-credit borrowers with consistent taxable income seeking large loans up to $100,000 |
| 3 | LightStream | 6 | 85.7% | 2.50 | 2 | Excellent-credit borrowers wanting no fees and large loans who accept a hard inquiry |
| 4 | Upstart | 5 | 71.4% | 4.60 | 1 | Borrowers whose credit profile may benefit from AI-driven underwriting accepting 1099 and gig income |
| 5 | Earnest | 3 | 42.9% | 4.33 | 1 | Strong-credit borrowers with two years of tax history seeking no mandatory fees |
| 6 | Discover | 3 | 42.9% | 4.33 | 4 | Borrowers with strong credit and documented income wanting a fee-free structure |
| 7 | LendingClub | 3 | 42.9% | 5.00 | 2 | Borrowers wanting soft-pull prequalification with fair-to-excellent credit |
| 8 | Prosper | 3 | 42.9% | 6.00 | 4 | Borrowers with verifiable income and acceptable credit wanting soft-pull prequalification |
| 9 | Marcus by Goldman Sachs | 3 | 42.9% | 7.33 | 7 | Existing Marcus customers servicing an outstanding loan only |
| 10 | PenFed Credit Union | 2 | 28.6% | 3.00 | 3 | Strong-credit borrowers willing to join a credit union for no-origination-fee loans |
Questions This Section Answers
- Which lender fits a newly self-employed borrower with under two years of tax history?
- Which lender suits a borrower needing more than $50,000?
- Which lender works for a borrower with fair credit around 600?
1. Upgrade
| Buyer Profile | Best-Fit Lender | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Strong credit (680+), two years of filed tax returns, needs $30,000–$100,000 | SoFi | Largest loan amounts, no mandatory origination fee, soft-pull prequalification |
| Excellent credit (700+), stable income, personal-use funds, comfortable with hard inquiry | LightStream | No origination, prepayment, or late fees; loans up to $100,000 |
| Fair credit (580–600), two years of filed tax returns, wants business-purpose flexibility | Upgrade | Explicit self-employed acceptance, soft-pull prequalification, permits business use of proceeds |
| Thin credit file or non-traditional income, one year of consistent self-employment | Upstart | AI underwriting accepts 1099 and gig income, soft-pull prequalification |
| Strong credit, two years of business history, wants no mandatory fees and repayment flexibility | Earnest | No mandatory origination or prepayment fees, skip-a-payment option |
| Credit around 660+, $25,000+ annual income, needs $2,500–$40,000 | Discover | Fee-free structure, soft-pull prequalification, terms to 84 months |
| Fair-to-good credit, wants co-borrower option and soft-pull prequalification | LendingClub | Co-borrower support, documented self-employed income acceptance |
| Fair credit (560–600), verifiable income, accepts origination fee | Prosper | Accessible credit minimums, accepts tax returns and bank statements |
| New loan applicant | Avoid Marcus by Goldman Sachs | Product discontinued for new originations since January 2023 |
| Strong credit, willing to join credit union, needs under $50,000 | PenFed Credit Union | No origination fee, low APR floor reported from 6.09% |
Upgrade is the consensus leader for self-employed borrowers, named by all 7 platforms with an average listed rank of 3.86 and a best rank of 2. Five platforms rated it a "good" fit, two rated it "mixed," and one could not verify its policies due to a geography mismatch. The core strength is explicit acceptance of self-employed applicants with a published policy requiring the most recent two years of filed tax returns and evaluating net rather than gross income. The main limitation is cost: an origination fee of 1.85% to 9.99% is deducted from loan proceeds, reducing the cash received.
Why it ranked here: Upgrade earned a 100% platform share, the only lender in this study named by every platform. Its published self-employed documentation policy is more explicit than most competitors.
Best suited for: Self-employed borrowers with two years of filed tax returns, fair-to-good credit (minimums reported from 580 to 600), and moderate loan needs of $1,000 to $50,000.
Main strengths: Explicit self-employed acceptance with published documentation guidance; soft-credit prequalification; no prepayment penalty; funding typically within one business day; loan proceeds may be used for business purposes, which is unusual among personal lenders.
Main limitations: Origination fee up to 9.99% reduces net proceeds; APR ceiling of 35.99%; requires two years of filed tax returns with no extensions accepted; maximum verified loan amount is $50,000.
Pricing or cost summary: APR 7.74%–35.99% fixed; origination fee 1.85%–9.99% deducted from proceeds; late fee up to $10 after 15 days; failed payment fee $10; no prepayment penalty.
Where platforms disagreed: Maximum loan amount ($50,000 on Upgrade's site vs. $75,000 in some reviews), minimum credit score (580 vs. 600), APR floor (4.99% vs. 7.74% vs. 8.99%), and origination fee range all varied across sources. Kimi could not verify Upgrade at all because its search returned only Indian-market lenders.
For the complete analysis of Upgrade's self-employed lending policies, documentation requirements, and cost structure, see the Upgrade fit review.
2. SoFi
SoFi is the strongest alternative for self-employed borrowers with strong credit and documentable income, named by 6 of 7 platforms with the best average listed rank in the study at 1.67 and a best rank of 1. Four platforms rated it "good" or "strong," while one rated it "mixed" and one "uncertain." The primary appeal is the combination of large unsecured loans up to $100,000, no mandatory origination fee, no prepayment penalty, and stated acceptance of self-employed income. The main limitation is that SoFi's exact self-employed documentation standards are not fully transparent, and newly self-employed borrowers may face denial.
Why it ranked here: SoFi's average listed position of 1.67 was the best among all qualifying lenders, with four platforms ranking it first. It trails Upgrade only because one fewer platform named it during ranking discovery.
Best suited for: Self-employed borrowers with credit scores typically at or above 680, at least two years of self-employment history with filed Schedule C forms, and borrowing needs from $5,000 to $100,000.
Main strengths: Loan amounts up to $100,000; no origination fee, prepayment penalty, or late fee on standard direct loans; soft-pull prequalification; same-day funding possible for qualified borrowers; partnership with Nova Credit to verify gig and self-employed income via bank transaction data.
Main limitations: Minimum credit score requirement reported inconsistently (600 to 680); requires two years of filed Schedule C tax returns; no published self-employed underwriting checklist; loans under $5,000 not available.
Pricing or cost summary: APR reported from 6.99% to 35.49% depending on source and discounts; no origination fee on direct loans; 0.25% autopay discount; some near-prime borrowers routed to partner programs may face origination fees up to 10%.
Where platforms disagreed: Minimum credit score (600 vs. 680 vs. not publicly disclosed), APR ranges, loan terms (24–84 months vs. 36–72 months), and whether SoFi offers meaningful flexibility for self-employed income verification. One platform reported a $35,000 maximum loan amount, contradicting five others reporting $100,000.
For the complete analysis of SoFi's self-employed income verification, Nova Credit partnership, and fee structure, see the SoFi fit review.
3. LightStream
LightStream is a mixed fit for self-employed borrowers, named by 6 of 7 platforms with an average listed rank of 2.50 and a best rank of 2. Four platforms rated it "mixed," two "good," and one "weak." The strongest case for LightStream is its no-fee structure—no origination, prepayment, or late fees—combined with competitive fixed APRs and loans up to $100,000. The main limitations are the absence of soft-pull prequalification and the lack of transparent self-employed documentation policies. One platform reported that LightStream excludes self-employed borrowers entirely, a claim contradicted by other platforms.
Why it ranked here: LightStream's 6 platform mentions and strong average position place it third. Its mixed fit ratings reflect genuine uncertainty about self-employed eligibility and documentation.
Best suited for: Self-employed borrowers with excellent credit (approximately 700+ FICO), stable and documentable income, personal (not business) borrowing needs, and comfort with a hard credit inquiry before receiving a firm offer.
Main strengths: No origination, prepayment, or late fees; loan amounts from $5,000 to $100,000; potential same-day funding; Rate Beat Program that may beat a qualifying competitor's offer by 0.10 percentage points.
Main limitations: No soft-pull prequalification—applying involves a hard inquiry; business use of personal loan funds is prohibited; minimum credit reported at 700 FICO; no co-signer option; self-employed documentation requirements not clearly published.
Pricing or cost summary: APR approximately 6.49%–25.49% with AutoPay depending on source; rates about 0.50 percentage points higher without AutoPay; Florida borrowers may face a documentary stamp tax of approximately 0.35%.
Where platforms disagreed: The most significant conflict is whether LightStream accepts self-employed borrowers at all—Kimi reported an explicit exclusion while Google, DeepSeek, and Perplexity reported acceptance with documentation. Platforms also conflicted on whether soft-pull prequalification exists and on maximum repayment terms (84 vs. 144 vs. 240 months by purpose).
For the complete analysis of LightStream's no-fee structure, Rate Beat Program, and unresolved eligibility questions, see the LightStream fit review.
4. Upstart
Upstart is a good but not definitive fit for self-employed borrowers, named by 5 of 7 platforms with an average listed rank of 4.60 and a best rank of 1. Three platforms rated it "good," two "mixed," and two "uncertain." The defining feature is AI-driven underwriting that explicitly accepts gig, freelance, and 1099 income, combined with soft-pull prequalification and potentially fast funding. The main limitations are origination fees up to 12%, repayment terms limited to 3 or 5 years, and no co-signer or joint application option.
Why it ranked here: Upstart's 5 platform mentions place it fourth. Its AI underwriting model was consistently identified as potentially helpful for self-employed borrowers with non-traditional credit profiles.
Best suited for: Self-employed borrowers with at least one full calendar year of consistent self-employment income verifiable by tax returns, acceptable credit or a thin file with alternative indicators, and comfort with 3- or 5-year repayment terms.
Main strengths: AI underwriting considers education, employment history, and alternative data beyond credit scores; explicit acceptance of 1099 and gig income; soft-pull prequalification; funding potentially as soon as one business day after acceptance; no prepayment penalty.
Main limitations: Origination fees up to 12% deducted from proceeds; repayment terms limited to 36 or 60 months; no co-signer or joint application; documentation path for self-employed applicants not fully transparent; loan amount ceiling unclear ($50,000 vs. $75,000).
Pricing or cost summary: APR approximately 6.3%–35.99% fixed; origination fee 0%–12%; late fee the greater of 5% of past-due amount or $15; no prepayment penalty.
Where platforms disagreed: Whether Upstart's self-employed income acceptance is explicit (Google and Grok said yes; Anthropic found no explicit statement); loan amount ceiling ($50,000 vs. $75,000); and origination fee documentation. Kimi could not verify Upstart due to a geography mismatch returning only Indian lenders.
For the complete analysis of Upstart's AI underwriting model, 1099 income acceptance, and fee structure, see the Upstart fit review.
5. Earnest
Earnest is a conditional fit for self-employed borrowers, named by 3 of 7 platforms with an average listed rank of 4.33 and a best rank of 1. Platform ratings ranged widely from "strong" to "weak," with two platforms rating it "uncertain" and two "mixed." The strongest reason to consider Earnest is its explicit acceptance of self-employment income with no mandatory origination, late, or prepayment fees reported by multiple sources. The main limitation is significant uncertainty: several platforms could not verify that Earnest currently offers personal loans at all.
Why it ranked here: Earnest's 3 platform mentions and average rank of 4.33 place it fifth. Its wide rating dispersion reflects genuine disagreement about product availability and terms.
Best suited for: Self-employed borrowers with strong credit (660–680+), at least two years of consistent business history, and the ability to provide tax returns from the most recent two years.
Main strengths: Explicit acceptance of self-employment income; no mandatory origination, late, or prepayment fees; soft-pull prequalification; repayment flexibility including payment date changes and an annual skip-a-payment option; Rate Drop Reward that can lower rates by up to 0.75%.
Main limitations: Product availability disputed—two platforms could not verify Earnest currently offers personal loans; no co-signer option; reported unavailable in Illinois, Mississippi, and Nevada; funding speed estimates range from 1 day to 5–10 business days.
Pricing or cost summary: APR reported from 6.74% to 25.24% depending on source; optional origination fee of 1%–8% may be offered in exchange for a lower rate; returned payment fee of $20 reported by one platform.
Where platforms disagreed: Whether Earnest currently offers personal loans at all; APR ranges; loan amounts ($3,000–$50,000 vs. $5,000–$100,000); funding speed; and whether self-employed income is genuinely accepted or heavily scrutinized.
For the complete analysis of Earnest's product availability questions, income verification approach, and repayment flexibility features, see the Earnest fit review.
6. Discover
Discover is a mixed-to-good fit for self-employed borrowers, named by 3 of 7 platforms with an average listed rank of 4.33 and a best rank of 4. Three platforms rated it "good," three "mixed," and one "weak." The strongest reason to consider Discover is its fee-free structure—no origination fee, no application fee, and no prepayment penalty—combined with soft-pull prequalification and potential next-business-day funding. The main limitation is the lack of a clearly published self-employed-specific income documentation policy.
Why it ranked here: Discover's 3 platform mentions and average rank of 4.33 place it sixth, tied with Earnest on average but with a worse best rank of 4 versus Earnest's 1.
Best suited for: Self-employed borrowers with credit scores around 660 or higher, at least $25,000 in annual income, organized tax records, and borrowing needs between $2,500 and $40,000.
Main strengths: No origination, application, or prepayment fees; soft-pull prequalification; fixed rates with terms to 84 months; potential next-business-day funding; dedicated resource page for self-employed applicants indicating tax returns, 1099s, bank statements, and business tax forms may be accepted.
Main limitations: Maximum loan amount of $40,000 (one platform reported $35,000); loan cannot be used for business purposes; no co-signer or co-borrower option; documentation requirements not fully specified publicly.
Pricing or cost summary: APR 6.99%–24.99% or 7.99%–24.99% depending on source; no origination, application, or prepayment fees; late fee of $39 reported by some sources but not confirmed on all official pages; 0.25% autopay discount reported by one platform.
Where platforms disagreed: Whether Discover explicitly accepts self-employed income; maximum loan amount ($35,000 vs. $40,000); APR floor (6.99% vs. 7.99%); late fee policy; whether direct creditor payment is offered for debt consolidation; and whether a 30-day money-back guarantee exists.
For the complete analysis of Discover's fee-free structure, self-employed documentation guidance, and unresolved policy questions, see the Discover fit review.
7. LendingClub
LendingClub is a good but not best-in-class fit for self-employed borrowers, named by 3 of 7 platforms with an average listed rank of 5.00 and a best rank of 2. Six platforms rated it "good" while one rated it "uncertain." The strongest reason to consider LendingClub is its soft-credit prequalification process, which lets self-employed applicants compare estimated offers before committing to a hard inquiry. The main limitation is the origination fee of up to 8%, which reduces net loan proceeds.
Why it ranked here: LendingClub's 3 platform mentions and average rank of 5.00 place it seventh. Its strong majority "good" ratings are offset by lower average position.
Best suited for: Self-employed borrowers with 2+ years of business history, credit scores of approximately 620 or higher, and borrowing needs from $1,000 to $40,000 who want to check offers without credit damage.
Main strengths: Soft-credit prequalification; documented acceptance of self-employed income via tax returns, 1099s, Schedule K-1s, or bank statements; no prepayment penalty; co-borrower option to strengthen applications; direct creditor payment for debt consolidation.
Main limitations: Origination fee up to 8% deducted from proceeds; reported 2-year business history requirement excludes newer businesses; maximum loan amount unclear ($40,000 vs. $60,000 vs. $75,000); funding speed inconsistently reported.
Pricing or cost summary: APR reported from 5.96% to 35.99% depending on source; origination fee 0%–8% depending on credit tier; late fee approximately $15 or 5% of overdue amount after a 15-day grace period; no prepayment penalty.
Where platforms disagreed: Maximum loan amount; APR range; repayment terms (24–60 vs. up to 84 months); origination fee range; late fee amounts; and whether a strict 2-year business history requirement exists. LendingClub rebranded to Happen Bank in mid-2026, which may affect current applications.
For the complete analysis of LendingClub's prequalification process, co-borrower support, and Happen Bank rebranding, see the LendingClub fit review.
8. Prosper
Prosper is a mixed-to-good fit for self-employed borrowers, named by 3 of 7 platforms with an average listed rank of 6.00 and a best rank of 4. Two platforms rated it "good," three "mixed," and two "uncertain." The strongest reason to consider Prosper is its documented acceptance of tax returns and bank statements as alternative income verification for self-employed applicants, paired with soft-pull prequalification and no prepayment penalty. The main limitation is that Prosper does not publish a standardized self-employed documentation checklist.
Why it ranked here: Prosper's 3 platform mentions and average rank of 6.00 place it eighth. No platform rated it an unequivocal top choice.
Best suited for: Self-employed borrowers with verifiable, stable income and fair-to-good credit (minimums reported from 560 to 600 on Prosper's direct channel), seeking loans from $2,000 to $50,000.
Main strengths: Accepts tax returns and bank statements for income verification; soft-pull prequalification; no prepayment penalty; co-borrower option; accessible credit minimums for fair-credit borrowers.
Main limitations: Origination fee of 1% to 9.99% reduces net proceeds; APR ceiling of 35.99%; peer-to-peer funding model introduces variability in approval and funding timing; no published self-employed-specific underwriting criteria.
Pricing or cost summary: APR most commonly reported at 8.99%–35.99%; origination fee 1%–9.99% (some sources report flat 1% or 2.41%–5% by loan grade); late fee the greater of $15 or 5% of unpaid monthly payment; insufficient funds fee $15.
Where platforms disagreed: Credit score minimums (560–600 vs. 640); origination fee structure; repayment terms (2–5 years vs. 2–6 years); and whether the peer-to-peer label accurately describes current funding arrangements.
For the complete analysis of Prosper's income verification approach, peer-to-peer model, and fee structure, see the Prosper fit review.
9. Marcus by Goldman Sachs
Marcus by Goldman Sachs is a weak fit for self-employed borrowers seeking a new personal loan, named by 3 of 7 platforms with an average listed rank of 7.33 and a best rank of 7. Four platforms rated it "weak," one "uncertain," one "mixed," and one "good." The decisive limitation is that Marcus discontinued new personal loan originations in January 2023 and now only services existing loans, making the product unavailable to new applicants regardless of income type.
Why it ranked here: Marcus's 3 platform mentions and poor average rank of 7.33 place it ninth. Its historical no-fee structure is offset by the product's unavailability to new borrowers.
Best suited for: Existing Marcus personal-loan customers managing or servicing an outstanding loan. It is not a practical option for any new borrower in 2026.
Main strengths: Historically fee-free structure with no origination, prepayment, or late fees; fixed-rate predictability; soft-credit prequalification historically available.
Main limitations: Product discontinued for new originations since January 2023; no current rates, terms, or loan options available for new applicants; self-employed income documentation policies never transparently disclosed.
Pricing or cost summary: No current new-borrower pricing verified. Historical APR ranges reported from 6.24% to 35.99% depending on source and date, but all figures are historical and not current offers.
Where platforms disagreed: Whether Marcus accepts self-employed income at all—one platform's 2024 source claimed explicit exclusion of 1099 income while another reported acceptance via tax transcripts and bank statements. DeepSeek rated Marcus "good" based on 2025-dated information that did not account for the discontinuation.
For the complete analysis of Marcus's product discontinuation and historical features, see the Marcus by Goldman Sachs fit review.
10. PenFed Credit Union
PenFed Credit Union is a mixed-to-uncertain fit for self-employed borrowers, named by 2 of 7 platforms with an average listed rank of 3.00 and a best rank of 3. One platform rated it "good," four "mixed," and two "uncertain." The strongest reason to consider PenFed is its competitive advertised pricing: no origination fee, no prepayment penalty, and APRs reported as low as 6.09% for well-qualified applicants. The main limitation is that PenFed does not publicly disclose a clear self-employed income documentation policy.
Why it ranked here: PenFed's 2 platform mentions place it tenth despite a strong average rank of 3.00. The low platform share reflects limited visibility among AI platforms for this use case.
Best suited for: Self-employed borrowers with strong credit and clean, easily documented income who are willing to join PenFed Credit Union (minimum $5 savings deposit) and need loans from $600 to $50,000.
Main strengths: No origination fee or prepayment penalty; low APR ceiling reported at 17.99%; soft-pull prequalification; low minimum loan amount of $500–$600; co-borrower option available.
Main limitations: No published self-employed-specific documentation policy; membership requirement adds a procedural step; funding speed not clearly verified; maximum loan amount of $50,000 lower than some competitors.
Pricing or cost summary: APR reported from 6.09% to 17.99% depending on source and autopay assumptions; no origination fee or prepayment penalty; late fee $29; returned-payment fee $30; membership requires $5 minimum savings deposit.
Where platforms disagreed: APR floor (6.09% vs. 6.49% vs. 6.74% vs. 8.99% vs. 9.99%); whether PenFed requires extensive self-employed documentation (one platform said yes, six said policies are unclear); and funding speed (1–2 business days vs. 1–5 business days).
For the complete analysis of PenFed's fee structure, membership requirements, and documentation uncertainty, see the PenFed Credit Union fit review.
What the Cross-Platform Study Reveals About This Market
Questions This Section Answers
- What patterns emerged across all 10 ranked lenders for self-employed borrowers?
- How do lenders differ in their approach to self-employed income verification?
Where the AI Platforms Agreed
The cross-platform study reveals that the self-employed personal loan market splits into two broad categories. The first group—Upgrade, SoFi, Earnest, and Discover—publishes at least some self-employed-specific income guidance, with Upgrade and SoFi providing the most explicit documentation policies. The second group—LightStream, Prosper, PenFed, and Marcus—does not publish standardized self-employed documentation checklists, leaving borrowers uncertain about requirements until application. A second pattern concerns the tradeoff between accessibility and cost. Lenders with explicit self-employed acceptance and lower credit minimums, such as Upgrade and Upstart, tend to charge origination fees that reduce net proceeds. Lenders with no origination fees, such as SoFi, LightStream, and Discover, typically require stronger credit and more established income histories. This creates a clear segmentation: borrowers with excellent credit and two years of tax history can access no-fee structures, while those with fair credit or newer businesses pay origination fees for broader acceptance. A third finding is the prevalence of soft-pull prequalification as a standard feature. Nine of the ten ranked lenders offer some form of prequalification without an initial hard credit inquiry, with LightStream being the notable exception. This matters for self-employed borrowers who may need to shop multiple lenders to find one willing to accept their documentation profile.
Questions This Section Answers
- Which lender features did platforms consistently confirm across the study?
- What documentation requirements did multiple platforms agree on?
Where the AI Platforms Disagreed
Platforms showed strong agreement on several points across the ranked lenders: Two years of tax returns is the dominant documentation standard. Upgrade, SoFi, Earnest, and LendingClub were all reported to require approximately two years of filed tax returns for self-employed income verification. Google specifically reported that SoFi requires filed Schedule C forms from Form 1040 for the last two years, and Upgrade's published policy requires the most recent two years of filed tax returns with no extensions accepted. Soft-pull prequalification is widely available. Nine of ten ranked lenders offer prequalification with a soft credit inquiry. Platforms consistently identified this as valuable for self-employed borrowers who may need to compare multiple lenders without damaging their credit scores. No prepayment penalty is the market norm. Upgrade, SoFi, LightStream, Upstart, Earnest, Discover, LendingClub, Prosper, and PenFed were all reported to charge no prepayment penalty. This benefits self-employed borrowers whose income may be lumpy and who may want to pay down loans early during strong business months. Origination fees are the primary cost differentiator. Platforms consistently flagged origination fees as the main cost consideration separating lenders. Upgrade (1.85%–9.99%), Upstart (0%–12%), LendingClub (up to 8%), and Prosper (1%–9.99%) charge fees deducted from proceeds, while SoFi, LightStream, Discover, and PenFed advertise no origination fee. Self-employed applicants report net income, not gross revenue. Upgrade explicitly requires net income after taxes and deductions, and platforms noted this can drastically reduce qualifying income compared with business revenue. This pattern likely applies across lenders that evaluate personal loan applications based on personal income rather than business revenue.
Questions This Section Answers
- Which lender eligibility questions remain unresolved across platforms?
- How should borrowers interpret conflicting platform claims about specific lenders?
How Buyers Should Choose
The most significant disagreements concern fundamental eligibility questions that borrowers must verify directly: Whether LightStream accepts self-employed borrowers at all. Kimi reported that LightStream explicitly excludes self-employed income from its standard personal loan product and directs self-employed applicants to a secured home improvement loan instead. Google, DeepSeek, and Perplexity reported that LightStream accepts self-employed income with documentation such as tax returns and bank statements. This direct factual conflict could not be resolved from public materials. Whether Marcus by Goldman Sachs still originates personal loans. Google, Grok, Kimi, and OpenAI treated the January 2023 discontinuation as confirmed and current. DeepSeek rated Marcus "good" based on 2025-dated information that did not acknowledge the discontinuation. Perplexity rated it "uncertain" due to conflicting information. Whether Earnest currently offers personal loans. OpenAI and Kimi could not verify that Earnest currently offers personal loans, noting the website appears oriented primarily toward student loans. Grok, Google, and Perplexity treated the personal loan product as currently available. Whether Discover explicitly accepts self-employed income. Grok and Google reported that Discover explicitly accepts self-employed income with published guidance on required documents. OpenAI, Anthropic, and Kimi reported that Discover's public materials do not clearly publish a self-employed-specific documentation list. Credit score minimums vary widely by source. SoFi's minimum was reported from 600 to 680 to not publicly disclosed. Prosper's minimum ranged from 560 to 640. Earnest's minimum ranged from 660 to 680. These discrepancies likely reflect differences between direct application channels and third-party partner platforms. Geography mismatches affected data quality. Kimi's search results returned only Indian-market lenders for Upgrade, Upstart, and LendingClub, preventing direct assessment of US policies. This created "uncertain" ratings that reflect data gaps rather than negative evaluations.
Questions This Section Answers
- What verification steps should a self-employed borrower take before applying?
- How should borrowers weigh origination fees against approval odds?
Methodology
Start by determining which documentation you can actually provide. If you have two years of filed tax returns, you qualify for the broadest set of options including Upgrade, SoFi, Earnest, and LendingClub. If you have only one year of self-employment income or rely primarily on 1099 forms, Upstart's AI underwriting model may be more accommodating. If you cannot provide formal tax returns, look for lenders with bank-statement-based underwriting rather than the lenders ranked here. Next, check your credit score against each lender's reported minimums. Borrowers with excellent credit (700+) should compare SoFi, LightStream, and Discover for no-origination-fee structures. Borrowers with fair credit (580–640) will likely find Upgrade, Upstart, LendingClub, or Prosper more accessible, but should budget for origination fees that reduce net proceeds. Use soft-pull prequalification to compare offers without damaging your credit. Nine of the ten ranked lenders offer this feature. LightStream is the exception and requires a hard inquiry before providing a firm rate offer. Before applying, verify the specific eligibility questions that platforms could not resolve. If considering LightStream, confirm directly that self-employed income is accepted for the standard unsecured product. If considering Earnest, confirm that personal loans are currently available in your state. If considering Marcus, confirm whether new applications have resumed—the evidence strongly suggests they have not. Calculate the total cost including origination fees, not just the APR. A lender with a lower APR but a 9.99% origination fee may cost more than a lender with a slightly higher APR and no fee. Compare net proceeds and total repayment amounts across offers.
This study used one standardized prompt sent once to each of seven AI platforms: OpenAI, Anthropic, DeepSeek, Grok, Perplexity, Kimi, and Google. Each platform evaluated personal loan lenders for self-employed borrowers against seven criteria: self-employed income acceptance, documentation requirements, APR and fees, loan amount range, repayment terms, prequalification options, and funding speed.
The research date for this study is 2026-09-08. Platform-reported research dates varied, with some platforms conducting research months earlier. These date discrepancies are disclosed as a methodology limitation.
During the ranking discovery phase, platforms named candidate lenders. Twenty-two unique entities were named across all platforms. Ten entities qualified for the final ranking by being named by at least two platforms. The final ranking orders qualifying entities by platform mentions first, then average listed rank, then best listed rank.
Each qualifying entity received a detailed fit review synthesizing all platform responses, including fit ratings, pricing analysis, strengths, limitations, and citations to source materials. Platform fit ratings were reported as distributions rather than averaged, because platforms used different rating scales.
Methodology Limitations
Platform recommendations are not independent verification. AI platform responses reflect analysis of publicly available sources, not independent testing of lender practices, customer experiences, or approval outcomes. Agreement among platforms indicates consistency in underlying research sources, not proof of product quality.
Company-owned sources dominate. Across the ranked entities, company-owned sources materially outnumber independent sources. For example, Upgrade's review drew on 20 company-owned URLs out of 32 total, and SoFi's drew on 13 company-owned out of 24. Company claims about fees, rates, and features should not be treated as independently verified.
Platform-reported research dates differ. The authoritative research date is 2026-09-08, but some platforms reported earlier research dates ranging from 2025 to early 2026. Pricing, terms, and product availability may have changed between these dates.
Geography mismatches affected data quality. Kimi's search results returned only Indian-market lenders for several entities, preventing direct assessment of US policies. Ratings affected by this data gap reflect information limitations, not negative evaluations.
Conflicting product information remains unresolved. Maximum loan amounts, APR ranges, credit score minimums, origination fee structures, and even fundamental eligibility questions conflict across sources. This report describes these conflicts rather than resolving them by guessing.
Source URLs were not independently validated. The URLs cited in this study were collected from platform responses and were not independently verified during the writing stage.
No customer experience data. This study is based on product documentation and third-party reviews cited by the platforms. It does not include direct customer testing or borrower satisfaction data beyond what appears in the cited sources.
AI answers can vary. AI platform responses can vary by date, wording, location, account state, model, interface, browsing configuration, and the sources retrieved. A different prompt or research date could produce different results.
Final Verdict
The AI platform consensus identifies Upgrade as the most consistently recommended lender for self-employed borrowers, with a 100% platform share driven by its explicit self-employed acceptance policy, published documentation requirements, and soft-pull prequalification. However, the strongest average rankings belong to SoFi, which platforms ranked first more often than any other lender.
The practical takeaway is that no single lender is best for every self-employed borrower. The market splits clearly by credit profile and documentation availability:
Borrowers with excellent credit and two years of filed tax returns should compare SoFi and LightStream for large loan amounts with no origination fees. Borrowers with fair credit should consider Upgrade for its explicit self-employed acceptance and business-purpose flexibility, or Upstart for its AI underwriting that accepts 1099 and gig income. Borrowers needing moderate loans with fee-free structures should evaluate Discover and PenFed.
Before applying anywhere, verify the unresolved eligibility questions directly with the lender. The most important verification steps are confirming that LightStream accepts self-employed income, that Earnest currently offers personal loans in your state, and that any lender you choose accepts your specific documentation type. Use soft-pull prequalification to compare offers without credit damage, and calculate total costs including origination fees before committing.
For broader comparison across loan types and lender categories, the personal debt consolidation loans directory provides additional context.
Frequently asked questions
Which personal loan lender is best for self-employed borrowers?
Upgrade is the consensus leader, named by all 7 AI platforms studied. It publishes explicit self-employed acceptance policies requiring two years of filed tax returns and offers soft-pull prequalification. However, SoFi had the best average ranking (1.67) and may be better for strong-credit borrowers needing larger loans.
Can self-employed borrowers get personal loans without two years of tax returns?
Some lenders may accommodate shorter histories. Upstart's AI underwriting accepts 1099 and gig income with at least one full calendar year of consistent self-employment. Lenders with bank-statement-based underwriting may also work, though none of the top-ranked lenders explicitly markets this approach for borrowers without tax returns.
Which lender offers the largest personal loans for self-employed borrowers?
SoFi and LightStream both offer loans up to $100,000 for qualified borrowers. Both require strong credit, and LightStream requires a hard inquiry before providing a firm offer. SoFi offers soft-pull prequalification.
Do any lenders charge no origination fees for self-employed borrowers?
Yes. SoFi, LightStream, Discover, and PenFed all advertise no origination fees on their standard products. These lenders typically require stronger credit and more established income histories than lenders charging origination fees.
Can self-employed borrowers use personal loan funds for business purposes?
Most personal loan lenders prohibit business use of funds. Upgrade is a notable exception, explicitly permitting loan proceeds to be used to start, build, or grow a business. LightStream and Discover explicitly prohibit business use.
Is Marcus by Goldman Sachs still offering personal loans?
The evidence strongly suggests no. Marcus discontinued new personal loan originations in January 2023 and now only services existing loans. Self-employed borrowers should not shortlist Marcus unless the lender directly confirms new applications have resumed.
What documentation do self-employed borrowers typically need for a personal loan?
The most common requirement across ranked lenders is two years of filed tax returns. SoFi specifically requires filed Schedule C forms from Form 1040 for the last two years. Upgrade requires the most recent two years of filed tax returns with no extensions accepted. Some lenders also accept 1099 forms, bank statements, profit-and-loss statements, or IRS Form 4506-T for income verification.
Which lender is best for self-employed borrowers with fair credit?
Upgrade accepts minimum credit scores starting around 580 to 600 and publishes explicit self-employed acceptance policies. Prosper's direct channel also reports minimums as low as 560 to 600. Both charge origination fees that reduce net proceeds.
Do any of these lenders allow co-signers or co-borrowers?
LendingClub and Prosper allow co-borrowers, which can help self-employed applicants strengthen their applications. Upgrade allows co-applicants and cosigners according to one platform. Earnest, Discover, and LightStream do not support co-signers.
How fast can self-employed borrowers get funded?
Funding speeds vary by lender and documentation complexity. Upgrade, SoFi, and Upstart report potential funding within one business day after acceptance and verification. LightStream offers potential same-day funding for approved applicants. However, self-employed applicants requiring additional documentation review may experience longer timelines, and IRS verification via Form 4506-T can add 3 to 5 business days.
Consolidated Sources
Company-Owned Sources
- Upgrade Personal Loan | Upgrade Official Website: https://www.upgrade.com/
- Upgrade Personal Loans: https://www.upgrade.com/personal-loans/
- FAQs for Self-Employed Applicants - Help Center: https://www.upgrade.com/help-center/articles/115004732167-FAQ-FOR-SELF-EMPLOYED-APPLICANTS/
- Should I put my gross or net income on the application?: https://www.upgrade.com/help/application-process/applying-for-account/should-i-put-my-gross-or-net-income-on-the-application/
- Upgrade Personal Loan Terms and Pricing | Upgrade Disclosure: https://www.upgrade.com/personal-loans/terms
- SoFi Personal Loans: https://www.sofi.com/personal-loans/
- I am self-employed. What documents are needed to show my income? – SoFi: https://support.sofi.com/hc/en-us/articles/360046934632-I-am-self-employed-What-documents-are-needed-to-show-my-income
- Getting a Personal Loan While Self-Employed: How to Apply: https://www.sofi.com/learn/content/personal-loans-for-self-employed/
- LightStream Personal Loan Official Website: https://www.lightstream.com/
- LightStream Frequently Asked Questions: https://www.lightstream.com/faq
- Upstart Personal Loans - Official Website: https://upstart.com/
- Upstart — What is (and isn't) considered income for loan applications?: https://upstarthelp.upstart.com/en_US/borrower-verification/what-is-considered-income
- Earnest Official Website: https://earnest.com/
- Personal Loans | Earnest: https://www.earnest.com/personal-loans
- Personal Loans | Discover: https://www.discover.com/personal-loans/
- Loans for the Self-Employed: How to Apply | Discover: https://www.discover.com/personal-loans/resources/learn-about-personal-loans/loans-for-self-employed/
- Personal Loans | LendingClub: https://www.lendingclub.com/personal-loans
- What documents may I be asked to submit?: https://www.lendingclub.com/help/personal-loan-faq/what-documents-may-i-be-asked-to-submit
- Prosper Personal Loans: https://www.prosper.com/personal-loans
- How does Prosper verify a borrower's income or employment?: https://help.prosper.com/hc/en-us/articles/212911688-How-does-Prosper-verify-a-borrower-s-income-or-employment-
- Marcus Personal Loans | Official Website: https://www.marcus.com/us/en
- Personal Loans from PenFed Credit Union: https://www.penfed.org/borrow/personal-loans
- PenFed Membership: https://www.penfed.org/membership
Independent Sources
- Upgrade Personal Loans Review | Bankrate: https://www.bankrate.com/loans/personal-loans/reviews/upgrade/
- Upgrade 2026 Personal Loan Review: https://www.nerdwallet.com/personal-loans/reviews/upgrade-personal-loans
- SoFi Personal Loan Review - LendingTree: https://www.lendingtree.com/personal/reviews/sofi/
- Nova Credit enables SoFi to verify income: https://www.novacredit.com/resources/nova-credit-enables-sofi-to-verify-income
- LightStream Personal Loans Review: https://www.bankrate.com/loans/personal-loans/reviews/lightstream/
- Best Personal Loans For Self-Employed Borrowers Of 2026 - Forbes: https://www.forbes.com/advisor/loans/personal-loans/best-personal-loans-for-self-employed/
- Upstart Personal Loans Review 2025: https://www.forbes.com/advisor/personal-loans/upstart-personal-loans-review/
- Earnest Personal Loan Review 2025: https://www.bankrate.com/loans/personal-loans/reviews/earnest/
- Discover Personal Loans Review: Pros, Cons & Verdict – Forbes Advisor: https://www.forbes.com/advisor/personal-loans/discover-personal-loans-review/
- LendingClub Personal Loans Review: https://www.nerdwallet.com/personal-loans/reviews/lendingclub-personal-loans
- Prosper Personal Loans Review (2026) - Credible: https://www.credible.com/personal-loan/lenders/prosper-personal-loans-review
- Goldman to exit personal loans as Marcus reshuffle continues: https://www.americanbanker.com/news/goldman-to-exit-personal-loans-as-marcus-reshuffle-continues
- PenFed Credit Union Personal Loans Review: https://www.nerdwallet.com/reviews/loans/personal-loans/penfed
- Personal Loan Income Verification for Self-Employed | Federal Trade Commission Consumer Advice: https://consumer.ftc.gov/articles/0152-personal-loans
- What Is a Soft Inquiry?: https://www.consumerfinance.gov/ask-cfpb/what-is-a-soft-inquiry-en-1205/
Verify this research
Review the study details behind this page or download the public machine-readable verification record.
- Study date
- Sep 8, 2026
- Platforms analyzed
- 7
- Source records
- 213
- Candidates reviewed
- 22
- Qualified finalists
- 10
Research trail and source mix
Platforms
openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google
Source mix
111 independent · 101 company-owned · 1 unclear
Evidence support
134 direct · 69 partial
Important limitation
Exactly 7 platforms were included in this run: openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google. The configured source value 7 is provenance only and must never be described as the number of platforms studied.
Source snapshot SHA-256 bd5d40130024103c282e9529674912ec8860db1cb167be104f10c03dc8bbe1a6
Human reviewed
Mark B. Huntley, J.D.
Mark co-founded CreditKnocks.com and authored hundreds of articles covering consumer credit, credit repair, credit scores, reports, collections, loans, debt, and credit-building strategies before the publication was later sold to FinMasters.
Mark holds a Juris Doctor degree and previously practiced law. He is not currently a practicing attorney and does not provide legal advice through Credit Consensus Index.
View reviewer profileAffiliate Disclosure
Credit Consensus Index may receive compensation from certain companies discussed. Compensation does not determine AI recommendations, qualification, Consensus Scores, or ranking order.
Read the full disclosureFinancial Information Disclaimer
This research is general educational information, not individualized financial, credit, tax, investment, or legal advice. Verify current terms directly with providers.
Read the full disclaimer