Credit Consensus Index.

AI consensus research

Best Debt Relief Companies for Consumers With a Limited Monthly Budget

Published by Credit Consensus Index Research TeamReviewed by Mark B. Huntley, J.D.

Published Updated

Best Debt Relief Companies for Consumers With a Limited Monthly Budget

Answer Capsule

Money Management International (MMI) is the consensus leader for consumers with substantial unsecured debt but limited disposable income who need a realistic monthly program deposit and manageable overall costs. Five of seven AI platforms named MMI during ranking discovery, giving it a 71.4% share of platform responses, an average listed rank of 3.0, and a best rank of 1. The strongest alternatives depend on buyer need: National debt relief leads for those seeking negotiated settlements with no upfront fees, while GreenPath Financial Wellness and InCharge Debt Solutions offer nonprofit debt management alternatives with low flat fees. This study examined 30 unique entities across 7 platforms, with 10 qualifying for inclusion by being named by at least two platforms. The principal limitation is that no platform could verify a universal minimum monthly deposit for any ranked provider, and AI answers vary by date, wording, and retrieved sources.

Research Snapshot

Topic and target buyer: Best debt relief companies for consumers with substantial unsecured debt but limited disposable income who need a realistic monthly program deposit and manageable overall costs.

Platforms included: openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google (7 platforms total).

Research date: 2026-09-09.

Number of unique entities named: 30.

Number of qualifying entities: 10.

Eligibility rule: Named by at least two platforms during ranking discovery.

The Consensus Ranking

Questions This Section Answers

  • Which debt relief providers did the AI platforms most consistently rank for limited-budget consumers?
  • How much agreement existed across platforms on the top options?

Which Option Is Best for Which Version of the Buyer Need?

The ranking below reflects platform mentions during ranking discovery, average listed position, and best listed position. Money Management International leads with five platform mentions and a best rank of 1, though its average rank of 3.0 trails Accredited Debt Relief's 2.0 average among the three platforms that named it.

RankEntityPlatform MentionsAverage Listed PositionBest PositionBest Considered For
1Money Management International53.01Consumers with eligible unsecured debt who can make a structured monthly payment; those needing budgeting and creditor-payment assistance rather than principal reduction; those preferring a nonprofit credit-counseling organization
2National Debt Relief53.61Consumers with roughly $7,500+ in qualifying unsecured debt and recurring income for a negotiated monthly deposit; those experiencing hardship who cannot repay in full but can tolerate multi-year settlement; those seeking negotiated settlements rather than consolidation loans
3GreenPath Financial Wellness43.52Consumers with multiple credit-card debts and stable income for one recurring payment; those wanting nonprofit counseling and repayment rather than settlement; those whose budget supports a reduced-interest plan over several years
4InCharge Debt Solutions44.251Consumers with substantial qualifying unsecured debt who can make consistent monthly payments; those preferring a nonprofit DMP over settlement or new loans; borrowers seeking interest-rate reductions and one consolidated payment
5Freedom Debt Relief44.52Consumers with at least $7,500 of qualifying unsecured debt and sufficient hardship; those needing negotiated settlements and tolerating multi-year processes; those with $10,000+ who can sustain deposits despite 15–25% fees
6Accredited Debt Relief32.01Consumers with substantial unsecured debt who cannot repay through minimum payments; those with stable income for a dedicated monthly settlement deposit; those accepting credit damage and collection activity for negotiated settlements
7American Consumer Credit Counseling33.671Consumers with substantial credit-card debt and regular income needing a structured payment plan; those wanting lower interest, consolidated billing, and creditor negotiation; those preferring nonprofit counseling over settlement
8CuraDebt25.03Consumers with substantial unsecured debt who cannot repay through minimum payments; those with stable income for a dedicated settlement account; those accepting credit damage and uncertain outcomes for possible debt reduction
9New Era Debt Solutions25.53Consumers with substantial unsecured debt unable to repay through accelerated repayment but able to make recurring deposits; those accepting settlement risks; those willing to contact the company for customized proposals
10Beyond Finance26.53Consumers with substantial unsecured debt, financial hardship, and stable cash flow for a settlement deposit; those accepting credit damage and collection risk; those who cannot afford a conventional DMP payment

Questions This Section Answers

  • Which provider fits a buyer who can sustain a fixed monthly repayment versus one who needs principal reduction?
  • How should a limited-budget consumer choose between nonprofit credit counseling and for-profit debt settlement?

1. Money Management International

The buyer-fit table below maps each ranked entity to the specific consumer profile it serves best, based on the completed fit reviews.

Buyer ProfileBest-Fit ProviderWhy
Can sustain a structured monthly payment and prefers nonprofit counselingMoney Management InternationalNo upfront fees, state-regulated monthly fees averaging $26–$35, hardship waivers, NFCC accreditation
Has $7,500+ debt, cannot repay in full, accepts settlement riskNational Debt ReliefNo upfront settlement fees, performance-based 15–25% fee, customized deposits, 24–48 month timeline
Wants nonprofit DMP with low flat fees and credit preservationGreenPath Financial WellnessAverage $35 enrollment plus $31 monthly, non-binding cancellation, no credit bureau contact on enrollment
Prefers nonprofit DMP with interest-rate reduction to ~8.4%InCharge Debt SolutionsAverage $34 monthly fee, free initial counseling, no minimum debt amount per one platform
Needs negotiated settlements with customized deposits and lawsuit protectionFreedom Debt ReliefCustomized deposits averaging $427, no upfront fees, attorney network access, $9.95 monthly account fee
Wants settlement with potentially lower minimum debt thresholdAccredited Debt ReliefReported $5,000 minimum (conflicted), deposits possibly from $50/month, no upfront fees
Prefers nonprofit DMP with very low disclosed feesAmerican Consumer Credit Counseling$39 enrollment, ~$7 per account monthly capped near $70, hardship waivers
Needs settlement with tax-debt bundling capabilityCuraDebtHandles tax debt and business debt alongside credit cards; no upfront fees
Wants settlement with flexible deposit schedulingNew Era Debt SolutionsAdjustable deposit dates, no upfront fees, average completion ~27–28 months
Needs settlement with financial wellness coachingBeyond FinanceSingle deposit model, financial wellness curriculum, digital dashboard

Verdict: Money Management International is a good-to-strong fit for consumers with limited monthly budgets who can sustain a structured monthly payment toward eligible unsecured debt. Five of seven platforms named MMI, with an average listed rank of 3.0 and a best rank of 1 from openai. The nonprofit Debt Management Plan model carries no upfront fees, state-regulated monthly fees averaging roughly $26–$35, and hardship-based fee waivers for qualifying low-income households.

Why it ranked here: MMI led the consensus ranking with the highest platform mention count (5 of 7) tied with National Debt Relief, but a superior average listed rank of 3.0 versus 3.6. Deepseek, google, and grok rated MMI a "strong" fit; anthropic and openai rated it "good."

Best suited for: Consumers with roughly $5,000–$75,000 in unsecured debt including credit cards, personal loans, and medical debt who can make a structured monthly payment and want counseling plus repayment administration rather than principal reduction.

Main strengths: Nonprofit 501(c)(3) status with NFCC accreditation; no upfront enrollment or counseling fees; reported average setup fees of $33–$38 and monthly fees of $25–$35 with caps up to $75 and $69 respectively; hardship fee waivers for households at or below 150% of the federal poverty threshold; free initial credit counseling; DMP consolidates multiple payments into one.

Main limitations: No verified universal minimum monthly deposit; DMP requires full principal repayment over roughly three to five years; secured debts and federal student loans are ineligible; creditor participation is not guaranteed for every account; presence of both setup and recurring monthly fees makes the program less ideal for consumers with extremely limited disposable income.

Pricing summary: Setup fee averaging $33–$38 (cap up to $75); monthly fee averaging $25–$35 (cap up to $69); total fees often under $1,400 over the life of the plan; no percentage-of-debt fees; average client monthly payment reported at $546 including fees.

Where platforms disagreed: Whether MMI has a specified minimum monthly deposit (deepseek and grok said no fixed minimum; openai and perplexity found no verified public minimum); whether MMI currently offers a separate Debt Resolution Plan (google and perplexity described it as active; openai said the cited material does not adequately verify it); whether hardship fee waivers are guaranteed (grok said waived at 150% of poverty threshold; deepseek said not guaranteed).

For the complete Money Management International fit review, see the full analysis.

2. National Debt Relief

Verdict: National Debt Relief is a mixed fit for consumers with substantial unsecured debt and limited monthly budgets. Five of seven platforms named it, earning an average listed rank of 3.6 with a best rank of 1 from kimi. The no-upfront-fee, performance-based structure lowers the initial cash barrier, but no verified public minimum monthly deposit exists and independent sources report additional setup and monthly maintenance fees.

Why it ranked here: National Debt Relief tied MMI for the highest platform mention count (5 of 7) but ranked second due to a higher average listed position of 3.6. Kimi ranked it 1st, deepseek 2nd, perplexity 3rd, google 5th, and openai 7th.

Best suited for: Consumers with at least $7,500–$10,000 in qualifying unsecured debt who are already delinquent or facing bankruptcy, can sustain consistent monthly deposits for 24–48 months, and can tolerate credit damage and collection activity.

Main strengths: No upfront settlement fees—fees charged only after a successful settlement the consumer approves; customized monthly deposits that can be scheduled monthly, bi-weekly, or semi-monthly; FDIC-insured dedicated savings account under consumer control; exit flexibility with no long-term contract; no CFPB enforcement history reported by kimi.

Main limitations: Settlement fee of 15–25% of enrolled debt calculated on the original balance; conflicting reports on $9–$9.95 setup and monthly maintenance fees; unverified minimum monthly deposit with sample payments of $546–$699; requires stopping payments to creditors causing credit damage of 50–200+ points; potential tax liability on forgiven debt over $600.

Pricing summary: Performance-based settlement fee of 15–25% of enrolled debt; possible $9–$9.95 one-time setup fee and $9.85–$9.95 monthly maintenance fee (conflicted); illustrative total cost for $50,000 debt at $500/month over 48 months: $31,500–$36,500 plus potential tax liability.

Where platforms disagreed: Whether account fees exist (kimi reported none; grok, perplexity, and google reported $9–$9.95); minimum debt threshold ($7,500 vs. $10,000 vs. $30,000 effective); minimum monthly deposit (estimates ranged from $100–$250 to $546–$699); geographic availability (grok listed five excluded states; kimi listed four).

For the complete National Debt Relief fit review, see the full analysis.

3. GreenPath Financial Wellness

Verdict: GreenPath Financial Wellness is a good fit for consumers with limited monthly budgets who carry qualifying unsecured debt and can sustain a steady monthly payment over several years. Four of seven platforms named GreenPath, with an average listed rank of 3.5 and a best rank of 2 from google and openai. The nonprofit, flat-fee Debt Management Program averages around $35 enrollment plus $31 monthly.

Why it ranked here: GreenPath ranked third with four platform mentions (deepseek, google, grok, openai) and an average listed position of 3.5. Four platforms rated it "good," two rated it "strong," and one rated it "mixed."

Best suited for: Consumers with roughly $3,000–$50,000+ in unsecured debt who can sustain a fixed monthly payment for 3–5 years, want a nonprofit counseling process, and prefer transparent flat-fee pricing over percentage-based settlement fees.

Main strengths: Nonprofit status with HUD and NFCC certification; regulated flat fees with no percentage-based charges; average fees of $35 enrollment and $31 monthly; fee waivers for financial hardship; free initial counseling; non-binding cancellation at any time without penalty; GreenPath does not contact credit bureaus upon enrollment.

Main limitations: No verified published minimum monthly deposit; DMP requires full repayment of 100% of principal; enrolled credit card accounts generally must be closed; typical timeline of 3–5 years; company-reported savings figures lack disclosed methodology; no verified nationwide fee schedule.

Pricing summary: Setup fees ranging $0–$50 (some sources up to $75); monthly fees $0–$75 with averages of $28–$31; estimated total fees for a 5-year plan around $1,900; some credit union partners waive fees entirely for members.

Where platforms disagreed: Overall fit rating (four "good," two "strong," one "mixed"); fee figures (setup $0–$50 vs. up to $75; monthly $28–$31 vs. up to $75); whether hardship waivers are guaranteed; minimum monthly deposit existence.

For the complete GreenPath Financial Wellness fit review, see the full analysis.

4. InCharge Debt Solutions

Verdict: InCharge Debt Solutions is a good fit for consumers with limited monthly budgets who carry qualifying unsecured debt and can sustain a consistent, multi-year consolidated payment. Four of seven platforms named InCharge, with an average listed rank of 4.25 and a best rank of 1 from google. All seven platforms that evaluated it rated it "good" or "strong."

Why it ranked here: InCharge ranked fourth with four platform mentions (anthropic at 2, deepseek at 9, google at 1, openai at 5). No platform rated it as a poor or weak fit, and two platforms (deepseek and kimi) rated it "strong."

Best suited for: Consumers with substantial qualifying unsecured debt (roughly $5,000–$100,000+) who can sustain monthly contributions of roughly $150 or more after essential expenses, prefer a nonprofit DMP over settlement, and want interest-rate reductions to an average of approximately 8.4%.

Main strengths: Nonprofit 501(c)(3) with NFCC affiliation; state-regulated fees averaging about $34 monthly and $52 setup; free initial credit counseling; no minimum credit score required; no minimum debt amount per deepseek; hardship waivers available per google; single consolidated payment.

Main limitations: Requires full repayment of principal over roughly three to five years; enrolled credit card accounts must be closed; excludes secured debts, federal student loans, and tax debts; no verified published minimum monthly deposit; no published creditor participation rates or program completion data.

Pricing summary: Setup fee averaging $52 (range $0–$99 by state); monthly fee averaging $34 (range $10–$75 by state); total fees over 3–5 years estimated at $1,224–$2,040; deepseek reported no upfront enrollment fee, conflicting with other platforms.

Where platforms disagreed: Whether an upfront enrollment fee exists; monthly fee ranges ($25–$50 vs. $5–$39 vs. $10–$75); hardship waiver availability; minimum monthly deposit existence.

For the complete InCharge Debt Solutions fit review, see the full analysis.

5. Freedom Debt Relief

Verdict: Freedom Debt Relief is a mixed fit for consumers with limited monthly budgets seeking debt relief. Four of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, with an average listed rank of 4.5 and a best rank of 2 from kimi and perplexity. The customized monthly deposit structure and no-upfront-fee model are genuine advantages, but the 15–25% settlement fee plus $9.95 monthly account fee can make total costs substantial.

Why it ranked here: Freedom Debt Relief ranked fifth with four platform mentions (deepseek at 6, kimi at 2, openai at 8, perplexity at 2). Five platforms rated it "mixed" and two rated it "good."

Best suited for: Consumers with at least $7,500 in eligible unsecured debt who cannot qualify for consolidation loans, can sustain a customized monthly deposit averaging $427, need negotiated settlements rather than a new loan, and value lawsuit protection through an attorney network.

Main strengths: Customized monthly deposits often lower than original creditor minimums; no upfront settlement fees—fees collected only after successful settlement; FDIC-insured dedicated savings account; free access to a network of attorneys if sued; clients can cancel at any time without penalty.

Main limitations: Settlement fee of 15–25% of enrolled debt calculated on the original balance; $9.95 setup fee and $9.95 monthly account fee; no verified published minimum monthly deposit; requires stopping payments causing credit damage for up to 7 years; no formal hardship program verified; unavailable in several states including Colorado, Hawaii, Iowa, New Jersey, Oregon, Washington, and West Virginia per google.

Pricing summary: Settlement fee 15–25% of enrolled debt; $9.95 one-time setup fee; $9.95 monthly account fee; average monthly deposit of $427 (grok cited $460–$481); example: $20,000 enrolled debt yields $3,000–$5,000 in fees regardless of settlement amount.

Where platforms disagreed: Overall fit rating (five "mixed," two "good"); average deposit figure ($427 vs. $460–$481); state availability; whether the "Freedom Debt Relief Promise" guarantee covers all fees or only settlement fees; hardship provisions.

For the complete Freedom Debt Relief fit review, see the full analysis.

6. Accredited Debt Relief

Verdict: Accredited Debt Relief is a mixed and budget-sensitive fit for consumers with limited monthly budgets seeking debt relief. Three of seven platforms named it, with an average listed rank of 2.0 and a best rank of 1 from deepseek and perplexity. Despite the strong average rank among naming platforms, fit ratings ranged from "good" to "uncertain," reflecting significant unresolved questions about program terms.

Why it ranked here: Accredited Debt Relief ranked sixth despite having the best average listed rank (2.0) of any entity because only three platforms named it during ranking discovery. Deepseek and perplexity ranked it 1st; kimi also named it.

Best suited for: Consumers with at least $5,000–$10,000 in qualifying unsecured debt who cannot realistically repay through minimum payments, have stable income sufficient for a dedicated monthly settlement deposit, and accept credit damage and collection activity in exchange for negotiated settlements.

Main strengths: No upfront settlement fees—fees charged only after successful settlement; reported ability to structure personalized monthly deposits reducing eligible payments by 40% or more; company reports average savings of $608 per month; deepseek reported deposits can start as low as $50 per month; 1:1 support from Certified Debt Specialists.

Main limitations: Minimum monthly deposit not transparently published; minimum debt requirement conflicted ($5,000 per company vs. $10,000 per third-party sources); fee basis conflicted (enrolled vs. settled debt); account fees reported inconsistently ($9 setup and $9.75 monthly per grok vs. $10–$40 monthly per google); accreditation status could not be independently verified; state availability claims range from 30 to 50 states.

Pricing summary: No upfront settlement fee; settlement fee 15–25% of enrolled debt (some sources 18–25%); possible $9–$100 setup fee and $9.75–$40 monthly account fee; on $10,000 enrolled debt, fees alone could reach $1,500–$2,500.

Where platforms disagreed: Minimum debt requirement ($5,000 vs. $10,000); minimum monthly deposit ($50 vs. unverified); fee basis; account fees; state availability; accreditation status.

For the complete Accredited Debt Relief fit review, see the full analysis.

7. American Consumer Credit Counseling

Verdict: American Consumer Credit Counseling (ACCC) is a good-to-strong fit for consumers with limited monthly budgets who carry qualifying unsecured debt and can sustain a structured monthly payment. Three of seven platforms named ACCC, with an average listed rank of 3.67 and a best rank of 1 from grok. All seven platforms rated it "good" or "strong."

Why it ranked here: ACCC ranked seventh with three platform mentions (grok at 1, openai, perplexity). Four platforms rated it "good" and three rated it "strong," with no dissenting ratings.

Best suited for: Consumers with substantial unsecured debt and regular income who need a structured payment plan, want lower interest charges and consolidated billing, prefer nonprofit counseling over debt settlement, and may qualify for hardship fee waivers.

Main strengths: Nonprofit status with NFCC accreditation; low disclosed fees of $39 one-time enrollment and roughly $7 per account monthly capped near $70; hardship waivers for both enrollment and monthly fees; free initial credit counseling; no long-term binding contracts; DMP typically reduces monthly payments by 25–50% through negotiated interest rates.

Main limitations: No verified public minimum monthly deposit; DMP requires full repayment of principal over roughly three to five years; enrolled credit accounts typically closed causing temporary credit dip; less effective for debts already in collections or charge-off status; no verified creditor participation rates.

Pricing summary: $39 one-time enrollment fee; $7 per account monthly maintenance fee with $70 cap; average monthly fee paid around $25–$26; comparison: for $20,000 debt, settlement fees could reach $3,000–$5,000 versus ACCC's $0–$50/month over 3–5 years.

Where platforms disagreed: Monthly maintenance fee structure ($5–$7 per account with $35–$70 caps); one independent review listed $75 setup and $30–$50 monthly conflicting with ACCC disclosures; hardship waiver verification; minimum monthly deposit existence.

For the complete American Consumer Credit Counseling fit review, see the full analysis.

8. CuraDebt

Verdict: CuraDebt is a mixed-to-uncertain fit for consumers with limited monthly budgets seeking debt relief. Two of seven platforms named CuraDebt, with an average listed rank of 5.0 and a best rank of 3 from deepseek. The no-upfront-fee, performance-based pricing model is a genuine advantage, but the absence of a clearly published minimum monthly deposit prevents confirming budget fit before consultation.

Why it ranked here: CuraDebt ranked eighth with two platform mentions (deepseek at 3, perplexity at 7). Fit ratings split between "good" (google), "mixed" (openai, grok, perplexity), and "uncertain" (anthropic, deepseek, kimi).

Best suited for: Consumers with $5,000–$10,000+ in unsecured debt who cannot realistically repay the full balance, have stable income to fund a dedicated settlement account consistently, and accept credit damage and collection activity for possible debt reduction. Also suited for those with tax debt bundled with consumer unsecured debt.

Main strengths: No upfront settlement fees—fees charged only after successful settlement; performance-based fee structure; customized monthly deposits based on disposable income; low escrow account costs of approximately $5–$10 per month; capability to bundle federal/state tax relief alongside traditional consumer debt; seeks out collection or credit reporting violations to leverage.

Main limitations: No published minimum monthly deposit; minimum debt requirement conflicted ($5,000 vs. $10,000); fee basis uncertain (enrolled vs. settled debt); hardship policies vague and not publicly detailed; may operate as a referral or matching service to independent providers; unavailable in 15 states per google including Connecticut, Hawaii, Oregon, and Vermont.

Pricing summary: Settlement fee approximately 15–25% of enrolled debt (google reported narrower 20–25%); third-party escrow account fee of $5–$10 monthly; no upfront fees; pricing confidence rated "low" by three platforms.

Where platforms disagreed: Minimum debt requirement; fee percentage range; whether CuraDebt operates as a direct provider or matching service; state availability; tax debt handling.

For the complete CuraDebt fit review, see the full analysis.

9. New Era Debt Solutions

Verdict: New Era Debt Solutions is a conditional fit for consumers with limited monthly budgets seeking debt settlement. Two of seven platforms named it, with an average listed rank of 5.5 and a best rank of 3 from kimi. The performance-based fee structure with no upfront fees aligns with budget-constrained needs, but the lack of transparent, independently verified pricing details makes cost comparison difficult.

Why it ranked here: New Era ranked ninth with two platform mentions (kimi at 3, perplexity at 8). Fit ratings ranged from "strong" (google) to "uncertain" (anthropic, kimi), with three platforms rating it "good" or better.

Best suited for: Consumers with substantial unsecured debt who cannot repay through standard accelerated repayment but can sustain recurring monthly deposits for roughly 2–3 years, prefer no upfront fees, and need flexible deposit scheduling to match irregular or bi-weekly income.

Main strengths: No upfront fees—fees charged only after successful settlement; reported average completion time of about 27–28 months, faster than many competitors; flexible deposit scheduling to match paycheck dates; AFCC accreditation per deepseek; no strict minimum debt per some directory sources.

Main limitations: Exact fee percentage not publicly disclosed; minimum debt threshold conflicted ($10,000 vs. no formal minimum); possible third-party escrow account fee of about $18.95 per month (unconfirmed on company pages); no verified published minimum monthly deposit; two platforms could not confidently assess the company due to insufficient public information.

Pricing summary: Settlement fee 14–23% of enrolled debt (some sources 15–25%, company materials 18–23%); no upfront enrollment fee; possible $18.95 monthly escrow account fee; no monthly service fee per deepseek.

Where platforms disagreed: Minimum debt threshold; fee percentage range; escrow account fee existence; state availability (google listed Maine, Oregon, South Dakota, Iowa; grok listed Iowa, Maine, Oregon).

For the complete New Era Debt Solutions fit review, see the full analysis.

10. Beyond Finance

Verdict: Beyond Finance is a mixed fit for consumers with limited monthly budgets seeking debt relief. Two of seven platforms named it, with an average listed rank of 6.5 and a best rank of 3 from google. The structured debt resolution program consolidates multiple creditor payments into a single monthly deposit, but the lack of publicly disclosed minimum deposit requirements and exact fee percentages limits pre-enrollment assessment.

Why it ranked here: Beyond Finance ranked tenth with two platform mentions (google at 3, perplexity). Four platforms rated it "mixed," two rated it "good," and one rated it "uncertain."

Best suited for: Consumers with substantial unsecured debt (at least $5,000, with some sources suggesting $7,500–$10,000 or more) who are struggling to afford current minimum payments, can commit to a 24–48 month timeline, and want a structured program with built-in financial wellness coaching.

Main strengths: Single monthly deposit model replacing multiple creditor payments; no upfront enrollment fees—fees charged only after a Resolution Offer is accepted; company reports median monthly cash savings of $468 and average of $608; financial wellness curriculum with accredited counselors; digital dashboard and mobile app for tracking progress.

Main limitations: No publicly disclosed minimum monthly deposit; exact fee percentages not published; possible $0–$9.95 monthly account fee (unverified); 15–25% settlement fees can materially reduce net savings; company-owned sources dominate available information; 2025 Client Outcomes Report shows median monthly deposit of $482, indicating meaningful cash flow is still required.

Pricing summary: Settlement fee 15–25% of enrolled debt (company legal disclaimers note typical fees of 25%); no upfront enrollment fee; monthly deposit customized with median of $482 and average of $822 per company outcomes report; possible monthly account fee of $0–$9.95.

Where platforms disagreed: Minimum monthly deposit ($100 per deepseek vs. $200 per grok vs. not publicly disclosed); overall fit rating; whether a monthly account fee exists; minimum debt threshold ($5,000 vs. $7,500–$10,000); fee transparency.

For the complete Beyond Finance fit review, see the full analysis.

What the Cross-Platform Study Reveals About This Market

Questions This Section Answers

  • What structural pattern distinguishes the top-ranked providers from lower-ranked ones?
  • How do nonprofit and for-profit models compare for limited-budget consumers?

Where the AI Platforms Agreed

The ranking reveals a clear structural divide. The top four entities—Money Management International, National Debt Relief, GreenPath Financial Wellness, and InCharge Debt Solutions—were each named by at least four of seven platforms. The remaining six entities were named by only two or three platforms. This suggests stronger cross-platform consensus on the top tier. The study also reveals that nonprofit Debt Management Plans and for-profit debt settlement programs serve fundamentally different buyer profiles. Nonprofit DMPs (MMI, GreenPath, InCharge, ACCC) require full principal repayment over three to five years but carry flat, state-regulated fees typically under $75 monthly. For-profit settlement programs (National Debt Relief, Freedom Debt Relief, Accredited Debt Relief, CuraDebt, New Era, Beyond Finance) charge 15–25% of enrolled debt but may reduce principal through negotiation, typically over 24–48 months. A consistent finding across all ten entities is the absence of verified universal minimum monthly deposits. No platform could confirm a published minimum for any provider, creating genuine uncertainty for the lowest-income consumers. This transparency gap was the single most frequently cited limitation across all fit reviews.

Questions This Section Answers

  • Which facts about debt relief for limited budgets did platforms consistently confirm?
  • What structural features of DMPs and settlement programs received unanimous agreement?

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed

Platforms reached strong agreement on several core points across the ranked entities: Nonprofit DMP fee structures are substantially lower than for-profit settlement fees. Multiple platforms converged on average DMP setup fees of $33–$52 and monthly fees of $25–$35 across MMI, GreenPath, InCharge, and ACCC. For-profit settlement fees of 15–25% of enrolled debt were consistently reported across National Debt Relief, Freedom Debt Relief, Accredited Debt Relief, CuraDebt, New Era, and Beyond Finance. No upfront settlement fees are standard. All platforms confirmed that for-profit settlement companies charge fees only after a successful settlement, consistent with the FTC Telemarketing Sales Rule. This was the most consistently cited advantage for budget-constrained consumers across all six settlement providers. Debt eligibility boundaries are consistent. Platforms unanimously agreed that DMPs and settlement programs cover unsecured debts—credit cards, personal loans, medical bills—and exclude secured debts (mortgages, auto loans), federal student loans, and tax debts (with CuraDebt as a partial exception for tax debt). Credit damage is inherent to settlement. All platforms agreed that debt settlement requires stopping payments to creditors, causing credit score damage, collection activity, and potential lawsuits. This structural feature distinguishes settlement from DMPs, which maintain active repayment records. DMPs require full principal repayment. Platforms unanimously confirmed that DMPs do not reduce principal balances; they restructure repayment through interest-rate reductions and fee waivers over three to five years.

Questions This Section Answers

  • Which cost factors could platforms not verify consistently?
  • How did platform fit ratings diverge, and what caused the divergence?

How Buyers Should Choose

The most significant disagreements centered on pricing transparency and minimum requirements: Minimum monthly deposits were universally unverified. No platform could confirm a published minimum monthly deposit for any ranked entity. Estimates ranged from $50/month (deepseek for Accredited Debt Relief) to $546–$699 (perplexity for National Debt Relief), but none were confirmed on official company websites. Account fee structures conflicted. For National Debt Relief, kimi reported no setup or monthly maintenance fees while grok, perplexity, and google reported fees of $9–$9.95. For Accredited Debt Relief, grok reported $9 setup and $9.75 monthly while google reported $10–$40 monthly. For New Era, perplexity and google reported a possible $18.95 monthly escrow fee while deepseek stated no monthly fees exist. Minimum debt thresholds conflicted. Accredited Debt Relief's own website states $5,000 while third-party reviews cite $10,000. CuraDebt's fine-print disclosures state $10,000 while third-party reviews list $5,000. New Era's minimum ranges from "no formal minimum" to $10,000 depending on the source. Overall fit ratings diverged sharply for lower-ranked entities. Accredited Debt Relief received ratings from "good" to "uncertain." CuraDebt and New Era each received ratings spanning "good" to "uncertain." This divergence reflects differing tolerance for the absence of verified pricing data. State availability claims conflicted. Grok reported Freedom Debt Relief unavailable in five states while google listed seven. For CuraDebt, google reported unavailability in 15 states while no other platform mentioned state exclusions.

Questions This Section Answers

  • What steps should a limited-budget consumer take before choosing a debt relief provider?
  • How should a buyer compare nonprofit DMPs against for-profit settlement programs?

Methodology

The first decision is structural: can the consumer sustain a fixed monthly payment toward full principal repayment over three to five years, or do they need principal reduction through settlement? Consumers who can sustain a structured payment and want to preserve credit should compare nonprofit DMPs from MMI, GreenPath, InCharge, and ACCC. Consumers who cannot realistically repay full principal and accept credit damage should evaluate settlement providers. The second decision is cost comparison. For DMPs, compare the total monthly payment including program fees across multiple NFCC-member agencies. For settlement, compare the fee percentage, whether it is calculated on enrolled or settled debt, and any account maintenance fees. Kimi noted that Ascend Debt Relief charges 10–22% fees, potentially lower than the 15–25% range of most competitors. The third step is verification. Every fit review emphasized obtaining written, individualized proposals before enrollment. Key questions include: the exact required monthly deposit including all fees; which specific accounts and creditors are accepted; what interest-rate reductions or concessions each creditor has approved in writing; whether accounts must be closed; the projected payoff date; what happens after a missed payment; and whether hardship waivers or payment modifications are available. The fourth consideration is alternatives. Multiple platforms recommended exhausting direct creditor hardship programs, comparing nonprofit credit counseling, and consulting a bankruptcy attorney when income is too limited to fund any program. Consumers with debt under $7,500–$10,000 may not qualify for settlement programs and should explore DMPs or direct creditor negotiations.

This consensus index was produced by sending one standardized prompt to each of seven AI platforms: openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, and google. Each platform evaluated debt relief providers against seven criteria for the use case of "Debt Relief for Limited Monthly Budgets": minimum monthly deposit flexibility, program fee structure, debt eligibility, estimated resolution timeline, budget fit, creditor coverage, and hardship support.

Platforms were instructed to name their top providers during a ranking discovery stage and to provide detailed fit assessments with citations. The final ranking was calculated from platform mentions during ranking discovery, average listed rank, and best listed rank. Entities qualified for inclusion by being named by at least two platforms.

Thirty unique entities were named across all platforms. Ten qualified for inclusion in the final ranking. Each qualifying entity received a dedicated fit review aggregating all seven platforms' assessments, with citations mapped to company-owned and independent sources.

The research date for this study is 2026-09-09. Platform-reported research dates varied: anthropic reported dates ranging from 2026-01-01 to 2026-01-15, deepseek reported dates from 2024-06-01 to 2026-05-12, and the remaining platforms generally reported 2026-09-09. These platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

Methodology Limitations

Several limitations apply to this consensus index:

Platform agreement does not prove product quality. The consensus described here reflects what AI platforms reported from their cited sources, not independent verification of any provider's performance, completion rates, or customer satisfaction.

AI answers vary by context. AI responses can differ by date, wording, location, account state, model, interface, browsing configuration, and the sources retrieved. A different prompt or research date could produce different rankings.

Platform mentions count only ranking-discovery mentions. The platform_mentions figures reflect how many platforms named each entity during the ranking stage, not how many platforms later completed a fit assessment. All seven platforms provided fit assessments for all ten ranked entities.

Platform-reported research dates differ. Anthropic and deepseek reported research dates earlier than the authoritative run date of 2026-09-09. Information available to those platforms may be less current.

Supplied URLs were not independently validated. The URLs cited in the fit reviews were collected from platform responses and were not independently checked by the writer stage.

Conflicting product information was not resolved by guessing. Where sources conflicted—such as minimum debt thresholds, account fees, and minimum monthly deposits—this index describes the conflicts and advises buyers what to verify rather than selecting one figure as correct.

Company-owned sources predominate for certain claims. Claims about no upfront fees, performance-based structures, and deposit flexibility often rely on company websites, which are not independent verification of those practices.

No personal testing occurred. This review is based on AI platform analysis of publicly available sources. No platform or reviewer personally enrolled in any program or experienced services as a customer.

Platform recommendations are market intelligence, not customer reviews. The rankings reflect what AI platforms reported from their sources, not independent verification of outcomes or quality.

Final Verdict

Money Management International is the consensus leader for consumers with limited monthly budgets seeking debt relief, based on the strongest combination of platform mentions (5 of 7), average listed rank (3.0), and best rank (1). Its nonprofit DMP model with no upfront fees, state-regulated monthly fees averaging $26–$35, and hardship waivers makes it the most consistently recommended option for budget-constrained consumers who can sustain a structured monthly payment.

The strongest alternatives serve distinct buyer needs. National Debt Relief leads for consumers seeking negotiated settlements with no upfront fees who can tolerate multi-year settlement processes. GreenPath Financial Wellness and InCharge Debt Solutions offer nonprofit DMP alternatives with low flat fees and credit preservation. American Consumer Credit Counseling provides the lowest disclosed fee structure among nonprofit options.

The most important finding across all ten ranked entities is the universal absence of verified minimum monthly deposits. No platform could confirm a published minimum for any provider, meaning true affordability for the lowest-income consumers cannot be confirmed without individualized written proposals. Buyers should obtain written, budget-tested proposals from multiple providers and compare them against direct creditor hardship programs, nonprofit credit counseling, and bankruptcy consultation before enrolling.

For the broader comparison of options for this use case, see the Debt Relief for Limited Monthly Budgets consensus index. Additional context on related options is available in the debt relief category directory.

Frequently asked questions

Which debt relief company is best for consumers with a limited monthly budget?

Money Management International is the consensus leader, named by five of seven AI platforms with an average listed rank of 3.0. Its nonprofit Debt Management Plan carries no upfront fees, state-regulated monthly fees averaging $26–$35, and hardship-based fee waivers. However, no provider could verify a universal minimum monthly deposit, so individualized written proposals are essential.

What is the difference between a Debt Management Plan and debt settlement for limited budgets?

A Debt Management Plan (offered by MMI, GreenPath, InCharge, and ACCC) requires full principal repayment over three to five years with reduced interest rates, using flat state-regulated fees typically under $75 monthly. Debt settlement (offered by National Debt Relief, Freedom Debt Relief, and others) negotiates to reduce principal but requires stopping payments, causes credit damage, and charges 15–25% of enrolled debt.

What is the minimum debt required for debt relief programs?

Minimums vary by provider and source. Nonprofit DMPs generally have no strict minimum, though some sources suggest roughly $3,000–$5,000 for fees to make sense. Settlement programs typically require $5,000–$10,000, with National Debt Relief and Freedom Debt Relief citing $7,500 and Accredited Debt Relief conflicting between $5,000 and $10,000.

Are there upfront fees for debt relief programs?

Nonprofit DMPs may charge setup fees averaging $33–$52, though MMI reports no upfront enrollment fees. For-profit settlement companies are prohibited by the FTC Telemarketing Sales Rule from charging fees before a successful settlement, so all six ranked settlement providers charge no upfront settlement fees.

How much do debt relief programs cost monthly?

Nonprofit DMP monthly fees average $25–$35 across MMI, GreenPath, InCharge, and ACCC, plus the monthly debt payment. Settlement programs require monthly deposits into a dedicated account, with reported averages of $427 (Freedom Debt Relief), $482 median (Beyond Finance), and sample payments of $546–$699 (National Debt Relief), plus settlement fees of 15–25% of enrolled debt.

Will debt relief damage my credit?

Debt Management Plans generally cause a temporary credit dip from closing accounts but maintain an active repayment record. Debt settlement requires stopping payments to creditors, causing credit score declines of 50–200+ points, with settled accounts remaining on credit reports for up to 7 years.

Which debts are eligible for debt relief programs?

Both DMPs and settlement programs cover unsecured debts: credit cards, personal loans, medical bills, and collection accounts. Secured debts (mortgages, auto loans), federal student loans, and tax debts are generally excluded, though CuraDebt uniquely handles tax debt and business debt.

How long do debt relief programs take?

Nonprofit DMPs typically take three to five years for full repayment. Settlement programs typically resolve in 24–48 months, with New Era reporting an average completion time of about 27–28 months and first settlements often occurring within 3–6 months of enrollment.

Can I cancel a debt relief program?

Nonprofit DMPs are generally non-binding with cancellation at any time without penalty, though canceling revokes creditor interest-rate concessions. Settlement programs also allow cancellation, with uncommitted escrow funds returned minus fees for completed settlements. Consumers should verify cancellation terms in writing before enrolling.

What alternatives should I consider before enrolling in a debt relief program?

Multiple platforms recommended exhausting direct creditor hardship programs, comparing multiple nonprofit credit counseling agencies, and consulting a bankruptcy attorney when income is too limited to fund any program. Consumers with excellent credit may qualify for debt consolidation loans that avoid credit damage.

Consolidated Sources

Company-Owned Sources

Independent Sources

Verify this research

Review the study details behind this page or download the public machine-readable verification record.

Study date
Sep 9, 2026
Platforms analyzed
7
Source records
207
Candidates reviewed
30
Qualified finalists
10

Research trail and source mix

Platforms

openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google

Source mix

108 independent · 99 company-owned

Evidence support

149 direct · 55 partial

Important limitation

Exactly 7 platforms were included in this run: openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google. The configured source value 7 is provenance only and must never be described as the number of platforms studied.

Source snapshot SHA-256 e975835ae91ce38c6566832290cf1ab296ca2ab7de5214f4b3283448e89c40bc