Credit Consensus Index.

AI consensus fit review

Avant for Personal Loans With Soft-Pull Prequalification Review

Avant is a good, but not best-in-class, fit for Soft-Pull Personal Loan Prequalification. Four of seven AI platforms named Avant during the ranking stage, and all seven platforms that evaluated it rated it as a viable option for borrowers who want to preview rates and eligibility without an initial hard.

Published by Credit Consensus Index Research TeamReviewed by Mark B. Huntley, J.D.

Published Updated

Avant for Personal Loans With Soft-Pull Prequalification Review

Answer Capsule

Avant is a good, but not best-in-class, fit for Soft-Pull Personal Loan Prequalification. Four of seven AI platforms named Avant during the ranking stage, and all seven platforms that evaluated it rated it as a viable option for borrowers who want to preview rates and eligibility without an initial hard credit inquiry. The strongest reason to consider Avant is its explicitly advertised soft-pull eligibility check that lets fair-credit borrowers (around 580 FICO and up) see estimated loan offers before committing to a full application. The main limitation is cost: Avant's APR can reach 35.99%, and its administration fee—reported inconsistently at up to 4.75% or 9.99%—is deducted from loan proceeds, reducing the net funds you receive.

Research Snapshot

MetricValue
Platform mentions in ranking stage4 of 7 platforms
Share of included platform responses7 of 7 platforms evaluated fit (100%)
Average listed rank8.0
Best listed rank7
Relevant product/model/planAvant Personal Loan (soft-pull prequalification)
Overall use-case fitGood (2 strong, 4 good, 1 mixed)
Research date2026-09-08

Why Avant Qualified for This Study

Questions This Section Answers

  • What made Avant eligible for inclusion in this soft-pull prequalification review?
  • Which AI platforms identified Avant as a relevant lender during the ranking stage?

The Product, Model, Plan, or Service Most Relevant to Soft-Pull Personal Loan Prequalification

Avant qualified because four of the seven AI platforms—DeepSeek, Grok, OpenAI, and Perplexity—named it during the ranking discovery stage for best personal loans with soft-pull prequalification. Its average listed rank was 8.0, with a best rank of 7 from both Grok and Perplexity. All seven platforms that provided fit research evaluated Avant's suitability for this specific use case. Their ratings broke down as: two "strong" (DeepSeek, Grok), four "good" (Anthropic, Google, OpenAI, Perplexity), and one "mixed" (Kimi). No platform rated Avant as a poor fit for soft-pull prequalification. The relevant product is the Avant Personal Loan, which the company's official product page describes with a rate-check process designed not to affect the applicant's credit score [1].

The relevant product is the Avant Personal Loan with soft-pull prequalification. This is an unsecured installment loan product ranging from $2,000 to $35,000, with repayment terms typically of 24 to 60 months [2].

Avant's prequalification process lets a borrower check estimated rates, loan amounts, and terms using a soft credit inquiry that does not affect the credit score. A hard inquiry occurs only when the borrower proceeds with a full application and accepts a formal loan offer [9].

Avant positions this product for borrowers with fair to average credit. Company materials describe accepting applications from borrowers in the 580 to 669 FICO range [11], and independent reviews report a minimum credit score requirement of around 580 [12]. Loans are issued through a bank partner, WebBank [13].

What the AI Platforms Agreed About

Questions This Section Answers

  • What core features did all AI platforms consistently confirm about Avant's soft-pull prequalification?
  • Which loan terms and pricing elements did platforms report without major disagreement?

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain

Soft-pull prequalification is real and advertised. All seven platforms confirmed that Avant offers a soft-pull prequalification process. Avant's website states that checking rates does not affect the applicant's credit score [14]. Grok cited Avant's support page confirming that a hard inquiry occurs only upon full application acceptance, with the soft inquiry visible only to the user [20]. Loan amounts are consistent at $2,000 to $35,000. Every platform that reported loan amounts cited the same range [15]. Kimi noted this range is narrower than some competitors offering up to $50,000 to $100,000 [23]. APR range is consistently reported at 9.95% to 35.99%. All platforms that provided pricing details cited this range [14]. The upper end is high relative to prime-credit alternatives. Repayment terms are 24 to 60 months. Platforms consistently reported this term range [21], though one platform noted terms can vary by underwriting [27]. No prepayment penalty is disclosed. Multiple platforms reported that Avant does not charge a prepayment penalty [28]. Google's review cited specific fees: a $25 late fee if payment is not made in full within 10 days of the due date, and a $15 dishonored payment fee [29]. Prequalification is estimate-only, not a guarantee. Platforms agreed that the prequalification rate is an estimate and final terms may differ after full underwriting [14]. Funding can be fast. Multiple platforms reported funding as soon as the next business day if approved by 4:30 PM CT on a weekday [15].

Questions This Section Answers

  • How do public sources conflict on Avant's administration fee?
  • What eligibility details remain unclear or unverified across platforms?

Use-Case-Specific Features and Capabilities

The administration fee is the biggest factual conflict. OpenAI and Grok reported an administrative or origination fee of up to 9.99% [32]. Perplexity's independent reviews also reported up to 9.99% [34]. However, DeepSeek cited an Investopedia review reporting an origination fee of up to 4.75% [37], and Perplexity flagged an older Avant company page also reporting up to 4.75% [38]. This public inconsistency means borrowers cannot reliably know the fee ceiling without checking their specific offer. Minimum credit score is inferred, not confirmed. Anthropic noted the minimum credit score is not publicly stated, with 580 FICO inferred from Avant's "fair credit" lending classification [39]. Google's sources more directly reported a minimum of around 580 [40]. Perplexity said eligibility thresholds such as minimum credit score were not clearly verified from authoritative public material [42]. State availability lists vary slightly. Google's sources reported Avant is not available in Hawaii, Iowa, Maine, New York, Vermont, and West Virginia [41]. One source added Washington and Massachusetts to the restricted list, while another said Massachusetts merely has a higher minimum loan amount of $6,400 [43]. This state-level inconsistency should be verified before applying. No cosigners are permitted. Google's sources confirmed Avant does not allow cosigners or co-borrowers [44]. This was not mentioned by other platforms. Independent verification of soft-pull mechanics is lacking. Anthropic noted no independent audit or third-party verification of Avant's soft-pull process is publicly available; the claim relies on company statements and user reports [46]. Kimi similarly noted the soft-pull feature functions as advertised but the exact hard-pull trigger timing is less detailed than some competitors [47]. Platform research dates vary. Most platforms conducted research on 2026-09-08, but Anthropic's research date was 2026-01-15 and DeepSeek's was 2025-03-06. This means some pricing and policy details may be older than the authoritative study date.

Questions This Section Answers

  • What specific soft-pull features does Avant offer that support rate comparison before a hard inquiry?
  • How transparent is Avant about the transition from soft pull to hard inquiry?

Pricing, Fees, Contracts, and Ongoing Costs

Soft-pull prequalification availability. Avant's official product page states that checking eligibility or rates does not affect the applicant's credit score, indicating a soft-pull prequalification process [48]. The prequalification flow is designed to show an estimated offer before the borrower accepts and completes the full application [48]. Rate and term preview quality. Prequalification shows estimated loan amounts, APR, terms, and monthly payments [54]. Platforms rated this as neutral-to-positive: the preview is useful, but the displayed offer is not a guarantee of approval or final terms [48]. Hard-inquiry disclosure. Avant clearly states that prequalification uses a soft pull and does not affect the credit score, with a hard inquiry occurring upon full application acceptance [58]. Independent reviews consistently describe this sequence [59]. However, OpenAI noted the exact hard-inquiry timing should be confirmed in the application disclosures [48]. Eligibility transparency is limited. Avant provides general product and pricing information but does not publicly disclose a complete approval model or guarantee a minimum credit score, income threshold, or final rate through the prequalification page [48]. One review noted a minimum income figure, but broader eligibility transparency remains incomplete [61]. Funding speed. Funds are generally deposited the next business day via ACH if approved by 4:30 PM CT Monday through Friday [57]. Anthropic reported funding within 1 to 2 business days post-approval [49]. Verification process. Avant's support page indicates verification may include identity, employment, income, and bank account details [63].

Questions This Section Answers

  • What APR range and fee structure should borrowers expect from Avant?
  • How do the administration fee and other charges affect the total cost of borrowing?

Best Suited For

APR range. Avant advertises fixed APRs of approximately 9.95% to 35.99%, subject to applicant-specific underwriting [64]. The lowest rates are available only to the most creditworthy borrowers; the upper end is among the highest in the personal loan market [70]. Administration fee. Avant charges an administration or origination fee that is deducted from loan proceeds. Public sources conflict on the maximum: multiple 2026 reviews report up to 9.99% [71], while an older Avant page and one Investopedia review report up to 4.75% [74]. Kimi noted the fee is treated as part of principal and accrues interest, meaning borrowers pay interest on the full loan amount while receiving less in proceeds [70]. Example cited: a $5,700 loan with a 9.99% fee yields only $5,130.57 in proceeds [70]. Late and returned-payment fees. Google's sources reported a $25 late fee if payment is not made in full within 10 days of the due date, and a $15 dishonored payment fee per returned payment [75]. Other platforms noted late fees and failed-payment fees may apply but did not specify amounts [73]. Exact fees can vary by state and loan agreement [73]. Prepayment. No prepayment penalty is disclosed for the standard personal-loan product [73]. Kimi noted this is not explicitly stated in all public disclosures, creating some uncertainty [70]. Contract terms. Loan terms are fixed for the life of the loan, typically 24 to 60 months [66]. The final loan agreement controls the APR, payment schedule, fees, rescission or cancellation rights, and any state-specific terms [73]. Standard rescission rights typically apply (3 business days under state law) per Anthropic [76]. Pricing confidence. Platforms rated pricing confidence as "moderate" to "high." Google rated confidence as "high" with specific fee amounts [75], while most other platforms rated "moderate" due to the fee conflict and applicant-specific variation [73].

Avant is best suited for borrowers with fair to average credit—roughly 580 to 669 FICO—who want to check potential loan rates and eligibility without a hard credit inquiry [77]. The soft-pull prequalification feature provides value for credit-conscious applicants who want to avoid multiple hard inquiries while comparing offers [79].

Specific borrower profiles that fit well include:

  • Fair-credit borrowers seeking access. Borrowers who may not qualify with prime lenders and prioritize approval certainty over the lowest cost [70].
  • Borrowers needing $2,000 to $35,000. The loan range covers many personal loan and small debt consolidation needs [79].
  • Borrowers wanting fast funding. Next-business-day funding is competitive for those needing quick access to cash [70].
  • Borrowers who want a structured offer preview. The prequalification shows estimated APR, terms, and payments before a hard inquiry [81].

Probably Not Best Suited For

Avant is probably not the best choice for several borrower profiles:

  • Borrowers with excellent credit seeking the lowest APR. Borrowers who can qualify for APRs below 10% elsewhere will likely find better terms with prime lenders [82].
  • Borrowers needing loans above $35,000. Avant's maximum is lower than competitors offering $50,000 to $100,000 [85].
  • Fee-sensitive borrowers. The administration fee, potentially up to 9.99%, reduces net proceeds and increases effective borrowing cost [86].
  • Borrowers who want no origination fee. Lenders like LightStream or SoFi may offer no-fee loans for qualifying borrowers [84].
  • Borrowers needing a cosigner. Avant does not permit cosigners or co-borrowers [87].
  • Residents of restricted states. Avant is reportedly unavailable in Hawaii, Iowa, Maine, New York, Vermont, and West Virginia, with some sources adding Washington and Massachusetts [89].
  • Borrowers wanting full eligibility transparency. Avant does not publicly disclose complete underwriting criteria [82].

When Another Option May Be Better

Consider alternatives to Avant in these situations:

  • For lower APRs with good credit: Borrowers with strong credit should compare offers from banks or credit unions that also provide soft-pull rate checks, such as SoFi or Earnest [92].
  • For larger loan amounts: Borrowers needing more than $35,000 should consider SoFi, LendingClub, or LightStream [93].
  • For no origination fee: Borrowers averse to any upfront fee might prefer LightStream or SoFi for qualifying borrowers [95].
  • For debt consolidation with direct creditor payments: Avant does not make direct payments to creditors; lenders that do may be better for consolidation [96].
  • For cosigner support: Borrowers who need a cosigner to qualify or obtain a lower rate should look elsewhere, as Avant does not permit cosigners [97].
  • For maximum fee transparency: Some competitors itemize fees earlier in the process than Avant [93].

Questions to Verify Before Buying

Before submitting a full application with Avant, verify the following with the lender directly:

  1. What is the exact administration fee for your specific offer? Public sources conflict between up to 4.75% and up to 9.99%. Confirm the precise percentage and dollar amount that will be deducted from your proceeds [99].
  2. When exactly does the hard inquiry occur? Confirm whether the soft pull applies only to the initial rate check and that a hard inquiry will occur upon accepting an offer or completing the full application [102].
  3. Will the prequalification rate be honored? Ask whether the final APR and terms can change after full underwriting, and by how much [104].
  4. What is your state's availability and minimum loan amount? State restrictions vary by source, and Massachusetts reportedly has a higher minimum of $6,400 [106].
  5. What are the exact late and returned-payment fees in your state? Google's sources report $25 late and $15 dishonored payment fees, but exact amounts can vary by state [108].
  6. Is there any prepayment penalty in the final contract? Most sources report none, but Kimi noted this is not explicitly stated in all public disclosures [105].
  7. What is the total dollar cost of the loan, not just the monthly payment? Calculate the full cost including fees and interest, and compare against 2 to 3 other prequalified offers for the same amount and term [105].

Final AI Consensus Verdict

The AI platform consensus is that Avant is a good, but not best-in-class, fit for soft-pull personal loan prequalification. All seven evaluating platforms confirmed that Avant offers a genuine soft-pull prequalification process that lets borrowers check estimated rates and eligibility without an initial hard credit inquiry. The product is particularly well suited for fair-credit borrowers (around 580 FICO and up) who want to compare offers before committing to a full application.

However, no platform rated Avant as the best option in this category. The consistent concerns are the potentially high APR ceiling of 35.99%, the administration fee that reduces net proceeds (with conflicting public reports on whether the maximum is 4.75% or 9.99%), limited public transparency on underwriting criteria, and a $35,000 loan cap that excludes larger borrowing needs.

Platform-reported fit ratings were: DeepSeek and Grok rated Avant "strong"; Anthropic, Google, OpenAI, and Perplexity rated it "good"; Kimi rated it "mixed." The practical takeaway: use Avant's soft-pull prequalification to get a quick estimate, but compare at least one lower-cost bank, credit union, or marketplace lender before submitting a full application. For the full ranked list of lenders in this category, see the Soft-Pull Personal Loan Prequalification consensus index. For broader comparisons across lenders, browse the personal debt consolidation loans directory.

How This Review Was Produced

This review was produced by aggregating fit-research responses from seven AI platforms: Anthropic, DeepSeek, Google, Grok, Kimi, OpenAI, and Perplexity. Each platform evaluated Avant's suitability for soft-pull personal loan prequalification using the same category criteria: soft-pull prequalification availability, rate and term preview quality, APR range, fees, loan amounts, eligibility transparency, and hard-inquiry disclosure.

Platforms cited company-owned sources (Avant's product pages, legal disclosures, support articles, and blog) and independent sources (Investopedia, Bankrate, Forbes, Credible, MoneyRates, Bills.com, Experian, WSJ Buy Side, MoneyLion, ClearValue Lending, and the FTC). The authoritative research date for this study is 2026-09-08.

Methodology Limitations

Several limitations apply to this review:

  • Platform research dates vary. While most platforms conducted research on 2026-09-08, Anthropic's research date was 2026-01-15 and DeepSeek's was 2025-03-06. Pricing and policy details from those platforms may be older than the authoritative study date.
  • The administration fee conflict is unresolved. Public sources disagree on whether Avant's maximum administration fee is 4.75% or 9.99%. This review does not resolve that conflict; it reports both figures and advises verification.
  • Soft-pull mechanics are not independently verified. No independent audit of Avant's soft-pull process is publicly available. The claim relies on company statements and user reports [110].
  • Supplied URLs were not independently validated. The URLs cited in this review were collected from platform responses and were not independently verified by the writer stage.
  • AI-platform agreement does not prove product quality. This review reports what AI platforms found in their research; it does not constitute independent testing of Avant's products or services.
  • Pricing and terms can change. Published Avant rates, fees, loan amounts, and terms can change, and the exact offer shown to a borrower may differ from headline disclosures [111].

Sources

Company-Owned Sources

Independent Sources

Verify this research

Review the study details behind this page or download the public machine-readable verification record.

Study date
Sep 8, 2026
Platforms analyzed
7
Source records
23
Ranking mentions
4 of 7
Platform share
57%
Final consensus rank
#8

Research trail and source mix

Platforms

openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google

Source mix

13 independent · 10 company-owned

Evidence support

16 direct · 6 partial

Important limitation

Use the run research_date as the study date. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

Source snapshot SHA-256 8b09b5e6ef1a9b64c35c2a16c136877b1c829e4886a807bc599410c8e92f300f