Credit Consensus Index.

AI consensus research

Best Debt Consolidation Loans for a 660 699 Credit Score

For borrowers with credit scores of 660–699 seeking an unsecured debt consolidation loan, the AI platforms studied show no single consensus winner. Happen Bank received the most ranking-stage mentions (6 of 7 platforms, 85.7%) but carried the weakest average rank (5.0) and the most unresolved factual.

Published by Credit Consensus Index Research TeamReviewed by Mark B. Huntley, J.D.

Published Updated

Best Debt Consolidation Loans for a 660 699 Credit Score

Answer Capsule

For borrowers with credit scores of 660–699 seeking an unsecured debt consolidation loan, the AI platforms studied show no single consensus winner. Happen Bank received the most ranking-stage mentions (6 of 7 platforms, 85.7%) but carried the weakest average rank (5.0) and the most unresolved factual conflicts, including disputed APR floors, origination fee caps, and whether the entity is a direct lender or marketplace label. Discover earned the strongest average listed position (1.2) among the five platforms that named it, supported by unanimous agreement on its zero-origination-fee structure and a 660 minimum credit score that matches the target band's lower boundary. Upgrade and Best Egg each appeared on five platforms and offer practical features—soft-pull prequalification, direct creditor payment, and fair-credit accessibility—but carry origination fees that can offset interest savings. This study examined 28 unique entities across 7 AI platforms and qualified 10 lenders for ranking. The principal limitation: platform recommendations reflect retrieved public information, not verified borrower outcomes, and no platform could confirm the actual APR any 660–699 borrower would receive.

Research Snapshot

Topic: Best debt consolidation loans for borrowers with credit scores of 660–699 seeking an unsecured loan to consolidate high-interest credit card debt.

Target buyer: U.S. borrowers with FICO scores from 660 to 699 who want to replace revolving credit-card debt with a fixed-rate installment loan.

Platforms included: openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google (7 platforms).

Research date: 2026-09-04 (authoritative run date; some platforms reported earlier research dates).

Unique entities named: 28.

Qualifying entities: 10.

Eligibility rule: Named by at least two platforms during the ranking-discovery stage.

The Consensus Ranking

RankEntityPlatform mentionsAverage listed positionBest positionBest considered for
1Happen Bank65.01Borrowers who can independently confirm Happen is the actual lender or a clearly identified lending partner; borrowers willing to compare a personalized written offer against established lenders; borrowers who can verify credit score minimums and pricing directly
2Discover51.21Borrowers who want an unsecured fixed-rate loan to replace revolving credit-card debt; borrowers who value no origination fee and no prepayment penalty; borrowers who want to check an estimated offer through prequalification
3Upgrade53.22Fair- to near-prime-credit borrowers seeking a broad online personal-loan application; borrowers who value soft-pull prequalification; borrowers who want debt-consolidation functionality with possible direct payment to creditors
4Best Egg56.63Borrowers who can obtain a materially lower APR than their credit cards; borrowers who value an online application, soft-pull rate checking, and potentially fast funding; borrowers needing a loan within Best Egg's approved range who accept a possible origination fee
5Happy Money43.752Borrowers seeking a personal loan specifically intended to refinance credit-card debt; borrowers who want to check eligibility through soft-pull prequalification; borrowers who can obtain an offer with a meaningfully lower APR than existing cards
6Upstart44.252Borrowers in the 660–699 range who want to prequalify without an initial hard inquiry; borrowers with adequate income and a credit profile stronger than their score alone indicates; borrowers who can obtain an APR materially below existing card rates
7SoFi45.251Borrowers with scores near 680–699, strong income, manageable debt-to-income ratios, and good payment history; borrowers who need $5,000 or more and prefer no origination fee; borrowers who want to compare a personalized offer through a soft inquiry
8Avant46.753Borrowers with fair-to-good credit who may not qualify for the lowest-cost bank or credit-union offers; borrowers who prioritize rate prequalification without an initial hard inquiry; borrowers needing a relatively small or mid-sized loan and potentially quick funding
9Achieve35.673Borrowers seeking an unsecured loan to consolidate multiple credit-card balances; borrowers who want to compare an estimated offer without an initial hard inquiry; borrowers able to qualify for an APR substantially below existing card APRs after including any origination fee
10LightStream22.52Borrowers with a 660–699 score who also have several years of positive credit history, stable income, and a manageable debt-to-income ratio; borrowers needing a larger unsecured consolidation loan who accept a hard inquiry before a firm offer; borrowers who value no origination, prepayment, or late fees

Which Option Is Best for Which Version of the Buyer Need?

Buyer profileBest optionWhy
Borrower at 660–670 who wants the widest approval netUpgrade or AvantBoth target fair credit with minimums near 580–600, well below the target band; soft-pull prequalification is confirmed by all seven platforms for each
Borrower who prioritizes zero upfront feesDiscover or SoFiDiscover charges no origination fee per all seven platforms; SoFi advertises no origination fee per most sources, though eligibility is uncertain below 680
Borrower who wants the lender to pay creditors directlyBest Egg, Upgrade, or AchieveDirect Pay / direct creditor payoff is a confirmed feature; reduces the risk of spending consolidation funds elsewhere
Borrower at 680–699 with strong income and low DTISoFi or LightStreamBoth offer no origination fee, large loan amounts up to $100,000, and competitive terms for stronger profiles; LightStream requires accepting a hard inquiry
Borrower who wants credit-card-only consolidationHappy MoneyThe Payoff Loan is restricted to credit card debt, with direct-to-creditor payments and no prepayment penalty
Borrower whose credit score understates a strong financial profileUpstartAI-based underwriting evaluates education, employment, and income beyond the traditional score
Borrower needing $35,000 or moreAchieve or SoFiAchieve states a 660 minimum for loans of $35,000+, matching the target band; SoFi lends up to $100,000
Borrower who wants to verify the lender's identity before applyingDiscover or SoFiBoth are established, verifiable lenders with transparent product pages; Happen Bank's lender identity is disputed across platforms
Borrower needing a small loan under $5,000Upgrade or UpstartUpgrade starts at $1,000; Upstart starts at $1,000 (state minimums vary)
Borrower who cannot tolerate origination feesDiscover, SoFi, or LightStreamAll three are reported to charge no origination fee, though LightStream's eligibility is uncertain

1. Happen Bank

Verdict: Happen Bank (formerly LendingClub) is a plausible but not clearly verified option for 660–699 borrowers. Six of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, but fit ratings split between "good," "strong," "mixed," and "uncertain." The product type—an unsecured fixed-rate personal loan with direct creditor payment—fits the use case, but inconsistent public information about APR floors, origination fees, and minimum credit scores prevents a confident recommendation.

Why it ranked here: Happen Bank ranked first by platform mentions (6 of 7, 85.7%) but carried an average listed position of 5.0, the weakest among the top five entities. Its best rank of 1 came from anthropic. The high mention count reflects broad awareness of the LendingClub rebrand, not consensus on quality.

Best suited for: Borrowers who can independently confirm that Happen Bank is the actual lender or a clearly identified lending partner; borrowers willing to compare a personalized written offer against established lenders before accepting; borrowers who can verify Happen Bank's credit score minimums and pricing directly with the company.

Main strengths: Direct-to-creditor payment (called "Direct Pay") automates payoff of existing credit card balances, with grok specifying direct pay to up to 12 creditors with a possible APR discount. Loan amounts range from $1,000 to $75,000 with terms of 24–84 months. Google reported no prepayment penalty, a 15-day grace period, and a 2% cash-back reward on on-time monthly payments via a linked LevelUp Checking account. Google also reported co-borrower support, which is uncommon among digital lenders.

Main limitations: Origination fees reported up to 8% or 12% depending on source, deducted from loan proceeds. APR floors conflict between 5.96% and 6.53%. Kimi and deepseek reported the official website could not be verified as operational during their research, while four other platforms cited content from happen.com successfully. No platform verified a specific approval threshold for the 660–699 band with certainty.

Pricing or cost summary: APR reported as 5.96%–35.96% or 6.53%–35.99% depending on source; origination fee 0%–8%, 1%–8%, or up to 12% depending on source; late fee 5% of payment with $15 minimum; no prepayment penalty; loan amounts $1,000–$75,000; terms 24–84 months.

Where platforms disagreed: Google rated Happen Bank a "strong" fit; deepseek and grok rated it "good"; perplexity rated it "mixed"; anthropic, openai, and kimi rated it "uncertain." Platforms disagreed on minimum credit score (600 vs. 660 vs. no published minimum), APR floor, origination fee floor, soft-pull prequalification availability, and funding speed. Kimi questioned whether the entity is "a legitimate current lender, a rebrand, a discontinued product, or an aggregator/marketplace label."

Happen Bank

2. Discover

Verdict: Discover is a good fit for 660–699 borrowers, with six of seven platforms rating it "good" or "strong" and one rating it "mixed." The core value proposition is a 660 minimum credit score that includes the entire target range, a zero-fee structure, direct creditor payment, soft-pull prequalification, and fast funding. The main uncertainty is actual pricing: no platform could determine what APR a 660–699 borrower would receive.

Why it ranked here: Discover ranked second by mentions (5 of 7, 71.4%) but held the strongest average listed position among all entities at 1.2, with four platforms ranking it first. Its best rank of 1 came from deepseek, google, grok, and openai.

Best suited for: Borrowers who want an unsecured fixed-rate loan to replace revolving credit-card debt; borrowers who value no origination fee and no prepayment penalty; borrowers who want to check an estimated offer through prequalification before accepting a loan.

Main strengths: All seven platforms agreed Discover charges no origination fee and no prepayment penalty. All platforms that addressed eligibility reported a 660 minimum FICO score. Six platforms confirmed soft-pull prequalification. Six platforms reported loan amounts of $2,500–$40,000 and terms of 36–84 months. Five platforms confirmed direct creditor payment and next-business-day funding. Google reported a 30-day money-back guarantee and a $25,000 minimum annual income requirement.

Main limitations: A Discover personal loan cannot be used to pay off any Discover or Capital One credit card, secured loan, or student loan. The $2,500 minimum excludes small consolidations; the $40,000 maximum excludes larger needs. Kimi rated the fit "mixed," noting Discover's own guidance that a personal loan "may not be the right debt consolidation solution" for customers with less-than-good credit. Borrowers at 660–670 may face rates that do not beat their credit-card APRs.

Pricing or cost summary: APR reported as 6.99%–24.99% or 7.99%–35.99% depending on source; no origination fee; no prepayment penalty; late fee $0 per Discover's official disclosures but $39 per some independent reviews; loan amounts $2,500–$40,000; terms 36–84 months.

Where platforms disagreed: APR floor conflicted between 6.99% and 7.99%; APR ceiling conflicted between 24.99% and 35.99%; maximum loan amount conflicted between $35,000 and $40,000; late fee conflicted between $0 and $39; funding speed conflicted between next business day and 2–5 business days.

Discover

3. Upgrade

Verdict: Upgrade is a good-to-strong fit for 660–699 borrowers. All seven platforms that evaluated fit rated it "good" or "strong," with no platform rating it poor or marginal. The strongest reasons to consider Upgrade are soft-pull prequalification, a dedicated debt-consolidation product with direct creditor payment, and a minimum credit score around 600 that sits below the target range. The main limitation is the origination fee of 1.85%–9.99%.

Why it ranked here: Upgrade ranked third by mentions (5 of 7, 71.4%) with an average listed position of 3.2 and a best rank of 2 from grok. Its consistent mid-tier placement reflects broad but not top-tier recognition.

Best suited for: Fair- to near-prime-credit borrowers seeking a broad online personal-loan application; borrowers who value soft-pull prequalification before comparing an offer; borrowers who want a lender with debt-consolidation functionality and possible direct payment to creditors.

Main strengths: All seven platforms confirmed soft-pull prequalification. Upgrade's "Debt Payoff" feature sends funds directly to credit-card companies. No prepayment penalty is charged. Loan amounts range from $1,000 to $50,000 with terms of 24–84 months, with the 84-month maximum exceeding many competitors. Funding is generally within one to two business days. Joint applications are allowed.

Main limitations: The origination fee of 1.85%–9.99% is deducted from loan proceeds, reducing net disbursement. A $10,000 loan at 17.59% APR over 36 months with a 5% origination fee yields a $9,500 disbursement and monthly payments of $341.48, totaling $12,293.46. Anthropic reported the origination fee structure is not publicly disclosed on Upgrade's website, creating a factual conflict. The lowest advertised APR requires Autopay enrollment.

Pricing or cost summary: APR most commonly cited as 7.74%–35.99% (anthropic cited 5.24%–35.97%; deepseek cited 8.49%–35.97%); origination fee 1.85%–9.99%; late fee up to $10 and failed-payment fee of $10 per perplexity, or $10–$25 per deepseek; no prepayment penalty; loan amounts $1,000–$50,000; terms 24–84 months.

Where platforms disagreed: APR range figures varied by source and retrieval date; origination fee disclosure conflicted (six platforms reported 1.85%–9.99%, anthropic reported not publicly disclosed); fixed vs. variable APR conflicted (deepseek described variable, all others fixed); minimum credit score varied between 580 and 600; maximum loan amount varied between $50,000 and $75,000.

Upgrade

4. Best Egg

Verdict: Best Egg is a mixed-to-good fit for 660–699 borrowers. Five of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, and fit ratings split between "good" (deepseek, google, perplexity) and "mixed" (anthropic, grok, kimi, openai). The strongest reasons to consider Best Egg are its Direct Pay feature, soft-pull prequalification, and fast funding. The main limitation is cost: origination fees up to 9.99% and APRs that likely land in the mid-to-high range for this credit band.

Why it ranked here: Best Egg ranked fourth by mentions (5 of 7, 71.4%) with an average listed position of 6.6, the weakest among the five most-mentioned entities. Its best rank of 3 came from anthropic. The low average position reflects platforms listing Best Egg as a secondary or tertiary option.

Best suited for: Borrowers who can obtain a materially lower APR than their credit cards; borrowers who value an online application, soft-pull rate checking, and potentially fast funding; borrowers needing a loan amount within Best Egg's approved range and willing to pay a possible origination fee.

Main strengths: Direct Pay sends loan proceeds directly to credit card and retail card companies, with remaining funds deposited to the borrower's bank account. Six platforms confirmed soft-pull prequalification. Funding is reported within 1–3 business days, sometimes the next business day. No prepayment penalty is charged. Loan amounts range from $2,000 to $50,000.

Main limitations: Origination fees range from 0.99% to 9.99%, with a minimum 4.99% on terms of 4 years or longer. The lowest starting APR requires a FICO score of at least 700 and minimum annual income of $100,000. Best Egg does not accept co-signers or co-applicants. Loans are unavailable in Iowa, Vermont, West Virginia, Washington D.C., and U.S. territories. State-specific minimums apply in Massachusetts ($6,500), Ohio ($5,001), and Georgia ($3,001).

Pricing or cost summary: APR reported as 5.99%–35.99% (official) or 6.99%–35.99% (some reviews); origination fee 0.99%–9.99%; returned payment fee approximately $15; no prepayment penalty; loan amounts $2,000–$50,000; repayment terms reported as 24–84 months by anthropic or 36–60 months by deepseek, google, grok, and perplexity.

Where platforms disagreed: Minimum credit score conflicted between approximately 600 and 640; repayment terms conflicted between 24–84 months and 36–60 months; APR range conflicted between 5.99% and 8.99% floors; whether Best Egg offers secured loan options was raised by kimi but not confirmed by others; prequalification mechanics were "likely but not directly verified" by perplexity.

Best Egg

5. Happy Money

Verdict: Happy Money's Payoff Loan is a mixed-to-good fit for 660–699 borrowers seeking credit-card-only consolidation. Four of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, and fit ratings split across the spectrum: one "strong," two "good," two "mixed," and two "uncertain." The product's specialization—credit-card-only consolidation with direct creditor payments—is its clearest strength. Pricing uncertainty is the main limitation.

Why it ranked here: Happy Money ranked fifth by mentions (4 of 7, 57.1%) with an average listed position of 3.75 and a best rank of 2 from google and openai. Its relatively strong average position reflects platforms that named it ranking it highly, but only four platforms named it at all.

Best suited for: Borrowers seeking a personal loan specifically intended to refinance credit-card debt; borrowers who want to check eligibility through a soft-pull prequalification process; borrowers who can obtain an offer with a meaningfully lower APR than their existing cards.

Main strengths: The Payoff Loan is purpose-built for credit card debt consolidation, with funds typically sent directly to credit card issuers. Six platforms reported soft-pull prequalification. No prepayment penalty is charged. Google reported no late fees, annual fees, or check fees. Reported minimum credit scores of 620–640 place the 660–699 band within stated eligibility.

Main limitations: The loan is restricted to credit card debt only—it cannot consolidate medical bills, personal loans, or auto loans. Reported APRs span a very wide range (approximately 7.95%–35.99% depending on source). The origination fee is unclear, with reports ranging from 0%–5% to 1.99%–9.99% to approximately 2%–12%. Funding speed is slower than competitors at 3–6 business days per google and grok. Loans are unavailable in Iowa.

Pricing or cost summary: APR reported as 7.95%–35.99%, 8.95%–35.99%, or 11.72%–35.99% depending on source; origination fee 0%–5% (openai), 1.99%–9.99% (google), or approximately 2%–12% (perplexity); no prepayment penalty; loan amounts $5,000–$40,000 or $5,000–$50,000; terms 24–60 months.

Where platforms disagreed: Overall fit rating split across the spectrum; minimum credit score conflicted between 620, 640, and third-party reports of 660, 680, or 700; APR ranges conflicted across sources; origination fee was unclear or undisclosed by three platforms; funding speed ranged from same-day (unverified) to 3–6 business days.

Happy Money

6. Upstart

Verdict: Upstart is a good but conditional fit for 660–699 borrowers. Four of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, and fit ratings split 4 "good" and 3 "mixed." The strongest reason to consider Upstart is its AI-based underwriting that evaluates education, employment, and income beyond traditional credit scores. The main limitation is cost: origination fees up to 12% and APRs that can reach 35.99%.

Why it ranked here: Upstart ranked sixth by mentions (4 of 7, 57.1%) with an average listed position of 4.25 and a best rank of 2 from anthropic and perplexity. Its mid-tier placement reflects recognition as accessible but not lowest-cost.

Best suited for: Borrowers in the 660–699 range who want to prequalify without an initial hard credit inquiry; borrowers with adequate income and a credit profile that may be stronger than their score alone indicates; borrowers who can obtain an APR materially below their existing credit-card rates.

Main strengths: All seven platforms confirmed soft-pull prequalification. Upstart's underwriting considers education, employment history, income, and future earning potential, potentially helping borrowers whose credit scores understate their financial profile. Funding is advertised as soon as one business day after acceptance. No prepayment penalty is charged. Loan amounts range from $1,000 to $50,000 (some sources cite up to $75,000).

Main limitations: Origination fees can reach 12% (google noted some partner lenders may charge up to 15%). Most platforms reported Upstart deposits funds into the borrower's bank account rather than paying creditors directly. Repayment terms are fixed at 3 or 5 years only. A $10,000 loan at 19.08% interest with an 8.15% origination fee ($815) results in a 23.37% APR, with the borrower receiving $9,185 and making 60 payments of $261.

Pricing or cost summary: APR reported as 6.3%–35.99% (anthropic cited 5.26%–36%); origination fee up to 12% (some sources cite up to 15%); late fee of the greater of $15 or 5% of the past-due amount after a 15-day grace period; $15 ACH return fee; no prepayment penalty; loan amounts $1,000–$50,000 or up to $75,000; terms 36 or 60 months.

Where platforms disagreed: APR range figures conflicted; origination fee maximum conflicted between 8% and 15%; minimum credit score conflicted between 580, 600–620, and no published minimum; direct creditor payment was disputed (google, deepseek, and grok said no; openai flagged it as unverified).

Upstart

7. SoFi

Verdict: SoFi is a mixed-to-weak fit for 660–699 borrowers. Four of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, and fit ratings ranged from "strong" (deepseek) and "good" (google) to "weak" (anthropic), with most rating it "mixed" or "uncertain." The strongest reason to consider SoFi is its no-origination-fee structure and loan amounts up to $100,000. The main limitation is eligibility uncertainty: multiple sources cite a 680 benchmark that would exclude borrowers at 660–679.

Why it ranked here: SoFi ranked seventh by mentions (4 of 7, 57.1%) with an average listed position of 5.25 and a best rank of 1 from kimi. The single first-place ranking was offset by lower placements from other platforms.

Best suited for: Borrowers with scores near 680–699, strong income, manageable debt-to-income ratios, and good payment history; borrowers who need $5,000 or more and prefer an unsecured loan without an origination fee; borrowers who want to compare a personalized offer through a soft credit inquiry.

Main strengths: All seven platforms reported no origination fee. All platforms confirmed soft-pull prequalification. Loan amounts range from $5,000 to $100,000 with terms of 24–84 months. No prepayment penalty is charged. SoFi offers unemployment protection with forbearance in blocks of 3 months (up to 12 months total). Autopay provides a 0.25% rate discount. Joint applications are permitted.

Main limitations: Anthropic stated SoFi's minimum is 680, which would exclude borrowers at 660–679. Other platforms reported no published minimum, with third-party benchmarks around 680. Google reported average approved borrowers score 670–739. The $5,000 minimum excludes small consolidations. No platform could verify the APR a 660–699 borrower would receive.

Pricing or cost summary: APR reported as 8.99%–25.32% (anthropic), 8.99%–29.49% with autopay (deepseek, kimi), 6.99%–35.49% (google, perplexity), or 7.74%–35.49% (perplexity); no origination fee per most sources, with one source reporting an optional origination fee up to 7% in exchange for a lower APR; late fees reported as $0 (google) or variable/undisclosed; no prepayment penalty; loan amounts $5,000–$100,000; terms 24–84 months.

Where platforms disagreed: Overall fit rating ranged from "strong" to "weak"; whether SoFi publishes a minimum credit score conflicted (anthropic said 680, others said no published minimum); APR range varied substantially by source; origination fee structure conflicted (most said none, google and perplexity cited an optional fee up to 7%); late fees conflicted between $0 and variable.

SoFi

8. Avant

Verdict: Avant is a mixed-to-good fit for 660–699 borrowers. Four of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, and five of seven rated it "good" while two rated it "mixed." The strongest reason to consider Avant is its accessibility: it targets fair-to-good credit borrowers, offers soft-pull prequalification, and can fund as soon as the next business day. The main limitation is cost: APRs up to 35.99% and an administration fee of up to 4.75% or 9.99% depending on source.

Why it ranked here: Avant ranked eighth by mentions (4 of 7, 57.1%) with an average listed position of 6.75 and a best rank of 3 from grok. Its low average position reflects platforms listing Avant as a later option.

Best suited for: Borrowers with fair-to-good credit who need an unsecured consolidation loan and may not qualify for the lowest-cost bank or credit-union offers; borrowers who prioritize rate prequalification without an initial hard inquiry; borrowers needing a relatively small or mid-sized loan and potentially quick funding.

Main strengths: All seven platforms agreed a 660–699 score falls within Avant's target range, with most approved borrowers scoring between 600 and 700. All seven platforms confirmed soft-pull prequalification and next-business-day funding. No prepayment penalty is charged. Debt consolidation is an approved use. Loan amounts range from $2,000 to $35,000.

Main limitations: The administration/origination fee cap is disputed between 4.75% and 9.99%. Estimated APRs for the 660–699 band range from 20% to 35%. Avant does not offer direct payments to creditors per google. No cosigner support. Loans are unavailable in Hawaii, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Washington, and West Virginia.

Pricing or cost summary: APR reported as 9.95%–35.99% (deepseek cited 10.25% floor); administration/origination fee up to 4.75% (deepseek, kimi) or up to 9.99% (openai, grok, google); late payment fee $25 after 10-day grace period; returned payment fee $15; no prepayment penalty; loan amounts $2,000–$35,000; terms 24–60 months (openai and kimi reported 12–60 months).

Where platforms disagreed: Administration fee cap conflicted between 4.75% and 9.99%, with anthropic reporting no origination fee at all; minimum credit score conflicted between 550 and 580; repayment terms conflicted between 12 and 24 months minimum; whether Avant pays creditors directly was disputed.

Avant

9. Achieve

Verdict: Achieve is a good but conditional fit for 660–699 borrowers. Three of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, and fit ratings were one "strong," four "good," and two "uncertain." The strongest reason to consider Achieve is its advertised eligibility alignment: the company states a 660 credit score is the minimum required for loans of $35,000 or more, directly matching the target band. The main limitation is cost uncertainty.

Why it ranked here: Achieve ranked ninth by mentions (3 of 7, 42.9%) with an average listed position of 5.67 and a best rank of 3 from google. Its lower mention count reflects less platform awareness.

Best suited for: Borrowers seeking an unsecured loan to consolidate multiple credit-card balances; borrowers who want to compare an estimated offer without an initial hard credit inquiry; borrowers able to qualify for an APR substantially below their existing card APRs after including any origination fee.

Main strengths: Achieve's official materials state a 560 minimum credit score generally, with 660 required for loans of $35,000 or more for debt consolidation. Six of seven platforms confirmed soft-pull prequalification. Five platforms noted Achieve can pay credit-card balances directly. No prepayment penalty is charged. Achieve offers up to 4% in rate discounts for direct creditor payoff, adding a qualified co-borrower, or showing sufficient retirement assets.

Main limitations: The origination fee of 1.99%–9.99% is deducted from proceeds. The wide APR range of 6.25%–35.99% means actual pricing is highly individualized. Anthropic reported Achieve does not publicly disclose standard APR ranges, origination fee percentages, or late fees. Kimi could not verify Achieve's product at all and rated the fit "uncertain."

Pricing or cost summary: APR reported as 6.25%–35.99% (google, perplexity) or 8.99%–29.99% (deepseek); origination fee 1.99%–9.99% (google, grok, perplexity) or 1%–5% (deepseek); no prepayment penalty; loan amounts $5,000–$50,000 with an $11,000 minimum in Arizona; terms 24–60 months.

Where platforms disagreed: Fit ratings diverged from "strong" to "uncertain"; APR range conflicted between 6.25% and 8.99% floors; origination fee conflicted between 1%–5% and 1.99%–9.99%; minimum credit score conflicted between 560, 640, and not published; funding speed conflicted between 24 hours (company claim) and 24–72 hours (independent reviews).

Achieve

10. LightStream

Verdict: LightStream is a mixed-to-weak fit for 660–699 borrowers. Two of seven platforms named it during ranking discovery, and no platform rated it a strong or excellent fit for this use case. The strongest reason to consider LightStream is its zero-fee structure—no origination fees, no prepayment penalties, and no late fees. The main limitation is eligibility uncertainty: LightStream does not publicly disclose a minimum credit score, and independent sources conflict on whether the threshold is 660 or 700.

Why it ranked here: LightStream ranked tenth by mentions (2 of 7, 28.6%) with an average listed position of 2.5 and a best rank of 2 from deepseek. Its strong average position reflects the two platforms that named it ranking it highly, but only two platforms named it at all.

Best suited for: Borrowers with a 660–699 score who also have several years of positive credit history, stable income, and a manageable debt-to-income ratio; borrowers needing a larger unsecured consolidation loan and willing to accept a hard inquiry before receiving a firm offer; borrowers who value no origination, prepayment, or late fees and potentially same-day funding.

Main strengths: All seven platforms agreed LightStream charges no origination fees, no prepayment penalties, and no late fees. Loan amounts range from $5,000 to $100,000 with terms of 24–84 months for debt consolidation per most sources. Same-day funding is advertised for approved borrowers who complete required steps. Joint applications are permitted. The RateBeat program offers a 0.10 percentage point discount if the borrower is approved for a lower rate elsewhere.

Main limitations: The majority position (4 of 7 platforms) is that LightStream requires a hard credit inquiry for rate offers, posing a risk for 660–699 borrowers who may be rejected after incurring a hard pull. LightStream's underwriting is described as "exceptionally stringent" by google, prioritizing applicants with robust credit history, low DTI, and assets. Anthropic rated the fit "weak," stating the 660–699 segment is outside LightStream's core market positioning.

Pricing or cost summary: APR reported as approximately 7.24%–24.89% with AutoPay (grok cited 7.24%–25.39%); rates without AutoPay are 0.50 percentage points higher; no origination fee; no prepayment penalty; no late fee advertised; loan amounts $5,000–$100,000; terms 24–84 months per most sources (kimi reported up to 144 months; grok reported up to 240 months).

Where platforms disagreed: Fit ratings split between "mixed" (5 platforms), "weak" (anthropic), and "uncertain" (deepseek); soft-pull prequalification was directly contradicted (anthropic and deepseek said yes; openai, grok, kimi, and google said no); APR range varied by source; repayment term maximum conflicted between 84, 144, and 240 months; whether funds are sent directly to creditors was not clearly established.

LightStream

What the Cross-Platform Study Reveals About This Market

The 660–699 credit band sits at a structural disadvantage in the personal loan market. Every platform that addressed rate expectations agreed that the lowest advertised APRs are reserved for borrowers with scores well above 700. Kimi noted that Discover's advertised 7.99% floor "typically requires scores well above 700." Google specified that Best Egg's lowest starting rate requires a FICO score of at least 700 and minimum annual income of $100,000. Grok cited an average APR around 31.33% for the fair credit tier (580–669) based on third-party comparison data.

No lender in this study publishes credit-tier-specific pricing. Every platform that evaluated any entity noted that the actual APR for a 660–699 borrower cannot be determined from public information. This forces borrowers into a soft-pull prequalification process to learn their actual rate, which is why soft-pull prequalification emerged as a near-universal requirement across platform recommendations.

Origination fees are the second structural barrier. Lenders that explicitly serve fair-credit borrowers—Upgrade, Best Egg, Upstart, Avant, Achieve, and Happy Money—all charge origination fees that reduce net loan proceeds. The fee ranges from 1.85% to 9.99% at Upgrade, 0.99% to 9.99% at Best Egg, up to 12% at Upstart, up to 4.75% or 9.99% at Avant, and 1.99% to 9.99% at Achieve. Lenders with no origination fee—Discover, SoFi, and LightStream—tend to target stronger credit profiles, creating a trade-off between fee avoidance and approval accessibility.

Direct creditor payment emerged as a meaningful differentiator. Best Egg's Direct Pay, Upgrade's Debt Payoff, Happy Money's direct-to-creditor payments, and Achieve's direct creditor payoff all reduce the risk that consolidation funds are spent elsewhere. Upstart and Avant generally deposit funds to the borrower, requiring self-discipline to complete the consolidation.

Where the AI Platforms Agreed

Zero-fee lenders are preferred when accessible. All seven platforms agreed Discover charges no origination fee and no prepayment penalty. All seven platforms agreed LightStream charges no origination fees, no prepayment penalties, and no late fees. All seven platforms reported SoFi charges no origination fee. This consensus reflects a consistent evaluation criterion: origination fees reduce the amount available to pay creditors and increase total borrowing cost.

Soft-pull prequalification is a baseline expectation. All seven platforms confirmed soft-pull prequalification for Upgrade, Upstart, and Avant. Six platforms confirmed it for Discover, Best Egg, and Happy Money. The only entity where platforms directly contradicted each other on this feature was LightStream, with four platforms stating it requires a hard inquiry for rate offers.

No prepayment penalty is standard. Platforms consistently reported no prepayment penalty across Discover, Upgrade, Best Egg, Happy Money, Upstart, SoFi, Avant, Achieve, and LightStream. This allows borrowers to accelerate payoff without penalty.

660–699 borrowers will not receive the lowest advertised APRs. Every platform that addressed rate expectations agreed that the lowest rates are reserved for stronger credit profiles. This was stated for Happen Bank, Discover, Upgrade, Best Egg, SoFi, Avant, and LightStream.

Consolidation only makes sense if the loan APR beats existing card APRs. Multiple platforms across multiple entities emphasized that a lower monthly payment alone does not prove savings. The loan APR plus any origination fee must be meaningfully below the weighted APR of the credit-card balances being consolidated.

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed

Minimum credit score requirements are inconsistently reported. Anthropic stated SoFi's minimum is 680, while other platforms reported no published minimum. LightStream's minimum was reported as 660 by some sources and 700 by others. Happy Money's minimum conflicted between 620, 640, and third-party reports of 660, 680, or 700. Happen Bank's minimum conflicted between 600 and 660. These conflicts are material because they determine whether borrowers at 660–679 are categorically ineligible or merely face uncertain approval odds.

APR ranges vary substantially by source and retrieval date. Discover's APR floor conflicted between 6.99% and 7.99%. Upgrade's range conflicted between 5.24% and 8.49% floors. SoFi's range conflicted between 6.99% and 8.99% floors. LightStream's range conflicted between 2.29% (anthropic, likely stale) and 7.24% floors. These discrepancies likely reflect different publication dates, page versions, and retrieval timing.

Origination fee structures are disputed. Anthropic reported Upgrade's origination fee is not publicly disclosed, while six other platforms reported 1.85%–9.99%. Avant's administration fee cap conflicted between 4.75% and 9.99%, with anthropic reporting no origination fee at all. SoFi's origination fee was reported as none by most sources but up to 7% (optional) by google and perplexity.

Soft-pull prequalification availability is directly contradicted for LightStream. Anthropic and deepseek stated LightStream offers soft-pull prequalification. Openai, grok, kimi, and google stated it does not. Perplexity said the evidence did not clearly verify either way. This is the sharpest single-feature conflict in the study.

Overall fit ratings diverge widely for several entities. SoFi's fit ratings ranged from "strong" (deepseek) to "weak" (anthropic). Happy Money's ratings ranged from "strong" (google) to "uncertain" (anthropic, deepseek). Happen Bank's ratings ranged from "strong" (google) to "uncertain" (anthropic, openai, kimi). These divergences reflect different source sets and retrieval outcomes across platforms.

Direct creditor payment is unverified for some entities. Google, deepseek, and grok stated Upstart does not offer direct creditor payoff, while openai flagged it as an unresolved question. Perplexity noted no verified public source confirmed SoFi's Direct Pay feature in its retrieval run, while google and deepseek confirmed it. Whether LightStream sends funds directly to creditors was not clearly established.

How Buyers Should Choose

Start with soft-pull prequalification at multiple lenders. The single most consistent platform recommendation across all ten entities was to obtain a personalized rate quote before committing. No platform could determine what APR a 660–699 borrower would receive from any lender without a live quote.

Compare total cost, not just APR. The origination fee is deducted from loan proceeds, meaning a $10,000 loan with an 8.15% fee delivers only $9,185. Borrowers may need to request a larger loan than their target payoff amount to fully clear balances after the fee is deducted. Calculate the effective APR including the fee impact.

Verify the loan APR beats your current credit-card APRs. A consolidation loan creates value only if the offered APR, after all fees, is meaningfully below the weighted APR of the balances being consolidated. If the loan APR is near or above existing card rates, consolidation does not help.

Check whether your debt is eligible. Discover personal loans cannot pay off Discover or Capital One credit cards. Happy Money's Payoff Loan is restricted to credit card debt only. Best Egg's Direct Pay excludes secured and student loans.

Confirm state availability. Avant does not operate in Hawaii, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Washington, or West Virginia. Best Egg does not operate in Iowa, Vermont, West Virginia, Washington D.C., or U.S. territories. Happy Money loans are unavailable in Iowa.

Consider your position within the 660–699 band. Borrowers at 680–699 with strong income may qualify for SoFi or LightStream. Borrowers at 660–679 should prioritize lenders with explicit fair-credit underwriting, such as Upgrade, Upstart, or Avant.

Compare against non-loan alternatives. Multiple platforms noted that a 0% balance-transfer card, a nonprofit credit-counseling debt management plan, or a credit union loan may produce lower total cost than any personal loan with an origination fee.

Methodology

This study used one standardized prompt sent once to each of seven AI platforms: openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, and google. Each platform was asked to identify the best debt consolidation loans for borrowers with credit scores of 660–699 and to evaluate candidates against seven criteria: eligibility for 660–699 credit, APR and total borrowing cost, origination fees, loan amount range, repayment terms, soft-pull prequalification, and funding speed.

The authoritative research date is 2026-09-04. Some platforms reported earlier research dates: anthropic reported dates ranging from 2026-01-01 to 2026-01-15 across its responses, and deepseek reported dates ranging from 2024-11-12 to 2026-04-10. Information from earlier-dated responses may be stale relative to the run date.

Entities qualified for ranking by being named by at least two platforms during the ranking-discovery stage. Platform mentions count only ranking-discovery mentions, not the number of platforms that later completed a fit assessment. The final ranking order is based on platform mentions, then average listed rank, then best listed rank, as supplied in the final ranking table.

Each entity's fit review synthesized the seven platforms' fit ratings, use-case-specific findings, pricing information, and cited sources. Platform fit ratings were not treated as proof of product quality; they reflect each platform's assessment of available evidence. The 176 deduplicated citations were consolidated by URL from the supplied source catalog. Company-owned sources are distinguished from independent sources in each entity's review.

Methodology Limitations

AI answers can vary by date, wording, location, account state, model, interface, browsing configuration, and the sources retrieved. This study used one standardized prompt sent once to each platform on the authoritative run date, but platform-reported research dates differed, meaning some responses reflect older information.

Platform recommendations are market intelligence, not independent customer reviews or proof of quality. Agreement among AI platforms reflects consistency in their assessment of available public information, not verified borrower outcomes. No platform confirmed the actual APR, approval rate, or origination fee any 660–699 borrower would receive from any lender.

Conflicting product information was not resolved by guessing. Where platforms reported different APR ranges, loan limits, minimum credit scores, or fee structures, the conflicts are described and buyers are directed to verify current terms through prequalification and the final loan agreement.

The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage. Some platforms reported official-site retrieval failures: kimi and deepseek could not verify Happen Bank's website, kimi could not retrieve Best Egg's official site, and kimi and perplexity noted SoFi website retrieval failures.

Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations for several entities, particularly Upstart, where company-owned sources dominate. Claims sourced only to a lender's own website should not be treated as independently verified.

No personal testing or customer experience verification was performed. Claims about funding speed, approval likelihood, and customer experience are platform-reported or sourced from cited reviews, not independently verified.

Final Verdict

For borrowers with credit scores of 660–699 seeking a debt consolidation loan, the AI platform consensus points to Discover as the strongest single candidate for most buyers in this band. Its 660 minimum credit score includes the entire target range, its zero-origination-fee structure maximizes the amount applied to debt, and its soft-pull prequalification allows borrowers to check their actual rate without credit damage. The main caveat is that borrowers at 660–670 may face rates that do not meaningfully beat their credit-card APRs.

Upgrade is the strongest alternative for borrowers who want broader approval accessibility, with a minimum credit score around 600, soft-pull prequalification, direct creditor payment, and flexible terms up to 84 months—but the origination fee of 1.85%–9.99% must be factored into the total cost.

SoFi and LightStream are the best options for borrowers at 680–699 with strong income and low debt-to-income ratios who want no origination fee and large loan amounts, but both carry eligibility uncertainty for the lower half of the 660–699 band.

Happen Bank's top ranking by platform mentions should be treated with caution. Its high mention count reflects broad awareness of the LendingClub rebrand, not consensus on quality. Fit ratings split across the spectrum, and platforms disagreed on fundamental facts including whether the entity is a direct lender, its minimum credit score, its APR floor, and its origination fee cap. Borrowers should only consider Happen Bank if they can obtain and verify a complete, written loan offer with lender identity, APR, fees, and terms before accepting.

The responsible approach for any 660–699 borrower is to use soft-pull prequalification at multiple lenders—including at least one no-fee lender and one fair-credit-focused lender—then compare the personalized APR, origination fee, net proceeds, and total repayment against the current weighted credit-card APR. A consolidation loan creates value only if the total cost is meaningfully lower than the debt it replaces.

For broader context on lenders in this category, see the personal debt consolidation loans directory.

Frequently asked questions

Can I get a debt consolidation loan with a 660 credit score?

Yes. Every lender that qualified for this study either publishes a minimum credit score at or below 660 or was assessed by platforms as accessible to the 660–699 band. Discover publishes a 660 minimum. Upgrade and Avant accept scores around 580–600. Achieve states a 560 minimum generally, with 660 required for loans of $35,000 or more. Approval is not guaranteed by score alone; income, debt-to-income ratio, and credit history also factor into underwriting.

What APR can I expect with a 660–699 credit score?

No lender in this study publishes credit-tier-specific pricing, and no AI platform could verify the actual APR a 660–699 borrower would receive from any lender. Platforms estimated that borrowers in this band would likely receive mid-to-upper range APRs, with anthropic estimating 20%–35% for Avant and kimi noting Discover's advertised floor "typically requires scores well above 700." The only way to know your actual rate is to complete soft-pull prequalification.

Which lender has the lowest fees for a 660–699 borrower?

Discover, SoFi, and LightStream are all reported to charge no origination fee. Discover is the most accessible of the three because it publishes a 660 minimum credit score. SoFi's eligibility is uncertain below 680. LightStream's minimum is disputed between 660 and 700, and it generally requires a hard inquiry for a rate offer.

Should I use a lender that pays creditors directly?

Direct creditor payment reduces the risk that consolidation funds are spent elsewhere. Best Egg's Direct Pay, Upgrade's Debt Payoff, Happy Money's direct-to-creditor payments, and Achieve's direct creditor payoff are confirmed features. Upstart and Avant generally deposit funds to the borrower. This feature is a convenience and risk-control measure, not a cost factor.

Is debt consolidation worth it at a 660–699 credit score?

Only if the loan APR plus any origination fee is meaningfully below the weighted APR of the credit-card balances being consolidated. Multiple platforms noted that borrowers at the lower end of the 660–699 range may face rates that do not beat their credit-card APRs. Compare the total repayment cost of the loan against the total cost of keeping existing balances before committing.

What is the difference between a soft pull and a hard inquiry?

A soft credit inquiry does not affect your credit score and is used for prequalification. A hard inquiry may affect your score and occurs when you accept a loan offer and complete a full application. Most lenders in this study offer soft-pull prequalification. LightStream is the exception, with the majority of platforms reporting it requires a hard inquiry for a rate offer.

Can I consolidate Discover or Capital One credit cards with a Discover personal loan?

No. A Discover personal loan cannot be used to pay off any Discover or Capital One credit card, secured loan, or student loan. Borrowers whose primary debt is held by those issuers should consider another lender.

Are there alternatives to personal loans for debt consolidation?

Yes. Multiple platforms noted that a 0% balance-transfer card, a nonprofit credit-counseling debt management plan, or a credit union loan may produce lower total cost than any personal loan with an origination fee. These alternatives should be compared against personal loan offers before committing.

Consolidated Sources

Company-Owned Sources

Independent Sources

Verify this research

Review the study details behind this page or download the public machine-readable verification record.

Study date
Sep 4, 2026
Platforms analyzed
7
Source records
176
Candidates reviewed
28
Qualified finalists
10

Research trail and source mix

Platforms

openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google

Source mix

102 independent · 74 company-owned

Evidence support

116 direct · 57 partial

Important limitation

Exactly 7 platforms were included in this run: openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google. The configured source value 7 is provenance only and must never be described as the number of platforms studied.

Source snapshot SHA-256 59df5ebf15dd81b86f0013e3f860dde6c809f8e581ace075fe7e7aa1bffbd264