Credit Consensus Index.

AI consensus fit review

U.S. Bank for Secured Credit Cards That Graduate to Unsecured Credit Review

Published by Credit Consensus Index Research TeamReviewed by Mark B. Huntley, J.D.

Published Updated

U.S. Bank for Secured Credit Cards That Graduate to Unsecured Credit Review

Answer Capsule

U.S. Bank is a mixed-to-good fit for consumers seeking a secured credit card with a path to unsecured graduation. Six of seven AI platforms named U.S. Bank during the ranking stage, placing it among the most frequently cited issuers for this use case. The strongest reason to consider U.S. Bank is its combination of $0 annual fees, three-bureau reporting, and secured versions of popular rewards cards (Altitude Go Secured and Cash+ Secured) that can graduate to premium unsecured Visa Signature cards with deposit return. The main limitation is the lack of a clearly published, guaranteed graduation timeline: official materials describe review beginning around 12 months, but user reports indicate graduation is discretionary, may require a manual request, and can be delayed significantly—especially for applicants with recent bankruptcies. Buyers who need predictable, automatic graduation with published criteria may find competitors like Discover or Capital One more suitable.

Research Snapshot

MetricValue
Platform mentions in ranking stage6 of 7 platforms
Share of included platform responses85.7%
Average listed rank3.17
Best listed rank2 (Google)
Relevant products/modelsU.S. Bank Secured Visa Card; U.S. Bank Cash+ Secured Visa Card; U.S. Bank Altitude Go Secured Visa Card
Overall use-case fitMixed-to-good (ratings: 1 strong, 3 good, 2 mixed, 1 uncertain)
Research date2026-09-04

Why U.S. Bank Qualified for This Study

U.S. Bank qualified because six of the seven AI platforms (DeepSeek, Google, Grok, Kimi, OpenAI, and Perplexity) independently named the issuer during the ranking stage for best secured credit cards that graduate to unsecured credit. Only one platform (the seventh) did not name U.S. Bank in its ranking output. The platform responses evaluated U.S. Bank's fit across the study's core criteria: graduation policy, review timing, deposit return process, three-bureau reporting, annual fees, APR, and long-term account value.

The Product, Model, Plan, or Service Most Relevant to Secured Cards With Unsecured Graduation

U.S. Bank offers at least three secured credit card products relevant to this use case, and platform responses did not fully agree on which is the primary product:

  • U.S. Bank Secured Visa Card — the base credit-building product, described by OpenAI as the most directly matching product for this use case [1]. It carries a $0 annual fee and reports to the three major credit bureaus [1].
  • U.S. Bank Cash+ Secured Visa Card — a secured version of the Cash+ rewards card, offering up to 5% cash back in selected categories and graduation to the Cash+ Visa Signature [4].
  • U.S. Bank Altitude Go Secured Visa Card — a secured version of the Altitude Go travel card, offering up to 4X points on dining and graduation to the Altitude Go Visa Signature [6].

Platforms disagreed on which product to feature. OpenAI focused exclusively on the base Secured Visa Card [1], while Google, Grok, Anthropic, and Perplexity highlighted the rewards-bearing secured cards as the more attractive options because they preserve rewards after graduation [5]. Kimi noted that the base Secured Visa offers no rewards and that the rewards structure of the Cash+ and Altitude Go secured variants was unclear from available sources [11].

What the AI Platforms Agreed About

Strong agreement: $0 annual fees across secured products

All platforms that reported fee information agreed that U.S. Bank's secured cards carry no annual fee. This was confirmed across the base Secured Visa [12], the Cash+ Secured [13], and the Altitude Go Secured [15]. Perplexity noted that no annual fee improves the economics of holding the card while waiting for graduation [18].

Strong agreement: Three-bureau reporting

Platforms unanimously agreed that U.S. Bank reports secured card activity to all three major credit bureaus—Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion. This finding was supported by both company-owned sources [12] and independent reviews [22]. Kimi confirmed three-bureau reporting as an advantage [25].

Strong agreement: Security deposit range of $300–$5,000

Multiple platforms reported a security deposit range of $300 to $5,000, with the credit limit equal to the deposit amount [15]. Anthropic noted the deposit is held in an FDIC-insured U.S. Bank savings account that earns interest and is not touched while the account remains open and in good standing [26].

Majority agreement: Deposit returned upon graduation

Most platforms agreed that U.S. Bank returns the security deposit upon graduation to an unsecured card. Official U.S. Bank documentation states the deposit is returned within one to two billing cycles after graduation [29]. Perplexity noted the deposit is held in a secured savings account and returned if the account is upgraded or closed [18]. OpenAI confirmed the deposit may be returned when U.S. Bank converts the account to unsecured status, allowing the account to remain open [12].

Majority agreement: Review begins around 12 months

Five platforms reported that U.S. Bank reviews secured accounts for graduation eligibility beginning around 12 months after account opening. This finding is supported by U.S. Bank's own knowledge-base article [29] and was echoed by Perplexity [21] and Google [30]. Kimi reported a broader 6–12 month range [25].

Majority agreement: Graduation is discretionary, not guaranteed

Most platforms cautioned that graduation is not guaranteed even after meeting apparent criteria. OpenAI described the policy as "discretionary rather than a guaranteed graduation promise" [12]. Anthropic noted that official marketing language says "may automatically graduate" but that eligibility depends on subjective factors including payment history and credit reporting [29]. Perplexity stated the graduation path is "plausible but not guaranteed" [21]. DeepSeek found the official website does not clearly state a specific graduation policy or timeline [20].

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain

Automatic vs. manual graduation process

The most significant disagreement concerned whether graduation happens automatically or requires a manual request. U.S. Bank's product pages use language suggesting possible automatic graduation [33], and Google reported that U.S. Bank "automatically reviews secured card accounts starting at 12 months" [37]. However, Anthropic cited user reports from myFICO forums indicating that many cardholders must call customer service to request a graduation review, and that this manual request often triggers a hard credit inquiry [38]. This conflict between marketing language and documented customer experience was flagged as a factual uncertainty by Anthropic.

Graduation timeline variability

Platforms disagreed on how long graduation actually takes. Grok described U.S. Bank as a "strong fit" due to an "explicit 12-month review policy" [39], while Anthropic reported user experiences ranging from 12 months to more than 3 years, with some users denied despite good standing [38]. Kimi reported that graduation "varies; often new account" rather than converting the existing account, potentially causing a temporary FICO score dip and shortening average account age [40]. This directly conflicts with Google's finding that graduation "preserves account history" [37].

APR disclosure

Platforms disagreed on whether U.S. Bank publicly discloses APRs for its secured cards. Anthropic reported that APR information is "completely absent from product pages" and that a policy letter is sent only after approval [42]. Perplexity cited third-party reviews listing variable APRs in the high-20% range [43]. Kimi reported an APR of roughly 25–26% variable, describing it as at the lower end of the secured card range [40]. OpenAI noted the purchase APR is variable and can be high relative to some unsecured cards [45].

Rewards availability on secured products

Platforms disagreed on whether U.S. Bank secured cards offer rewards. Kimi stated that "U.S. Bank secured cards offer no rewards" on the base product [40], while Anthropic, Google, and Perplexity confirmed that the Cash+ Secured and Altitude Go Secured versions do offer rewards—up to 5% cash back and up to 4X points, respectively [33]. The base Secured Visa appears to be a no-rewards credit-building product, while the rewards-bearing secured variants carry the same earning structures as their unsecured counterparts.

Bankruptcy impact

Multiple platforms noted that recent bankruptcies can delay graduation. Anthropic reported an extended hold period of approximately 5 years from discharge for Chapter 7 or Chapter 13 bankruptcies [42]. Google cited user reports of delayed graduation up to 5 years for applicants with bankruptcies [50]. Grok noted that "bankruptcy or other factors may delay or prevent upgrade" [39]. This was a consistent finding across platforms that addressed the issue.

Use-Case-Specific Features and Capabilities

Graduation policy

U.S. Bank's official documentation states that secured accounts may be reviewed for an upgrade to an unsecured card, and that the security deposit is returned if the account qualifies [51]. The Cash+ Secured page states the card "may automatically graduate" to the Cash+ Visa Signature after 12 months of responsible use [53]. The Altitude Go Secured page similarly references possible automatic graduation to the Altitude Go Visa Signature [55]. However, the exact eligibility criteria—including credit score thresholds and payment history standards—are not publicly disclosed [57].

Review timing

U.S. Bank's knowledge-base article states that account review for upgrade eligibility begins after 12 months [57]. If the account is not upgraded at the first review, continued reviews may occur [61]. Kimi reported a broader 6–12 month range based on third-party sources [62]. No platform found evidence of a published, fixed review schedule beyond the 12-month starting point.

Deposit return process

Upon successful graduation, U.S. Bank states the security deposit is returned within one to two billing cycles [57]. The deposit is held in an FDIC-insured U.S. Bank savings account and earns interest while the account is open [63]. If the account is closed with an outstanding balance or charged off, deposit return may be reduced or forfeited to cover the debt [64]. OpenAI noted that a deposit returned after graduation is distinct from a deposit returned after closure, and closure may require payment of the balance before release [51].

Three-bureau reporting

U.S. Bank states it reports card activity to Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion [51]. Independent reviews confirm this practice [67]. This supports the core goal of building credit history across all three major bureaus.

Long-term account value

The strongest long-term value proposition is graduating to a premium rewards card while keeping the account history intact. Google reported that graduated accounts transition directly to the Cash+ Visa Signature or Altitude Go Visa Signature, meaning the customer keeps account history while maintaining a top-tier cash-back or points card [70]. Anthropic confirmed that the rewards structure "remains the same" after graduation [57]. However, OpenAI noted that the base Secured Visa's value is limited if the account never graduates, because it generally does not provide a published graduation timetable or notable ongoing rewards [51].

Pricing, Fees, Contracts, and Ongoing Costs

Known costs

Cost itemAmountSource confidence
Annual fee$0 on all secured productsHigh (multiple platforms)
Security deposit$300–$5,000, refundableHigh (multiple platforms)
Purchase APRVariable; approximately 25–26% per third-party sources; not publicly disclosed on product pagesModerate
Late payment feeUp to $41 (industry standard, not confirmed by U.S. Bank)Low (platform-reported)
Foreign transaction feeApproximately 3% on some versionsLow (platform-reported)

Contract and cancellation terms

The security deposit is held as collateral and is refundable when the account graduates or is closed in good standing [72]. If the account is closed with a balance or charged off, deposit return may be reduced or forfeited [74]. Graduation review begins after 12 months, and continued reviews may occur if the account is not upgraded initially [76]. Upon graduation, the new card terms are provided in a letter within 7–10 days [77].

Pricing confidence and gaps

Pricing confidence is moderate across platforms. The $0 annual fee and $300–$5,000 deposit range are well-documented. However, APR information is not publicly disclosed on U.S. Bank product pages [77], and platforms relied on third-party estimates ranging from approximately 25% to the high-20% range [78]. Late payment fees, foreign transaction fees, and balance transfer fees were not specified in available U.S. Bank documentation and should be verified in the current cardmember agreement [80].

Best Suited For

Based on the platform responses, U.S. Bank secured cards are best suited for:

  • Consumers who want a no-annual-fee secured card from a large national bank with a branch network [81].
  • Applicants without recent bankruptcies who can wait at least 12 months for the first graduation review [84].
  • Consumers who want rewards while building credit and plan to keep the account long term, particularly through the Cash+ Secured (up to 5% cash back) or Altitude Go Secured (up to 4X points on dining) [87].
  • Buyers who want a higher maximum credit limit during the secured phase—the $5,000 deposit ceiling is among the highest available [82].
  • Existing U.S. Bank customers who want to consolidate banking and credit-building relationships [91].
  • Consumers comfortable proactively managing the graduation process, including potentially calling U.S. Bank to request a review after 12 months [92].

Probably Not Best Suited For

Platforms identified several profiles for which U.S. Bank is probably not the best choice:

  • Consumers who require a clearly stated automatic graduation date or transparent graduation criteria—U.S. Bank does not publish objective eligibility thresholds [93].
  • Applicants with recent Chapter 7 or Chapter 13 bankruptcies—reported holds of approximately 5 years from discharge before graduation eligibility [98].
  • Consumers who need faster graduation—competitors like Discover begin automatic graduation reviews at around 7 months [101].
  • Buyers who want to avoid additional hard inquiries—manual graduation requests may trigger hard credit pulls [99].
  • Consumers who may carry a balance—the variable APR is high relative to unsecured cards [97].
  • Buyers who want a low minimum deposit—the $300 minimum is higher than Capital One's variable deposit option starting around $49 [102].

When Another Option May Be Better

Platforms suggested specific alternatives for certain buyer profiles:

  • Faster graduation: Discover it Secured, which begins automatic graduation reviews at approximately 7–8 months [103].
  • Lower entry cost: Capital One Platinum Secured, with a variable deposit starting around $49–$200 [104].
  • Guaranteed automatic graduation: Discover explicitly converts accounts and preserves account age [104].
  • Published graduation policies: Capital One and Discover are more transparent about their review processes [105].
  • No credit check at application: OpenSky options [104].

Questions to Verify Before Buying

Platforms collectively identified the following questions that buyers should verify directly with U.S. Bank before applying:

  1. Is graduation automatic or does it require a manual request? User reports conflict with official marketing language [107].
  2. Will a graduation review request trigger a hard or soft credit inquiry? Customer service representatives have given inconsistent answers [107].
  3. What is the exact APR at account opening, and will it change upon graduation? APR is not publicly disclosed [109].
  4. What specific credit score, payment history, or income criteria are used for graduation eligibility? Criteria are subjective and not published [109].
  5. Does the account remain open with the same account age after graduation, or is a new account opened? Sources conflict on this point [108].
  6. How long does the deposit refund take after graduation? Official sources say 1–2 billing cycles; user experiences may vary [109].
  7. Are the Cash+ Secured and Altitude Go Secured currently accepting new applications? Current availability is unclear [110].
  8. Does having a U.S. Bank checking account improve graduation odds? Users debate this without definitive company confirmation [107].
  9. If graduation is denied, when can the buyer request another review, and will additional reviews trigger hard inquiries? Not publicly documented [107].
  10. What are the current minimum and maximum deposits, credit limits, and all applicable fees? Terms can change [113].

Final AI Consensus Verdict

The AI platform consensus is that U.S. Bank is a mixed-to-good fit for consumers seeking a secured credit card with a path to unsecured graduation—not a top-tier choice, but a viable one for the right buyer. The issuer's core strengths are well-documented: $0 annual fees across its secured products, three-bureau reporting, a $300–$5,000 deposit range, and secured versions of popular rewards cards that can graduate to premium unsecured Visa Signature cards with deposit return. U.S. Bank's own documentation states that account review begins around 12 months and that the deposit is returned within one to two billing cycles upon graduation.

The central weakness is predictability. U.S. Bank does not publish objective graduation criteria, does not guarantee automatic graduation, and user reports indicate the process can require a manual request, trigger hard inquiries, and take anywhere from 12 months to more than 3 years. Applicants with recent bankruptcies face reported holds of approximately 5 years. For buyers who value a large national issuer, no annual fee, and rewards continuity after graduation—and who are comfortable managing an issuer-controlled process—U.S. Bank is a reasonable choice. For buyers who need a published, predictable, and automatic path to unsecured credit, competitors like Discover or Capital One may be better fits.

For a broader comparison of issuers in this category, see the Secured Cards With Unsecured Graduation consensus index. You can also explore other options in the credit building rebuilding category directory.

How This Review Was Produced

This review was produced by aggregating fit-research responses from seven AI platforms: Anthropic, DeepSeek, Google, Grok, Kimi, OpenAI, and Perplexity. Each platform independently evaluated U.S. Bank against the study's core criteria for secured cards with unsecured graduation: graduation policy, review timing, deposit return process, three-bureau reporting, annual fees, APR, and long-term account value. Platform responses were collected with their source citations, which were then deduplicated and cataloged. The authoritative research date for this study is September 4, 2026.

Platform fit ratings varied: Grok rated U.S. Bank a "strong" fit; Anthropic, Google, and Perplexity rated it "good"; Kimi and OpenAI rated it "mixed"; and DeepSeek rated it "uncertain." The average listed rank across platforms that named U.S. Bank in the ranking stage was 3.17, with a best rank of 2.

Methodology Limitations

Several limitations should be noted when interpreting this review:

  • Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date. Anthropic's response is dated November 19, 2025, and DeepSeek's is dated October 4, 2025, while the authoritative research date is September 4, 2026. These date discrepancies mean some platform responses may reflect older product information.
  • The supplied official website for U.S. Bank is incorrect. The entity record lists Bank of America's website (bankofamerica.com) as U.S. Bank's official website [114]. This is a data error that should be corrected; it does not affect the product-level findings, which cite U.S. Bank's actual domains.
  • Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations. Of the 23 deduplicated sources, 12 are company-owned (U.S. Bank or Bank of America domains) and 11 are independent. Company claims about graduation policies, deposit return, and bureau reporting should not be treated as independently verified.
  • The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage. Some URLs are Google grounding-api redirect links rather than direct source URLs.
  • Platforms disagreed on material facts, including whether graduation is automatic or manual, whether account history is preserved after graduation, and whether rewards are available on secured products. These conflicts are described in the report rather than resolved by guessing.
  • AI-platform agreement does not prove product quality. This review describes what the platforms reported; it does not constitute independent testing or verification of U.S. Bank's graduation practices.
  • No platform reported personal testing or direct customer experience with U.S. Bank's graduation process. User-experience claims are drawn from third-party forum posts and reviews cited by the platforms.

Explore more credit building rebuilding guidance in the category directory.

Sources

Company-Owned Sources

Independent Sources

Verify this research

Review the study details behind this page or download the public machine-readable verification record.

Study date
Sep 4, 2026
Platforms analyzed
7
Source records
23
Ranking mentions
6 of 7
Platform share
86%
Final consensus rank
#3

Research trail and source mix

Platforms

openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google

Source mix

11 independent · 12 company-owned

Evidence support

18 direct · 5 partial

Important limitation

Use the run research_date as the study date. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

Source snapshot SHA-256 43d211e54c80b7a9da3bf040bb5286046a6608714e5d148f5e6ad973fd161d6d