Credit Consensus Index.

AI consensus fit review

OpenSky for Secured Credit Cards With Low Security Deposits Review

OpenSky is a good but contested fit for consumers seeking Low-Deposit Secured Credit Cards, according to the AI platforms that evaluated it. Six of seven platforms named OpenSky during the ranking stage, and fit ratings split across the spectrum: two rated it "strong," two "good," two "mixed," and one.

Published by Credit Consensus Index Research TeamReviewed by Mark B. Huntley, J.D.

Published Updated

OpenSky for Secured Credit Cards With Low Security Deposits Review

Answer Capsule

OpenSky is a good but contested fit for consumers seeking Low-Deposit Secured Credit Cards, according to the AI platforms that evaluated it. Six of seven platforms named OpenSky during the ranking stage, and fit ratings split across the spectrum: two rated it "strong," two "good," two "mixed," and one "weak." The strongest reason to consider OpenSky is its approval accessibility—no traditional credit check and no bank account required—combined with a relatively low $200 minimum deposit on the standard card and monthly reporting to all three major credit bureaus. The main limitation is cost structure: the $35 annual fee on the standard card, monthly fees on the lowest-deposit Launch tier, and unclear graduation terms make cheaper or more transparent alternatives attractive for buyers who qualify elsewhere.

Research Snapshot

MetricValue
Platform mentions in ranking stage6 of 7 platforms
Share of included platform responses86%
Average listed rank4.33
Best listed rank1 (anthropic)
Relevant product/model/planOpenSky Secured Visa Credit Card (also Launch and Plus variants)
Overall use-case fitGood, with mixed-to-weak dissent
Research date2026-09-04

Why OpenSky Qualified for This Study

OpenSky qualified because six of the seven configured AI platforms named it during the ranking stage for best secured credit cards with low security deposits. The platforms that named OpenSky were anthropic, deepseek, grok, kimi, openai, and perplexity. Only one platform did not mention it in ranking discovery. OpenSky's average listed rank was 4.33, with a best rank of 1 from anthropic and a worst rank of 7 from kimi. The product most frequently cited as relevant was the OpenSky Secured Visa Credit Card, though deepseek named the OpenSky Plus Secured Visa Credit Card and google/grok identified the full tiered lineup including the Launch Secured Visa [1].

The Product, Model, Plan, or Service Most Relevant to Low-Deposit Secured Credit Cards

The OpenSky Secured Visa Credit Card is the most relevant product for the low-deposit use case because it carries the $200 minimum deposit that most platforms cited as the entry point [4]. OpenSky also offers two adjacent products that matter for deposit-sensitive buyers:

  • OpenSky Launch Secured Visa: minimum deposit of $150, no annual fee, but a monthly fee of $2 for the first year and $3 per month thereafter [8].
  • OpenSky Plus Secured Visa: advertised with a $0 annual fee but a higher deposit requirement of $300 in most sources [11].

The standard OpenSky Secured Visa is the product most platforms evaluated for the lowest-entry-deposit use case, and it is the one this review centers on.

What the AI Platforms Agreed About

Strong agreement: OpenSky offers a low minimum deposit. Five platforms independently cited a $200 minimum security deposit for the standard OpenSky Secured Visa [14]. Google and grok added that the Launch tier drops to $150 [19]. This positions OpenSky below many competitors that require $300 or $500 deposits [16].

Strong agreement: No traditional credit check. Four platforms reported that OpenSky does not require a traditional credit check for approval [22]. OpenSky states it evaluates applicants based on income and identity verification rather than credit score [22]. Google reported issuer claims of average approval rates between 86% and 89% [25].

Strong agreement: Three-bureau reporting. Four platforms stated that OpenSky reports account activity to Experian, Equifax, and TransUnion [14]. One platform, perplexity, noted that three-bureau reporting was not clearly verified in its gathered sources [27].

Strong agreement: No bank account required. Three platforms highlighted that OpenSky does not require a traditional bank account and allows funding via money order or wire transfer [23]. This is a distinctive advantage for unbanked or underbanked applicants.

Majority agreement: A $35 annual fee applies to the standard card. Four platforms cited a $35 annual fee on the standard OpenSky Secured Visa [14]. Google and perplexity confirmed this for the standard card while noting the Plus variant has no annual fee [30].

Majority agreement: Credit limit equals the deposit. Four platforms reported that the initial credit limit equals the security deposit amount, with a range of $200 to $3,000 [15].

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain

Fit rating split. Fit ratings ranged from "strong" (deepseek, google) to "good" (anthropic, openai) to "mixed" (grok, perplexity) to "weak" (kimi). This is not a unanimous endorsement. Kimi was the most critical, arguing that OpenSky's $200 minimum deposit "fails the core 'low deposit' criterion when competitors offer $49-$99 entry points" [31].

Graduation potential is genuinely disputed. Google reported that OpenSky introduced a pathway allowing cardholders to graduate to the unsecured OpenSky Gold Visa in as little as 6 months, with credit limit increases evaluated without additional deposits starting at 6 months [34]. Anthropic, by contrast, said no published timeline or explicit criteria exist and that the deposit remains held indefinitely unless the customer requests closure [38]. Kimi stated flatly that OpenSky "does not offer a pathway to graduate" [31]. Perplexity described graduation as "possible but not guaranteed" [40]. This is a material conflict buyers must resolve with the issuer.

The Plus Secured deposit amount conflicts across sources. One OpenSky page snippet showed a $0 minimum deposit for the Plus Secured Visa, while other OpenSky pages and independent coverage showed $300 [40]. Google's sources consistently showed $300 [43].

APR figures vary by platform and date. Reported APRs include 19.99% [38], 22.65% variable as of early 2025 [44], 23.89% variable [31], and 28.24% variable for Launch and Plus tiers [46]. These differences reflect both product-tier differences and pricing changes over time. The current issuer disclosure should control.

Deposit return timing is not transparent. Anthropic noted customer reports of 5-10 business day return timelines but no published official policy [47]. No platform identified a guaranteed deposit-refund SLA.

Inactivity fees are referenced but undisclosed. Anthropic flagged that OpenSky's website references inactivity fees but does not disclose the amount or trigger period, with unconfirmed customer reports of possible $25-$50 annual charges [38].

Use-Case-Specific Features and Capabilities

Minimum security deposit. The standard OpenSky Secured Visa requires a $200 minimum deposit [48]. The Launch tier drops to $150 [52]. The Plus tier requires $300 [55]. Deposits are refundable when the account is closed in good standing with a zero balance [56].

Three-bureau reporting. OpenSky reports monthly to Experian, Equifax, and TransUnion on all three secured card tiers [48]. This supports credit-building but does not guarantee score improvement, which depends on payment history and other factors [48].

Approval accessibility. OpenSky does not run a traditional credit check and does not require a bank account [60]. Applicants can fund deposits and pay bills via money order or wire transfer [62]. The issuer claims average approval rates of 86% to 89% [63].

Credit-limit policy. The credit limit equals the security deposit, ranging from $200 to $3,000 on the standard card [49]. Google reported that cardholders can be evaluated for credit limit increases without additional deposits starting at 6 months [64]. A small deposit produces a small credit limit unless the buyer commits additional cash [48].

Graduation potential. Google's sources describe a pathway to the unsecured OpenSky Gold Visa in as little as 6 months, with cardholders evaluated for line increases starting at 6 months [64]. Anthropic and kimi dispute whether a meaningful, published pathway exists [67]. Reddit user feedback suggests actual transition timelines vary, and the Gold card may carry its own annual fee (e.g., $59) [68].

No rewards program. OpenSky cards do not offer standard flat-rate cash back or points rewards [49]. Google noted earnings are limited to merchant-specific linked offers [63].

Pricing, Fees, Contracts, and Ongoing Costs

Pricing confidence is moderate across platforms, with material conflicts between sources and dates.

Cost ItemStandard Secured VisaLaunch Secured VisaPlus Secured Visa
Minimum deposit$200 [69]$150 [71]$300 [73]; one source shows $0 [74]
Annual fee$35 [69]$0 [71]$0 [77]
Monthly feeNone reported$2/month year 1, $3/month thereafter [71]None reported
Purchase APR19.99%-23.89% variable depending on source [70]28.24% variable [71]28.24% variable [71]
Foreign transaction fee3% [70]Not separately reportedNot separately reported
Late payment feeUp to $38 [80]Not separately reportedNot separately reported
Returned payment feeUp to $25 [80]Not separately reportedNot separately reported
Cash advance fee5% of amount, minimum $6 [80]Not separately reportedNot separately reported
Inactivity feeReferenced but amount undisclosed [70]Not separately reportedNot separately reported

Contract and cancellation terms. The security deposit is not a prepaid spending balance and may remain unavailable while the account is open [69]. The deposit is refundable when the account is closed in good standing with the balance paid to $0 [77]. No published minimum account tenure exists [70]. No platform verified a guaranteed deposit-return SLA; customer reports range from 5 to 14 business days [81].

Annual fee as a percentage of deposit. The $35 annual fee represents 17.5% of a $200 minimum deposit, which anthropic flagged as a meaningful cost for low-deposit users [70].

Best Suited For

OpenSky is best suited for consumers who:

  • Have limited cash and can fund approximately a $200 minimum deposit [82]
  • Have poor, limited, or no credit history and want to avoid a hard credit inquiry [85]
  • Do not have a traditional bank account and need to fund via money order or wire transfer [86]
  • Prioritize approval accessibility over rewards or the lowest possible fees [82]
  • Want issuer-reported activity to Experian, Equifax, and TransUnion [82]

Probably Not Best Suited For

OpenSky is probably not the best fit for consumers who:

  • Need the absolute lowest possible security deposit, since competitors like Capital One Platinum Secured offer deposits as low as $49 or $99 for a $200 credit line [89]
  • Want a no-annual-fee card at the $200 deposit level, since the standard card carries a $35 annual fee while competitors like Discover it Secured charge $0 [89]
  • Want a clearly documented, guaranteed automatic graduation path to an unsecured card [92]
  • Plan to carry a balance and need a low APR, since reported APRs range from 19.99% to 28.24% depending on tier and source [93]
  • Want rewards or cash back, which OpenSky does not offer [93]

When Another Option May Be Better

Several platforms identified specific alternatives that may serve certain buyers better:

  • Capital One Platinum Secured may be better for buyers with a bank account who can qualify for a $200 credit line with a deposit as low as $49 or $99, with a $0 annual fee and possible graduation [95].
  • Discover it Secured may be better for buyers who have $200 and want a $0 annual fee, 1% unlimited cash back, and an automatic graduation review [96].
  • DCU Visa Platinum Secured may be better for credit-union-eligible buyers seeking a lower APR of 15.25% with no annual fee [99].
  • Capital One or Discover secured cards may be better for buyers who prioritize a clear upgrade path to an unsecured card [98].

Questions to Verify Before Buying

Before applying, buyers should confirm the following with the current OpenSky application disclosures and cardholder agreement:

  1. What is the exact minimum deposit and maximum credit limit for the specific card being offered today—$150, $200, or $300? [100]
  2. What is the current purchase APR, and is it variable? Reported figures range from 19.99% to 28.24% depending on tier and source date [102].
  3. Does the exact product carry an annual fee ($35 on standard), a monthly fee ($2-$3 on Launch), or no recurring fee (Plus)? [104]
  4. Does OpenSky report to Experian, Equifax, and TransUnion for the exact product being applied for? [100]
  5. Is there any automatic or periodic review for unsecured graduation, and can the deposit be released without closing the account? [106]
  6. How and when is the deposit returned after closure, and what happens if there are pending transactions? [108]
  7. What are the current inactivity fee amount and trigger period? [102]
  8. What are the current late-payment, returned-payment, cash-advance, and foreign-transaction fees? [110]
  9. Are there income, identity, residency, or bank-account requirements despite the no-traditional-credit-check marketing? [109]
  10. If graduating to the OpenSky Gold unsecured card, will the deposit be immediately returned, and what annual fee applies to the upgraded card? [111]

Final AI Consensus Verdict

The AI platforms reached a qualified consensus that OpenSky is a reasonable but not clearly best choice for low-deposit secured credit card buyers. The strongest case for OpenSky rests on three features: a $200 minimum deposit on the standard card (with a $150 Launch option), no traditional credit check, and no bank account requirement [112]. These features make OpenSky genuinely accessible to consumers who might be excluded from bank-issued secured cards.

The case against OpenSky is equally clear. The $35 annual fee on the standard card erodes value at the $200 deposit level, the lowest-deposit Launch tier carries monthly fees that exceed the standard card's annual fee by year two, reported APRs are high, and graduation terms are disputed across sources [113]. Kimi's assessment that OpenSky serves "approval accessibility, not the constrained-cash/low-deposit priority" captures the central tension [117].

For buyers whose primary constraint is minimal upfront cash and who cannot qualify for bank-issued alternatives, OpenSky is a defensible choice. For buyers who can qualify for Capital One Platinum Secured at a $49-$99 deposit or Discover it Secured at $200 with no annual fee and clearer graduation terms, those alternatives likely serve the low-deposit use case better [117]. Buyers should verify current terms directly with OpenSky before applying, given the material conflicts in deposit amounts, APRs, fees, and graduation policy across sources and dates.

For a broader comparison of the best options in this category, see the Low-Deposit Secured Credit Cards consensus index. You can also explore other options within the credit building rebuilding category directory.

How This Review Was Produced

This review synthesizes fit-research responses from seven AI platforms—anthropic, deepseek, google, grok, kimi, openai, and perplexity—each of which evaluated OpenSky against the use case of low-deposit secured credit cards. The authoritative research date for this study is 2026-09-04. Platform responses drew on company-owned sources (OpenSky product pages, FAQs, and application disclosures) and independent sources (NerdWallet, Bankrate, CNET, The Points Guy, WalletHub, Experian, US News, Credit Karma, and the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau). Each platform's fit rating, cited facts, and identified limitations were recorded and compared. This review does not claim that AI-platform agreement proves product quality; it reports what the platforms found and where they conflicted.

Methodology Limitations

Several limitations apply to this review:

  • Platform research dates differ. Anthropic's response is dated 2026-01-15 and deepseek's is dated 2025-07-10, while the other five platforms and the authoritative run date are 2026-09-04. Pricing and terms may have changed between these dates.
  • Conflicting product data could not be resolved. The Plus Secured Visa deposit appears as $0 in one OpenSky snippet and $300 in others. APR figures range from 19.99% to 28.24% across sources and dates. This review describes the conflicts rather than guessing at current terms.
  • Supplied URLs were not independently validated. The URLs cited in this review were collected from platform responses and were not verified by the writer stage.
  • Three-bureau reporting was not verified by every platform. Perplexity explicitly noted that its gathered sources did not clearly confirm three-bureau reporting.
  • Graduation policy is disputed. Google's sources describe a 6-month graduation pathway; anthropic and kimi found no published criteria or timeline. This conflict is material and unresolved.
  • Official-site retrieval failed for one or more mentions. No failed fetch was used as a verified domain key.
  • No personal testing occurred. This review does not reflect firsthand cardholder experience, and no platform's customer-experience claims were independently verified.

Sources

Company-Owned Sources

Independent Sources

Verify this research

Review the study details behind this page or download the public machine-readable verification record.

Study date
Sep 4, 2026
Platforms analyzed
7
Source records
29
Ranking mentions
6 of 7
Platform share
86%
Final consensus rank
#4

Research trail and source mix

Platforms

openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google

Source mix

16 independent · 13 company-owned

Evidence support

25 direct · 3 partial

Important limitation

Use the run research_date as the study date. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

Source snapshot SHA-256 9f32077ab172f45081d079b35626aaba405f8de6b65f454784da07dfed659127