Credit Consensus Index.

AI consensus fit review

Discover for Secured Credit Cards With Low Security Deposits Review

Published by Credit Consensus Index Research TeamReviewed by Mark B. Huntley, J.D.

Published Updated

Discover for Secured Credit Cards With Low Security Deposits Review

Answer Capsule

Discover is a conditional fit for consumers seeking Low-Deposit Secured Credit Cards. All 7 AI platforms named Discover it Secured during the ranking stage, giving it a 100% platform mention share with an average listed rank of 3.86 and a best rank of 1. The strongest reason to consider Discover it Secured is its combination of a $200 minimum refundable deposit, $0 annual fee, cash-back rewards, and three-bureau reporting—features rarely bundled on secured cards. The main limitation is availability: Google reported that Discover paused new applications for this card on June 2, 2026, following its acquisition by Capital One, making it unavailable for immediate applicants as of the September 4, 2026 research date. Fit ratings split across platforms: 2 strong, 2 good, 2 mixed, and 1 weak.

Research Snapshot

MetricValue
Platform mentions in ranking stage7 of 7 platforms (100%)
Share of included platform responses7 of 7 fit assessments (100%)
Average listed rank3.86
Best listed rank1 (DeepSeek)
Worst listed rank7 (Google)
Relevant product/model/planDiscover it® Secured Cash Back Credit Card
Overall use-case fitConditional good fit; availability uncertain
Research date2026-09-04

Why Discover Qualified for This Study

Discover it Secured met the category criteria for low-deposit secured credit cards across multiple platforms. The card's $200 minimum security deposit was cited by all 7 platforms as its defining entry point [1]. The product also qualified on three-bureau reporting, no annual fee, graduation potential, and credit-limit policy tied to the deposit. Seven platforms named Discover in the ranking stage, exceeding the minimum-mentions threshold of 2.

The Product, Model, Plan, or Service Most Relevant to Low-Deposit Secured Credit Cards

The relevant product is the Discover it® Secured Cash Back Credit Card (also referenced as Discover it Secured Credit Card). Platforms used slightly different product names, but all referred to the same secured card product [8]. The card requires a refundable security deposit of at least $200, which establishes the initial credit line up to a $2,500 maximum [10].

What the AI Platforms Agreed About

Minimum Deposit of $200

All 7 platforms agreed that Discover it Secured requires a minimum $200 refundable security deposit [16]. Perplexity noted that Discover's cardmember agreement states the minimum deposit "will not be less than $200" [23]. The deposit generally determines the starting credit limit, meaning a $200 deposit yields a $200 credit line [24].

No Annual Fee

All 7 platforms confirmed the card charges no annual fee [16]. This was cited as a key advantage for budget-constrained credit rebuilders because it removes ongoing carrying costs.

Three-Bureau Credit Reporting

Six platforms reported that Discover reports account activity to all three major credit bureaus—Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion [16]. Perplexity flagged that its cited sources did not explicitly confirm three-bureau reporting in the quoted text, marking that criterion as "unclear" rather than confirmed [20].

Cash-Back Rewards Are Unusual for a Secured Card

Six platforms highlighted the rewards structure as a differentiator: 2% cash back at gas stations and restaurants on up to $1,000 in combined purchases per quarter, then 1%, plus 1% on all other purchases [24]. Discover also advertises a first-year Cashback Match [16]. Platforms noted rewards are uncommon on secured cards and add tangible value during the rebuilding phase.

High Variable APR

All platforms that addressed APR agreed the rate is high and potentially costly for carried balances. Reported figures varied: DeepSeek cited 28.24%–29.24% as of 2025 [18]; Perplexity cited 27.24% for purchases and balance transfers and 29.24% for cash advances from the cited agreement [23]; Kimi and Google cited 26.49% variable purchase APR [25]; Grok cited 26.49% [19]. Platforms consistently advised paying balances in full each month.

Graduation Potential Exists but Is Not Guaranteed

All 7 platforms acknowledged graduation potential—the possibility of the account converting to unsecured status with deposit return—but none described it as guaranteed [16]. Google reported automatic monthly reviews starting at month 7 [22], while Kimi reported that the 7-month automatic review policy is being discontinued [25]. DeepSeek said reviews may begin at 8 months [18].

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed or Were Uncertain

Application Availability: The Critical Conflict

The most significant disagreement concerns whether new applications are currently being accepted. Google reported that Discover paused all new applications for the Discover it Secured card on June 2, 2026, following its acquisition by Capital One, with the card unavailable for new applicants as of late 2026 [30]. Grok noted "conflicting reports on whether new applications are accepted" and flagged that some 2026 reviews mention a product pause [33]. The other 5 platforms did not mention an application pause and evaluated the card as currently available. This conflict is unresolved in the supplied evidence and must be verified directly with Discover before applying.

Minimum Deposit: $200 vs. Lower Options

Grok reported a deposit "as low as $49 (or $99/$200) based on creditworthiness" [33], while the other 6 platforms consistently stated the minimum is $200. Google explicitly addressed this conflict, noting that some third-party search indexes mistakenly merge Capital One and Discover details, and that the $49 deposit option is a feature of Capital One's Platinum Secured card, not Discover it Secured [30]. The preponderance of evidence supports a $200 minimum for Discover, but the conflict should be verified.

Graduation Timeline

Platforms disagreed on graduation timing. Google reported automatic monthly reviews starting at month 7 [30]. DeepSeek said reviews may begin at 8 months [35]. Kimi reported the 7-month automatic review is being discontinued, with the exact effective date and replacement policy timing unclear [36]. Anthropic noted graduation criteria are not publicly specified and it is unclear whether graduation is automatic or discretionary [37]. Openai said graduation is not guaranteed and timing can vary [39].

APR Figures

Platforms cited different APR figures: 26.49% [36], 27.24% for purchases [40], and 28.24%–29.24% [35]. Anthropic noted the exact APR range is not publicly disclosed and marketing materials only state "variable" [37]. These differences likely reflect different effective dates of the cited disclosures rather than a true conflict, but buyers should verify the current APR at application.

Fit Ratings

Platform fit ratings split: Anthropic and DeepSeek rated the card a "strong" fit; OpenAI and Perplexity rated it "good"; Grok and Kimi rated it "mixed"; Google rated it "weak" due to the application pause (anthropic, deepseek, openai, perplexity, grok, kimi, google platform responses). The mixed and weak ratings primarily reflect the $200 minimum being higher than competitors offering $49–$99 deposits, and the availability question.

Use-Case-Specific Features and Capabilities

Minimum Security Deposit

The $200 minimum deposit is lower than some secured cards requiring $300 or more but higher than competitors offering $49–$99 entry points [41]. For the target buyer—consumers with limited cash—$200 is accessible but not the lowest available. The deposit is refundable upon account closure in good standing or graduation to an unsecured card [44].

Credit-Limit Policy

The initial credit line equals the deposit amount, ranging from $200 to $2,500 [41]. There is no partial-deposit option that would allow a higher credit line for a lower cash outlay, unlike some competitors [47]. A larger deposit requires more cash and does not by itself guarantee approval or graduation [44].

Approval Accessibility

Discover states "no credit score required to apply," but approval is not guaranteed [41]. Income, identity, debt obligations, banking information, and other underwriting criteria may affect approval [44]. A bank account is required to fund the deposit [47]. Anthropic noted it is unclear whether Discover's approval process explicitly accommodates applicants with no credit history or only those rebuilding existing credit [45].

Rewards Structure

The card earns 2% cash back at gas stations and restaurants on up to $1,000 in combined purchases per quarter, then 1%, and 1% on all other purchases [50]. New cardmembers receive unlimited Cashback Match at the end of the first year [47]. Rewards do not offset interest or late fees for consumers who carry balances [44].

Additional Features

Free FICO credit score monitoring is included [41]. The card has no foreign transaction fee [41]. The first late payment fee is waived, with subsequent late fees up to $41 [52]. There is no penalty APR [51].

Pricing, Fees, Contracts, and Ongoing Costs

Known Costs

Cost ItemAmountSource
Security deposit$200 minimum, up to $2,500 maximum, refundable[53]
Annual fee$0[56]
Purchase APR26.49%–29.24% variable (varies by cited disclosure)[54]
Cash advance APR28.49%–29.24% variable[54]
Balance transfer intro APR10.99% for 6 months[54]
Late payment fee$0 first time, up to $41 thereafter[58]
Returned payment feeUp to $30–$41[61]
Cash advance fee$10 or 5%, whichever is greater[53]
Balance transfer fee3% intro, up to 5% future[54]
Foreign transaction fee$0[53]

Contract and Cancellation Terms

The security deposit is held as collateral and returned when the account is unsecured or closed with the balance paid in full [56]. Kimi reported the deposit refund takes about two billing cycles after closure in good standing [54]. There is no stated fixed-term commitment or early-cancellation penalty in the cited sources [61]. Closing the account can affect available credit, utilization, and credit history [56].

Pricing Confidence

Pricing confidence varies by platform: DeepSeek, Perplexity, Kimi, and Google reported "high" confidence; OpenAI, Anthropic, and Grok reported "moderate" confidence. The APR discrepancies across platforms and the possibility that terms have changed mean buyers should verify the current pricing-and-terms disclosure before applying.

Best Suited For

Discover it Secured is best suited for consumers who can afford the $200 minimum deposit and want a no-annual-fee secured card with rewards and three-bureau reporting [62]. It fits buyers who will pay balances in full each month to avoid the high variable APR [62]. The card also suits applicants who value a potential path to graduation and deposit return, though the timeline is uncertain [67]. Consumers rebuilding from past credit mistakes—rather than those with no credit history at all—may be the best match [63].

Probably Not Best Suited For

Discover it Secured is probably not best for consumers who cannot commit $200 to a security deposit, since competitors offer entry points as low as $49–$99 [69]. It is also a poor fit for buyers needing immediate access to a card, given the reported application pause [72]. Borrowers likely to carry balances should look elsewhere due to the high APR [74]. Applicants with severely damaged credit or no banking history may not qualify [69]. Those seeking guaranteed approval or a guaranteed graduation timeline will not find it here [75].

When Another Option May Be Better

Platforms identified specific alternatives for specific situations. If the buyer cannot meet the $200 minimum, Capital One Platinum Secured may allow deposits of $49, $99, or $200 depending on creditworthiness [77]. If the buyer plans to carry a balance, the DCU Visa Platinum Secured offers a lower variable APR around 15.25% [81]. If the buyer lacks a bank account, OpenSky Secured Visa allows money order funding [81]. If the buyer needs a card immediately while Discover's application pause is in effect, alternatives like Capital One or Chime Credit Builder Visa may serve [80]. If the buyer wants guaranteed approval regardless of credit, OpenSky or a credit-builder loan may be options [77].

Questions to Verify Before Buying

  • Is the Discover it Secured card currently accepting new applications, or is the reported June 2, 2026 pause still in effect? [83]
  • What is the exact minimum deposit for your approval offer—$200, or a lower amount based on creditworthiness? [85]
  • What is the current purchase APR and complete fee schedule in the account-opening disclosure? [87]
  • Does Discover currently report this product to Equifax, Experian, and TransUnion? [90]
  • What is the current graduation policy, and is the 7-month automatic review still active or being discontinued? [91]
  • What deposit amounts and credit-line maximums are currently available? [87]
  • How long does deposit repayment take after graduation or account closure? [87]
  • Is a bank account required to fund the deposit, and can the deposit be funded by other means? [91]
  • Will the Capital One acquisition affect eligibility, terms, or the rewards program? [83]

Final AI Consensus Verdict

The AI platforms agree that Discover it Secured is a well-designed secured credit card with a rare combination of features: a $200 minimum deposit, no annual fee, cash-back rewards, three-bureau reporting, and graduation potential. However, the consensus is that it is a conditional fit for the specific low-deposit use case rather than an unqualified recommendation. Two platforms rated it "strong," two rated it "good," two rated it "mixed," and one rated it "weak." The $200 minimum is not the lowest available, the APR is high for carried balances, and graduation is not guaranteed. The most urgent question—whether new applications are currently being accepted—remains unresolved in the supplied evidence, with Google reporting a pause since June 2, 2026, and other platforms not addressing the issue. Buyers who can afford $200, will pay in full, and can confirm current availability should consider this card. Buyers needing a lower deposit or immediate access should compare alternatives. For a broader view of how Discover it Secured compares with other low-deposit secured cards, see the Low-Deposit Secured Credit Cards consensus index. You can also explore other options in the credit building rebuilding category directory.

How This Review Was Produced

This review synthesizes fit assessments from 7 AI platforms—Anthropic, DeepSeek, Google, Grok, Kimi, OpenAI, and Perplexity—each of which evaluated Discover it Secured against the category criteria for low-deposit secured credit cards. The authoritative research date is September 4, 2026. Platform responses drew on 16 deduplicated sources: 7 company-owned sources (primarily Discover product pages and the cardmember agreement) and 9 independent sources (including Bankrate, NerdWallet, WalletGrower, and other review sites). Each platform's fit rating, use-case findings, pricing data, and limitations were compiled and compared. Disagreements and conflicts between platforms are disclosed in the relevant sections rather than resolved by guessing.

Methodology Limitations

Several limitations apply to this review. First, the supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage. Second, platform-reported research dates differ: Anthropic's assessment is dated January 1, 2026, and DeepSeek's is dated April 8, 2026, while the other 5 platforms and the authoritative run date are September 4, 2026. This means some pricing and policy information may be stale. Third, most cited sources are company-owned (Discover product pages and agreements), which are not independent verification of product claims. Fourth, the application-pause conflict between Google and the other platforms could not be resolved from the supplied evidence. Fifth, AI-platform agreement does not prove product quality; it reflects what the platforms found in their respective source sets. Buyers should verify all terms directly with Discover before applying.

Sources

Company-Owned Sources

Independent Sources

Verify this research

Review the study details behind this page or download the public machine-readable verification record.

Study date
Sep 4, 2026
Platforms analyzed
7
Source records
16
Ranking mentions
7 of 7
Platform share
100%
Final consensus rank
#3

Research trail and source mix

Platforms

openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google

Source mix

9 independent · 7 company-owned

Evidence support

14 direct · 2 partial

Important limitation

Use the run research_date as the study date. Platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

Source snapshot SHA-256 7e77289a3a08a8f71143ffda22a5dd7583f56d97e1424b385d7a25ff57ee616e